Skip to content

Double Berry Scones

July 8, 2008

I never met a scone I didn’t like.

Well, that’s not entirely true. I’m always tempted by the crusty, craggy scones in the case at various coffeehouses and after taking a bite, am sorely disappointed at their uncanny resemblance to heavy, dry hockey pucks. But those instances have been few and far between, and thankfully, avoided by my insistence on making them at home for weekend breakfasts (more often than I’d like to admit.)

I’d played around with a blueberry scone recipe a few times, but I was never happy with how much liquid the fresh blueberries seemed to release into the scone. As much as I love using fresh fruit, sometimes it can release a bit too much liquid and change the texture of the final baked scone — you get something more like a muffin, and since I like my scones crusty on the outside, super-tender inside, and more on the biscuit side of the scone family than the muffin side, this just won’t do. Dried fruit, I know, is the recommended choice for scones, but have you ever looked at the junk that’s put into a container of dried fruit? Usually high fructose corn syrup, sometimes preservatives — it really irks me; why can’t they just dry the fruits and leave them in their pure, delicious unadulterated state?

So, you can imagine my delight when I came across a container of organic Just Blueberries at the natural foods store near me the other day: the berries are dried and have no sweeteners added to them. So into the scone batter they went, along with some chopped dried strawberries (sadly, these did have a little sugar added, but it was all natural – no HFCS) and some grated lemon zest. Sounding good already, right? I usually like to use at least half white whole wheat flour in my scone recipes as well, and these followed suit. Buttermilk adds a nice tang that complements the lemon zest in the batter, too.

These were our breakfast on July 4th morning: I thought the blue blueberries and red strawberries would create a somewhat red-white-and-blue scone, but it turned out more yellow-blue-and-maroon. No matter. They were really, really delicious alongside a mug of coffee!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Double Berry Scones

View printable recipe

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup white whole wheat flour (I use King Arthur brand)
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
7 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
zest of 1 lemon
1/2 cup dried blueberries
1/2 cup dried strawberries, chopped
3/4 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1 egg yolk

To brush the scones with: 1 egg white and some granulated sugar to sprinkle on top

Directions
Preheat the oven to 425 F.

Combine the flours, baking powder, sugar, baking soda, salt and zest in a large bowl. Whisk or toss with your fingers to combine. Drop in the chunks of butter, toss them briefly to coat them with flour, then use your fingers to rub the butter into the flour until you have pieces resembling coarse meal, oatmeal flakes, and peas.

Whisk together the buttermilk and egg yolk, and all at once, add to the flour and butter mixture. Stir gently and quickly with a fork until it comes together into a loose dough. Use your hands to gather the pieces of dough into a ball and knead it a few times against the edge of the bowl, just to gather any loose pieces (the dough will be fairly moist, so you can sprinkle a little more flour on your hands if it helps.)

Pat the dough out on a floured surface into a round disk, about 1 inch high. Use a sharp knife to cut the disk into 8 wedges, and place the wedges on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush the tops of the scones with the egg white and sprinkle with granulated sugar.

Bake for about 15-18 minutes, until the tops are golden brown.

Makes 8 scones.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 6:54 am

    These look absolutely delicious! I love how they look on your baking sheet!

  2. July 8, 2008 7:43 am

    I am a huge scone lover and these look so good! I love how perfectly brown they look with delicious crusty outsides. I like using fresh berries (or frozen) in muffins but I really hate how much liquid they leave too. I haven’t been able to find dried berries with no added sugar yet.

  3. July 8, 2008 8:07 am

    I’m a huge fan of the Just (Insert Fruit Name Here) line (which are actually available in my regular supermarket). My new favorite are the dried apricots – for the same amount of calories I get a massive amount compared to what you get with the dried, sugary, preservativey types. And I hadn’t thought about the implications for baking! The dried cranberries (which have no sugar added) might make an interesting sweet/tangy combo with the dried blueberries.

  4. July 8, 2008 8:22 am

    Amy, These look fantastic. They scream “summer weekend morning.” Can’t wait to give them a try. – Kristin

  5. July 8, 2008 9:27 am

    Try making cream scones instead of using butter and eggs. We’ve been making cream scones for ten years; they’re light and moist—more like a biscuit than a traditional scone. Brush the top with heavy cream for a crunchy outside.

    If you or your readers like apricots try the Blenheim variety. They’re only grown in central California. They are the finest apricots grown.

  6. July 8, 2008 10:52 am

    The scones look so tasty. Nice job.

  7. Lynne permalink
    July 8, 2008 6:00 pm

    The scones look wonderful! I can’t wait to try the recipe with some of the delicious summer berries that are in season! Lovely pictures and I so enjoy reading your blog.

  8. July 8, 2008 9:22 pm

    Oh, my goodness. I will have to try this recipe. It looks soooooo good!!!

  9. July 9, 2008 9:25 pm

    Thanks, HoneyB!

    Ashley, if you have a natural foods store around you, they might carry the “Just xxxxxx” brand — our regular supermarket has them, too.

    Danielle – cranberries are a must-try. I was so excited to see the whole line — I’m definitely going to stock up!

    Thanks Kristin – enjoy!

    John – great idea.

    Pam – thanks!

    Lynne – thanks!

    Katie – enjoy!

  10. July 4, 2010 1:03 am

    Thank you for this recipe. Of course I changed it because I seem to have an aversion to following instructions. But I made them with fresh huckleberries and the fact that my 3 year old was helping probably hindered the process some, so they ended up looking more like cookies than scones, but they were so good! Like so good that you eat them all, all by yourself.

  11. Amanda permalink
    October 1, 2011 7:21 pm

    Just made these two weekends ago for my in-laws’ visit, and they turned out great! I used a little more lemon zest, subbed 1 T. of the buttermilk for lemon juice, and served them with handmade lemon curd from Whole Foods. Really yummy. These were the first scones I’d ever made, but my in-laws asked if scones were a specialty of mine. I attribute their success to your great recipe, Amy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

