Skip to content

Friday Night Pizza: Asparagus, Ricotta & Salami

April 11, 2008
tags:

You know I wouldn’t wrap up this string of ricotta recipes without including one of our Friday Night Pizzas that has ricotta on it, right?

The idea to make this one came from an asparagus and ricotta tart that Kristin posted over on The Kitchen Sink. I have it on my “to cook” list, but I haven’t made it yet (I did, however, make the caramelized onion tart she also wrote about and it’s really delicious.)

I kept thinking about the asparagus and ricotta tart, though, and last week decided I’d use some of the same ingredients on our pizza: quickly steamed asparagus, fresh ricotta, and some strips of salami. I used Applegate Farms all natural salami, and also sprinkled the pizza with some torn pieces of fresh mozzarella. It was REALLY good. The sweet asparagus and ricotta played really nicely with the salty ribbons of salami…plus, the pinkish-red salami and the shockingly green asparagus looked so pretty against the backdrop of creamy white ricotta and mozzarella!

TGIF!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Asparagus, Ricotta & Salami Pizza

Ingredients
1 ball pizza dough (about 1 lb)
about 6 asparagus spears, cut into 2 inch pieces, steamed briefly then shocked in ice water to stop them from cooking further
1/4 cup salami, sliced into thin ribbons
1/2 to 3/4 cup fresh ricotta cheese (or, organic whole milk ricotta such as Organic Valley)

a good handful of fresh mozzarella cheese, torn into pieces

Directions
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, preferably with a baking stone inside. Stretch out your ball of pizza dough and lay it out on a pizza peel or baking sheet that’s been generously dusted with cornmeal.

Scatter bits of the ricotta all over the crust. Sprinkle with the pieces of fresh mozzarella cheese, then with the pieces of steamed asparagus and ribbons of salami.

Bake the pizza for about 8 minutes, until the crust is golden brown and the cheese has melted.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2008 7:41 am

    That’s it, I’m making ricotta this weekend! :)
    The colors in that pizza are just incredible it looks so appetizing I could eat it for breakfast!

  2. April 11, 2008 8:27 am

    I love pizza and this looks delish!

  3. April 11, 2008 9:49 am

    Ok, you’ve convinced me to make some ricotta. I’m going to get on that the next time my husband is home for any stretch of time!! I’ve never thought to put asparagus on pizza, but my family would like this one!

  4. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    April 11, 2008 10:15 am

    Amy, What a great variation on the tart! And, actually, I like pizza dough more than puff pastry, so this looks delicious to me. Happy Friday!

  5. April 11, 2008 11:56 am

    Oh, that looks mouth wateringly good. Seriously. yum!

  6. April 11, 2008 4:14 pm

    I would never think to combine these three ingredients but that sure looks good!

  7. April 11, 2008 4:22 pm

    Wow ricotta on pizza, making me very hungry right now. I will remember this combo for my next pizza. Thanx!

  8. April 12, 2008 7:40 am

    What a great idea, I will have to try this soon for our Friday nite pizza! Thanks!

  9. April 13, 2008 9:04 pm

    Great idea! this looks great. You really are a great homemade ricotta promoter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

