Skip to content

Whole Grain Maple Oatmeal Scones

March 8, 2008
breakfast_mapleoatmealscones_3.jpg

We love our scones on weekend mornings! Occasionally I like to mix it up a bit from the traditional white flour cream scones, though. You may know by now that I sometimes fiddle with substituting white whole wheat flour into baked goods; I try to do the substitutions only when the flavors seem like they can take it — i.e. I wouldn’t use whole grain flour in a delicate, light lemon cake. Maple and oatmeal, though? They’re made for whole grain flour!

breakfast_mapleoatmealscones_1.jpg

I use Arrowhead Mills oat flour in these scones instead of white flour, and there’s whole oats ground up a bit in the batter. I love the combination of brown sugar, maple syrup and cinnamon in the dough. Instead of cream for the liquid, I use a mixture of milk and yogurt.

breakfast_mapleoatmealscones_2.jpg

The resulting scones are maple-y, tender, crumbly, knobby and flaky with oatmeal. Serve them solo, with some cinnamon butter, or — like we do — with a little dish of apple butter. Mmmmm….maple + oatmeal + brown sugar + cinnamon + apple butter = heaven.

breakfast_mapleoatmealscones_4.jpg

rootsourcechallenge1.jpgI’ll be sending this recipe over to Cookthink for their Root Source Challenge #5: Maple…along with my Maple-Nut Granola.

_________________________________________________________________________

Whole Grain Maple Oatmeal Scones

Ingredients
1 1/3 cup oat flour (such as Arrowhead Mills brand; if you can’t find that substitute King Arthur white whole wheat flour)
1 1/3 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (not quick-cooking)
1 tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup brown sugar
8 tbsp (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup yogurt (preferably Greek or whole-milk)
2 tbsp pure maple syrup

*Note: you can substitute 2/3 buttermilk for the milk + yogurt if you’d rather.

For brushing and sprinkling on top of the scones:
1 tbsp milk
1 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp oats

Directions
Preheat the oven to 400.

Whisk together the oat flour, baking powder, baking soda, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl, then transfer that mixture to the bowl of a food processor. Add the oats and pulse in short bursts (1 sec each) about 15 times. Drop in the pieces of cold butter and pulse again in short bursts until coarse meal forms, about another 15 pulses.

Transfer this mixture back into the large bowl. In a separate bowl or liquid measuring cup, whisk together the milk, yogurt and maple syrup. Pour the liquid into the flour/oat/butter mixture, and stir gently with a fork until it’s moistened and starts to come together. Using your hand, gather the dough into a ball right in the bowl and knead it a few times against the side of the bowl to bring the dough together.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and pat it into a 3/4-inch thick circle. Using a sharp knife, cut like a pie into 8 wedges. Place the wedges on a baking sheet lined with parchment or a silicone baking mat.

Whisk together 1 tbsp milk and 1 tbsp maple syrup in a little bowl. Brush the tops of the scones with this mixture, then sprinkle the remaining 2 tbsp oats across the tops of the scones.

Bake for 15-17 minutes, until the tops are golden brown. Cool on a rack.

Makes 8.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    March 8, 2008 11:33 am

    I’m not a fan of scones, but these look like something I would love! The combo of oats/maple syrup/cinnamon/brown sugar is always delicious. =]

  2. March 8, 2008 11:36 am

    Yum! I’ve been wanting to make scones recently and I like that these don’t use any white flour.

  3. March 8, 2008 3:51 pm

    I love maple syrup in anything!

  4. kate permalink
    March 8, 2008 7:15 pm

    Mmm….these look amazing! I love anything maple and anything made of oats so I’ll have to try these!

  5. March 9, 2008 8:11 am

    These scones sound so good! With apple, oatmeal, maple, brown sugar and cinnamon they are almost like an apple crisp for breakfast. Bookmarked

  6. March 9, 2008 8:42 am

    Kate – thanks, I agree!

    Ashley – yes; the oat flour is nice for a change. :)

    brilynn – me too!

    kate – thanks! enjoy if you try them.

    Kevin – oh, you’re right! Yum.

  7. March 10, 2008 8:18 am

    Looks like we are starting a trend! ;)

  8. Katya permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:49 am

    I noticed you didn’t have any eggs in the batter and i was just wondering if that was a mistake or not because most of the recipes i have used have eggs in in them.

    • September 5, 2009 7:14 am

      Katya – no, there are supposed to be no eggs. I prefer the more “biscuit-like” scone recipes without eggs, versus the more muffin-like ones with eggs. Most of the scone recipes on my site don’t use eggs :) – they’re more of a traditional cream scone formula.

  9. November 7, 2009 12:06 pm

    i work at a gluten free bakery and we just started getting certified gluten free oats and oat flour and my boss mentioned the other day that she wants to develop some gluten free scones! this looks like a far simpler and better tasting one than any of the recipes i’ve come across with crazy flour mixes, i’m showing it to her tomorrow morning!

  10. Nancy permalink
    November 8, 2009 10:16 am

    Girl you rock! I was looking for a yummy quick scone recipe this morning and found you. The Maple Oat scones were delicious and while they were baking I spent time with your blog. Vanilla extract (promptly ordered up some vanilla beans thanks to your recommendation) and pumpkin creme brulee… I’m hooked. I’ll be visiting you often.
    Here in Vermont the locals are all about the whole localvore movement. I admire their commitment. Without becoming too obsessive, I grow my own veggies, I’ve raised chickens for eggs (to be used in the creme brulee) and purchase local products as available. It’s about sustainability and supporting the local farmer as well as the obvious nutritional benefits.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • November 8, 2009 10:22 am

      Nancy, glad you liked the scones! Vermont is such a great place for local food…my husband and I were seriously considering moving there if we hadn’t come to Ithaca. Both places have such great local food resources and people passionate about sustainability. The brulees with your hens’ eggs will be delicious, I’m sure!

  11. Susie permalink
    June 26, 2010 12:11 pm

    Just tried your scones this morning. Wonderful flavour. Thanks for sharing. This recipe is definitely a keeper-kids and my husband all gave it a thumbs up.

  12. Angie permalink
    August 21, 2010 9:08 am

    Made these scones yesterday and loved, loved, loved them!!! I just moved from Boston to rural PA and have been craving a scone like this from my favorite coffee shop. I’ve been searching for a recipe and these were perfect! I did ice them though with a maple frosting (1 cup confect. sugar, 2 tbsp skim milk, 1 tbsp maple extract, 1 tbsp butter) and they were fabulous! Thanks for posting this recipe!
    -Angie

  13. August 22, 2010 9:35 am

    The scones were absolutely delicious. My husband loved them to bits. And the fact that all the ingredients were all natural, unprocessed goodies was a super plus.

  14. odorunara permalink
    October 1, 2010 7:36 am

    These are delicious!

    I live in Japan, and it’s hard for me to find recipes that will 1. fit in my microwave oven range and 2. have ingredients I can find easily, so I often use Japanese ones. But among these, it’s hard to find ones that are whole-wheat-flour- or oat-based. I have imported maple syrup and rolled oats, and I was so happy to find this recipe. It fit in my tiny oven; everything I needed was in my kitchen. Thank you for sharing it!

  15. Elena Potter permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:35 pm

    Hi! Do you think whole wheat flour could be substituted for oat flour? I’m dying to make these but don’t want to buy a flour I will only use for one thing :/

    • Elena Potter permalink
      October 22, 2010 6:36 pm

      Oops; totally missed your note re: substituting the flour.. I’m heading to the kitchen right now!

  16. January 20, 2011 4:11 am

    Just stumbled upon this recipe via another blog and wow, it sounds fabulous! Do you think it would work if I substituted maple syrup with something else? Or I might as well just finally buy it, lol.

  17. July 11, 2011 9:46 pm

    Definitely going to try these tomorrow! I just picked a gazillion blueberries tonight, and am thinking gluten-free blueberry scones would be a great way to use some of them up!

  18. November 3, 2011 11:01 am

    Nice! I added 1/3c ground hazelnuts and 1/3 c wheat bran to the dry ingredients, and used a 125g container of fat free, unsweetened yogurt with a splash of milk and 2tbs honey (instead of maple syrup)… they look and smell fabulous! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  19. Linda permalink
    April 15, 2012 10:39 am

    I am eating them now and love the taste and texture, I was thinking I would love some raisens in there to moisten the tongue. I just plumped up some raisens in little water in the microwave and served them over the top. Great weekend eating without too many simple carbs. Thank you, your photo was compelling.

  20. anonymous permalink
    February 2, 2013 7:42 pm

    I just made these and they are delicious! I took out the sugar and replaced with Stevia and chia seeds (to add back the bulk it lost w/out sugar). I kept the maple syrup as I do find that a bit of maple syrup makes Stevia taste better. Even without sugar they are great, but they crumbled very badly. Is sugar a binding agent? Did anyone else have crumbly scones?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

