Skip to content

FNP: Spinach and Artichoke

May 2, 2008

Spinach and artichokes are a great combination together, no? I mean really, I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who doesn’t like spinach and artichoke dip (side note: if you have a good spinach and artichoke dip recipe, would you please point me in its delicious direction? I don’t have one; the last one I tried was a clunker.)

Last week, I sauteed up some baby spinach with olive oil, diced onion, frozen artichoke hearts and a little squeeze of lemon juice for a side dish one night for dinner. I made a little extra so that I could use it as a topping on our Friday Night Pizza, which I thought I’d try to make with similar flavors to a spinach-artichoke dip. I sprinkled some grated parmigiano-reggiano across the crust, layered on the sauteed spinach and artichoke hearts, then topped with some creamy garlic and herb goat cheese as well as chunks of fresh mozzarella. It was delicious — a “loose” interpretation of the dip, but still delicious!

TGIF!

(click through for the recipe)

Looking for more Friday Night Pizza ideas?

Previous Friday Night Pizzas:
Asparagus, Ricotta & Salami Pizza
Butternut Squash, Caramelized Onion, Goat Cheese and Thyme Pizza
Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Gruyere Pizza
Green Garlic Monster Pizza
Pizza with Mushrooms, Asiago, Roasted Garlic & Thyme
Pesto & Potato Pizza
Sausage & Rapini Pizza with Caramelized Onions, Fontina and Ricotta
Sausage, Red Onion & Crimini Mushroom
Southwestern Black Bean & Vegetable

________________________________________________________________________________

Spinach and Artichoke Pizza

Ingredients
1 ball pizza dough (about 1 lb)

1 big handfuls (about 2 cups packed) baby spinach, rinsed and spun dry
1 handful frozen (or fresh, if you have them) artichoke hearts, thawed
2 tablespoons minced onion
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
juice of 1/2 lemon
coarse kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

a small handful (about 1/4 cup) grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese
4 ounces goat cheese (I used garlic & herb), crumbled
4 ounces fresh mozzarella (about 1/2 cup), torn into pieces

Directions
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, preferably with a baking stone inside. Stretch out your ball of pizza dough and lay it out on a pizza peel or baking sheet that’s been generously dusted with cornmeal.

Saute the diced onion in the tablespoon of olive oil until softened and golden brown. Add the spinach and thawed artichoke hearts; saute until the spinach wilts and the artichoke hearts are softened, about 2-3 minutes. Squeeze the juice of the lemon over this mixture, and season with coarse salt and pepper (seasoning with the S&P is important!)

Layer on the toppings as follows: parmigiano, sauteed spinach and artichoke mixture, goat cheese and fresh mozzarella.

Bake 8-10 minutes, until crust is browned and cheese is melted and bubbling.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2008 7:30 am

    Oh pizza night! I would like the butternut squash pizza you suggested. Have you ever made pizza on the grill, it is pretty good.

  2. May 2, 2008 8:15 am

    Spinach & artichoke dip on a pizza sounds like a good idea to me :) I love the stuff.

    I have lots of versions of the dip on my RecipeGirl website that are good but I can’t think of one in particular to recommend to you.

  3. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    May 2, 2008 12:58 pm

    Oooh, this sounds so good. I’ve got a recipe on my site that uses Swiss chard instead of spinach and Greek yogurt in place of mayo (like you, I’m a little anti-mayo). I think it’d be great to work in the goat cheese you’ve used here.

    Here’s the link: http://ourkitchensink.wordpress.com/2008/02/07/defiling-a-classic/.

  4. May 2, 2008 2:48 pm

    I love the Friday night pizza post, it always leaves me hungry!

  5. May 2, 2008 6:09 pm

    one of my mates recently made pizza 2 days ago, shame i didn’t have any. but every time i do have a lovely thin crust stonebaked pizza, i make sure i get artichokes on it because it’s so good!

    anyway, this is gorgeous. TIGF! x

  6. May 2, 2008 6:10 pm

    realized i typed that wrong..must be too sleepy. TGIF. :D

  7. May 2, 2008 8:30 pm

    Spinach and artichoke dip pizza sounds like a great idea!

  8. May 2, 2008 8:35 pm

    FNP is such a cool idea:) Amy, you are very creative. I really want to try some of your pizza recipes, but I think I have to buy a pizza stone first. This one looks and sounds good! Healthy ingredients!
    By the way, I just learned what TGIF means after doing a search on google:)) I always see it on your site and today Diva used it too::)) I am one word smarter now:))

  9. May 3, 2008 6:42 am

    Thanks, everyone!

    Farida – thanks – you can actually get by without a pizza stone. If you have a heavy-duty aluminum baking sheet, you can just bake the pizza on some cornmeal dusted parchment paper, right on the back of the baking sheet. I would put the baking sheet in the oven to preheat, so it’s hot when you transfer the pizza to it.

  10. May 4, 2008 7:19 pm

    What a combination! You are quite creative with your pizzas, it’s very inspiring. :)

  11. May 5, 2008 1:33 pm

    I have never tried spinach on pizzas – this looks good!

  12. May 6, 2008 6:57 am

    Amy, that looks so delicious! I love spinach and artichokes and cheese and pizza… everything I love in a perfect meal! Beautiful photos too!

  13. May 6, 2008 6:18 pm

    this sounds so good!!

  14. May 28, 2008 7:37 pm

    I think your blog ate me alive over the last hour! I love it ALL! I wish I had more time to cook!

    I am a fellow spinach and artichoke lover, and although I don’t use a specific recipe, I cook by taste so here is a general idea for you to try…maybe you could make me up a recipe based on your trials! All the amounts of veggies and things are pretty variable, depending upon what sort of a consistency you prefer

    Saute until soft (in olive oil):
    a few handfuls of sliced, fresh mushrooms
    diced red, orange, and yellow peppers (half or quarter of a peper each, depending on how much color you like)
    fresh minced garlic
    about a quarter of a red onion (chopped)
    fresh ground pepper
    kosher ground sea salt
    a little lemon juice
    a little balsalmic vinegar
    chili powder

    Once the veggies are nice and soft and a little black/brown, I like to add either chopped water chestnuts or almonds (sometimes both) for a little crunch, and mix with the spinach and chopped artichoke hearts.

    I don’t use mayo in mine, but rather a LOT of parmesan cheese (finely grated) as the binding element. If I want a creamier dip, I use a sour cream and a little parmesan until it reaches the consistency I want.

    If you take the parmesan route, it won’t need much else as far as flavor goes, but the sour cream base will likely require a little boost. Chili powder and a little cumin are always nice, as well as just enough salt and pepper to perk it up.

    It tastes best when it has been sitting overnight or for a few hours, but if oyu are like me, you will want to dig right in :) It tastes fantastic fresh and warm, or chilled…because of all the parmesan, it makes for a great hot dip as well, if spooned into a shallow casserole dish and warmed and then broiled a little bit. I like to garnish with slivers of red pepper to pretty it up. As with any spinach dip…I can eat this with anything, although I do particularly enjoy fresh pita chips and veggies.

    If you try it, let me know how it goes! Thanks for your awesome blog…I will be watching for more great adventures coming from your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

