Skip to content

Friday Night Pizza: Caramelized Onion, Mushroom & Gruyere

April 4, 2008
tags: ,

pizza_caramelizedonionmushroomgruyere_1.jpg

Give me a chunk of nutty, buttery gruyere cheese anytime and I’ll be one happy Amy. We had some hanging out in the fridge that I had intended to use in a leek and potato frittata (which I haven’t yet made! Argh. Too many things to cook zipping around in my head.) Since I hadn’t yet made the frittata, I thought I’d use some of the cheese on our Friday night pizza. I poked around in our fridge for other ingredients to include, but the bowl of onions on my counter kept calling out to me…”Caramelize me! Bring out my sweet side! Cook me low and slow!” “Well,” I thought to myself, “if you insist. You sweet onions will probably get along swimmingly with some shreds of melted, oozy gruyere.” And so onto the pizza they went. I thought some mushrooms should join the party, since their earthy flavor would probably really hit it off with the gruyere (and because — if I’m being completely honest — I have a hard time *not* adding mushrooms to pizza.)

This party was shaping up to be one buttery, sweet, nutty and earthy shindig — but, as I looked at the pizza, it was all varying shades of brown. We needed a colorful guest to liven up the visual appearance of the group. Parsley would do the trick; besides adding a lovely pop of green, its bright, fresh flavor balanced the richness of the other ingredients.

How did the party turn out, you ask? Well, according to my mouth and stomach, it was huge success.

TGIF!

pizza_caramelizedonionmushroomgruyere_2.jpg

_______________________________________________________________

Caramelized Onion, Mushroom & Gruyere Pizza

Ingredients
1 ball pizza dough (about 1 lb)
1 1/2 cups shredded Gruyere cheese
about 1 cup caramelized onions
a small handful of thinly sliced cremini mushrooms
a small handful of finely chopped flat-leaf parsley

Directions
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, preferably with a baking stone inside. Stretch out your ball of pizza dough and lay it out on a pizza peel or baking sheet that’s been generously dusted with cornmeal.

Scatter the gruyere cheese all over the crust, then top with the caramelized onions, mushrooms and parsley.

Bake the pizza for about 8 minutes, until the crust is golden brown and the cheese has melted.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2008 8:35 am

    I love that you do a Pizza Night! When I was little we always had Pizza on Sunday nights at my grandparent’s house. We’d all have a job (my favorite thing to do was grate the cheese) and we’d make homemade dough and slice up fresh veggies and even pepperoni. Pizza nostalgia…

    Obviously your versions are a little more ambitious :)

  2. April 4, 2008 9:35 am

    TGIF indeed! And what a delicious way to make anyone’s Friday better, this is a delicious pizza!

  3. April 4, 2008 10:08 am

    Yum great pizza creation! I love caramelized onions on pizza (and roasted garlic mmm). Though I find Gruyere a bit overpowering sometimes.

  4. Lynne permalink
    April 4, 2008 3:03 pm

    A very scrumptious looking pizza! I love your Friday night pizza posts!

  5. April 4, 2008 6:20 pm

    I like this recipe – it is simple and looks delicious. I always prefer vegetarian pizzas over meat pizzas and this one is great. i may try it with raw onions though. like the taste better:) thank you for yet another great recipe! Love your blog! (remember me? we share the same wordpress theme:))

  6. Laura permalink
    April 5, 2008 7:31 am

    Love the recipe and the Friday Night Pizza idea! I made this last night for my dad and husband and it got rave reviews! Thanks!

  7. April 5, 2008 1:52 pm

    Always a gorgeous pizza to find here. I need to remember to look at this *before* I go grocery shopping!

  8. May 2, 2008 12:49 pm

    Your pizzas look incredibly delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

