Skip to content

FNP: Spinach & Feta

May 30, 2008
tags: ,

As you can see, it’s back to the vegetable-based pizzas after last week’s meat-fest!

For this pizza, I blended up a quick spinach pesto (just spinach leaves, parmesan cheese, garlic, salt and pepper — left out the nuts) to spread on the crust, then topped the pizza with more wilted spinach and a combination of feta and mozzarella cheeses. It was really tasty — you can’t beat the combination of spinach and garlic, right? This one kind of reminds me (loosely) of spanakopita, in pizza form. Yum!

And so, friends, I have some Friday Night Pizza news: after making a new pizza each week for 13 weeks, I’m going to be transitioning this series into a more periodic posting. (At first, 13 weeks sounded like nothing to me…but then I considered the fact that a year has 52 weeks in it: so that’s a quarter-year’s worth of weekly pizzas! Plus one, if you count this week’s. And then the over-achiever in me felt better.) Rather than one new pizza a week, I’ll probably post one every few weeks. Oh, it’s not that we’re stopping the pizzas — no way — but, well, I suppose this series has fulfilled one of its purposes for me, which was to give me some new ideas for pizza toppings…and, a certain other pizza-lover in my house (name starts with B!) has begun asking for some repeats, and I couldn’t agree more. First on our list of repeats: the bacon, egg and spinach pesto pizza (who knew that would become a favorite?)

But fear not, fellow pizza lovers: I’ll still post an occasional FNP hit, and I’m planning a new series to look forward to — not sure what I’ll call it yet, but it will follow what we get in our CSA share each week. Our shares start in two weeks, so it’s not far away, and I can’t wait!

In the meantime, TGIF!

Looking for more Friday Night Pizza inspiration?
Asparagus, Fava Bean & Chive Pizza
Asparagus, Ricotta & Salami Pizza
Bacon Cheeseburger Pizza
Bacon, Egg and Spinach Pesto Pizza
Butternut Squash, Caramelized Onion, Goat Cheese and Thyme Pizza
Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Gruyere Pizza
Green Garlic Monster Pizza
Pizza with Mushrooms, Asiago, Roasted Garlic & Thyme
Pesto & Potato Pizza
Sausage & Rapini Pizza with Caramelized Onions, Fontina and Ricotta
Sausage, Red Onion & Crimini Mushrooms
Southwestern Black Bean & Vegetable
Spinach and Artichoke Pizza

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Spinach & Feta Pizza

Ingredients
1 ball pizza dough (about 1 lb)
1 bunch organic spinach, rinsed and spun dry
olive oil
1 garlic clove
about 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/2 cup fresh mozzarella cheese, torn into pieces

Directions
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, preferably with a baking stone inside. Stretch out your ball of pizza dough and lay it out on a pizza peel or baking sheet that’s been generously dusted with cornmeal. Use a pastry brush (or just dab it with your fingers) to lightly coat just the outer edge of the pizza crust with olive oil.

Make the spinach pesto: take half the bunch of rinsed and spun-dry spinach, cut off the stems, and place in the bowl of a food processor or blender. Add the garlic clove and parmesan cheese, and blitz until finely chopped. Drizzle in enough olive oil until it gets to the consistency you like; it should be spreadable but not too liquidy. Season with salt and pepper, and set aside. You’ll have enough for this pizza plus some left over, which you can easily freeze for another pizza, toss it with pasta, stir it into eggs, etc.

Cut the stems off the remaining half of the spinach, and saute that spinach in a little olive oil in a hot skillet until wilted. Remove to a cutting board, let cool slightly, and coarsely chop.

Spread a few spoonfuls of the spinach pesto on the pizza dough, then top with the mozzarella cheese, chopped sauteed spinach, and crumbled feta cheese.

Bake for 8-10 minutes, until the crust is browned and the cheese is melted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2008 8:27 am

    i love your pizza posts! they always make me sooo hungry. This one looks great, feta and spinach is so simple and so one of my favourite food combinations.

  2. May 30, 2008 9:19 am

    Your FNP posts have certainly given me some new ideas too! I made the Bacon Cheeseburger Pizza, well a variation of it, and it was incredible! Thanks for the inspiration, I can’t wait to see what you come up with next! :)

  3. May 31, 2008 10:42 am

    Spinach and feta is hands down, my favorite pizza. Looks delicious! I can’t wait to see what your new series will be!

  4. May 31, 2008 4:48 pm

    Oh, sad to here I will have to order my pizza out now! Glad you aren’t eliminating it cause I get my pizza fix from you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

