Skip to content

Friday Night Pizza: Southwestern Black Bean & Vegetable

March 28, 2008
tags:
pizza_mexicanblackbean_1_wm1.jpg

I created this week’s Friday Night Pizza one week where I was craving something a bit different, and we didn’t have any mozzarella cheese in the fridge. We did, however, have some leftover spicy black bean dip, and some queso fresco from tacos earlier in the week. I started thinking about making a southwestern-style pizza, and this is what I ended up with; it was pretty darn tasty!

I used the black bean dip I had on hand, but an easy substitution would be some canned spicy refried black beans — whatever brand you prefer. Over the black beans I sprinkled a little shredded cheddar, then topped that with thinly sliced green pepper, diced grape tomatoes, thinly sliced onion and a handful of frozen corn (I didn’t even bother to thaw it.) I had some cilantro on hand, so I chopped some up and added that too. I didn’t have any chili peppers, but some of those chopped up would be a good addition if you like the heat. Over the top of the pizza I crumbled some queso fresco, popped it in the oven, and in 10 minutes we were munching on a little slice of spicy black bean pizza heaven.

TGIF!

__________________________________________________________________________

Southwestern Black Bean & Vegetable Pizza

Ingredients

1 ball pizza dough (about 1 lb)
roughly 1/2 cup refried black beans
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
thinly sliced green pepper (about 1/4 large pepper)
thinly sliced onion (about 1/4-1/2 onion, depending on how much you like)
a handful of frozen corn
1/2 cup diced grape or cherry tomatoes
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
roughly 1/2 cup queso fresco, crumbled

Directions
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, preferably with a baking stone inside. Stretch out your ball of pizza dough and lay it out on a pizza peel or baking sheet that’s been generously dusted with cornmeal.

Spread the refried beans all over the crust. Top with the cheddar cheese, then the pepper, onions, corn, and tomatoes. Finish by sprinkling with the chopped cilantro and crumbled queso fresco.

Bake the pizza for about 8 minutes, until the crust is golden brown and the cheese has melted.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2008 7:09 am

    Yum! Queso Fresco on pizza — here I come! Also, big props to you for actually making the dough. Frankly I’d rather call Papa John’s than make dough ;)

  2. March 28, 2008 7:29 am

    Hmmm…I have some spicy black beans leftover…no cheddar…have queso fresco…corn…bell pepper…I may just throw together a version of this for my dinner tonight.
    As always, thanks for your great pizza ideas! Loving them!

  3. March 28, 2008 7:14 pm

    Sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe :)

  4. March 28, 2008 7:43 pm

    Hi Erin – yeah, I really love queso fresco. And the dough is really not hard to make. I’ve been using my Kitchenaid mixer lately and it is WAY easy.

    Gretchen Noelle, sounds like you are on your way! :) Let me know what you come up with if you try a variation…I thought the ingredients were nice for a change!

    Isa – thanks! Sure thing.

  5. March 28, 2008 11:45 pm

    Amy, black beans on a pizza sounds like a good idea. Never had anything like that before. It is a good idea!

  6. March 29, 2008 3:18 am

    this is most definitely my kind of pizza! stellar recipe!

  7. March 29, 2008 6:02 am

    Thanks, farida! I had never had anything like it before I tried this pizza, but it was an experiment that turned out to be very tasty. :)

    Thanks, a. grace! :)

  8. March 29, 2008 11:13 am

    Such a great idea! Pizza is one of those dishes that can be adapted to everyone’s taste, which is probably why I love it so much! Your take on it looks delicious!

  9. March 31, 2008 8:27 am

    We do Friday night pizza also – am glad you have these posts for the new ideas! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

