Skip to content

Sharing the Share: CSA Week #7, garden goodies, and muffins

July 25, 2008

Lots of good stuff going on here produce-wise, between our share and the vegetables we’re starting to harvest in the garden! First, the share. This week included:

  • beets
  • fennel!!!
  • (more) carrots – which is great; but we still have a big bag from the last time carrots were in the share. I’m not complaining, it’s just…a lot of carrots. Maybe I’ll have to make carrot cake?
  • scallions
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 2 zucchini
  • 2 cucumbers
  • asian braising greens
  • spinach

You can probably see the pattern by now: we get the braising greens and spinach every week, which is nice. It’s great to have all the color coming in, and I already have a few recipes planned to test!

Besides what’s in the share, we also are starting to harvest some vegetables in the garden. Want to see how my garden grows?

Look what I harvested today!! BEETS!!!! I am so excited! This is the first time I’ve successfully grown them. This bunch is the golden globe variety; in the background you can see some darker bronze/purply foliage — those are bull’s blood beets, which are not quite ready yet. So very, very exciting (to me.)

Also, I planted three pickling cucumber plants. I’ve never grown cucumbers before and was curious to see how they’d do.

Well.

They’re really rolling in…I picked about 6 last week, and today, picked 9 monsters (how do they grow so quickly?! Last week there were none that I could see remotely near harvesting size…a few nights of rain and look what happens.)

Have you ever noticed how all the things that taste great together ripen at about the same time? My dill plants are now about 4 feet tall, the flowers arranged in yellowish green sprays that look like fireworks. I cut a few heads, and will be using them with the cukes to make a few different kinds of pickles.

Slender, delicate purple beans have appeared; not yet ready for harvest, but they will be soon.

And the three buttercup squash vines seem to have developed a Napoleonic complex to take over the whole garden. We built a little trellis for them…however, I need to keep gently, but firmly, reminding them that they would be so much more comfortable there, rather than strangling the flowers in the adjacent bed. Hmmph. Anyhow, the bees have been busy pollinating the squash flowers and we have some cute little mini squashes starting to grow…

Speaking of bees: did I mention that the community garden plot is located right next to the Cornell bee lab? Lucky us! And, I suppose the bees like all the variety, too.

I’ll keep bringing you garden news as we get more in…sound good?

So: the recipe I have for you today is indeed those scallion goat cheese muffins I mentioned that I was planning to try when we got scallions in last week’s share.

I made them a few days ago, and they’re a treat! The only change I made was to use half white whole wheat flour instead of all white flour (I know, I know, so predictable.)

Enjoy!

______________________________________________________________________________________

Scallion Goat Cheese Muffins

Adapted from Gourmet, January 1999

View printable recipe

Ingredients

1 cup whole milk
4 ounces soft mild goat cheese
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (you can substitute half white whole wheat flour, or try all whole wheat if you like!)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted
1 large egg
1 bunch scallions

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F, and line a muffin cup pan with paper liners or silicone muffin cups.

Mix together the goat cheese and 2 tablespoons of the milk in a small bowl; set aside.

In one bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the melted butter, egg, and the rest of the milk. Add the scallions and stir to combine. Add this mixture to the flour mixture, and fold with a rubber spatula gently, until combined (try not to over-mix.)

Divide half of the batter evenly among the 12 muffin cups, then top each with about 2 teaspoons of the goat cheese mixture. Spoon the remaining batter on top. Bake for about 20 minutes, until they’re golden brown and the tops spring back.

Makes 12 muffins.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2008 5:54 am

    Yea for your beets! Keep the garden news coming. It looks like you’ve got a gorgeous bounty. The muffins look incredible too. I think they’d be lovely as a savory brunch choice. And I love how the goat cheese peeks out (don’t you have a word for that?). Have a good weekend!

  2. July 25, 2008 10:14 am

    Those muffins are drool-worthy. Yum, they sound absolutely fantastic.

  3. July 25, 2008 10:35 am

    The muffins sound fantastic! I love savoury muffins and scallions and goat cheese — ooh, ooh good!

  4. July 25, 2008 10:45 pm

    I am so jealous of your garden! Beautiful beets there… wahnnnnn. You put goat cheese in your muffins?! I need to do that. Why didn’t you tell me about this amazing idea earlier?? Oh man…

  5. alexisthetiny permalink
    July 25, 2008 11:35 pm

    Can I say just how much I envy you for all the great produce and food you get? I can’t wait for the rainy season here to be over and start planting away.

  6. July 25, 2008 11:57 pm

    Everything looks so fantastic! I would love to have a box of produce appear for me every week but the nearest CSA is a little far for us. I bet it’s exciting to get a bunch of stuff and then decide what to do with it all!

    And those goat cheese muffins look to die for!

  7. July 26, 2008 8:08 am

    I’ve been lurking a bit on your site, and those muffins sound absolutely incredible. Any thoughts on how the butter could perhaps be reduced or replaced with something else?

  8. July 26, 2008 8:53 pm

    Thanks Kristin! Mmm, they’d be great for a brunch.

    kimberleyblue, thank you!

    js – I have to admit that I don’t make savory muffins that often, but I think I’m going to have to more often. 🙂

    Jen – I know, goat cheese in muffins?! That was my reaction too, when my friend told me about the recipe. So genius and yet I felt like “well, why wouldn’t I have thought of this before??”

    alexis – where are you located? Here’s hoping you can get some planting in soon, too!

    Kiki – thanks; it *is* really fun to see what’s in the share every week…it’s always a surprise!

    cookinpanda – you could always try reducing it, maybe try 4 tablespoons or 3 at first – they won’t store as well for any length of time, but if you’re eating them right away that’s not an issue.

  9. July 27, 2008 12:34 pm

    Wow lovely garden!!

  10. July 27, 2008 3:53 pm

    Gorgeous produce and great photos! I love this muffin recipe. I’m imagining them served with a hearty soup or leafy green salad. Nice!

  11. July 27, 2008 4:10 pm

    I’m incredibly jealous of your garden! I live in downtown Charlotte, NC and don’t have a spot to grow anything, but next year I’m going to try some things in pots. In the meantime, we’re looking for a good CSA to join next season. Just discovered your blog-one of the best I’ve seen!

  12. July 27, 2008 6:56 pm

    These look so good – Goat cheese is my weakness and coupled in anything Bread is a winner. This recipe will be made this holiday season when the whole clan comes over.

    Cheers
    Cathy
    http://www.wheresmydamnanswer.com

  13. July 27, 2008 7:23 pm

    anything goats cheese is always heaven. now that you’ve put it in a muffin, i’m in love. these look fantastic!

  14. July 28, 2008 1:46 pm

    Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, I just can’t stop saying it I want this for my afternoon snack.

  15. July 29, 2008 2:46 pm

    MAAAAAAAAAAAAN those look good. What time is breakfast? hehe

  16. Lysette permalink
    August 5, 2008 9:31 pm

    **Mix together the goat cheese and 2 tablespoons of the mix in a small bowl; set aside**

    Mix goat cheese with 2 tbls “of the mix” … what mix? Of all dry ingredients at the end?

    I would love to try and make these beautiful muffins.

    Thanks!

  17. August 5, 2008 9:53 pm

    Thanks everyone! 🙂

    Lysette, thanks for the catch. That was actually a typo – it should be “milk”, not “mix.” I’ve corrected it in the recipe. Enjoy!

Leave a comment