Skip to content

Peach Cinnamon Ice Cream with Maple Gingersnaps

September 10, 2008

So here we are, September 10th. Even though I haven’t been in school for about, let’s see, 9 years now, I think there’s still a little part of me that feels the deep-down stirrings of excitement when the new school year starts…as our time in the garden winds down (no more intense weeding needed, wheeeeeee!), I start thinking about all the things I want to do this fall and winter (spend more time on one of my other hobbies, illustration; shop for new fall clothes(!); actually complete the bird biology course I started last winter; get out and hike around the gorges here more before winter sets in; and oh – we’re starting to look for a house to buy!)

And so it seems to me like autumn should already be in full swing — after all, blogs everywhere are already starting to post decidedly fall-ish dishes, friends and family members who are teachers are fully back in the swing of a new school year, the sun is setting earlier, and I even saw Halloween candy at the grocery store the other day. (Isn’t it a little early?! I actually turned down that aisle and stopped, looking around in confusion, trying to figure out what the heck all these color-themed candy displays were around for…)

But one part of me is still stuck in summer: tomatoes don’t stop growing, even though Labor Day has passed; our Farmer’s Market, living in a Zone 5 climate, just began with the late summer produce in the past few weeks! Peppers and tomatoes are still in full swing. Delightful, beautiful plums just arrived (more on that in a later post!) and most importantly, summer peaches are widely available here. The kind I just eat right over the sink, honey-sweet nectar dribbling down my chin and arm. The kind that is so ripe that when halved, the pits separate from the flesh if you just give them a stern look. A ripe summer peach has to be, I’m convinced, one of the purest gastronomic delights ever there was.

I had been *waiting* for peaches to arrive all summer. Mind you, they’ve only been in full swing about 2-3 weeks here, and I’ve been happily gorging myself on them every day, but I hadn’t yet gotten around to making peach ice cream. How can summer go by without making peach ice cream?! It would be a travesty to slip into fall without one last peach hurrah. So, last weekend, I decided I would make some, but that I would try to straddle the seasons a bit. Besides sprinkling a little cinnamon into the ice cream, I made maple gingersnaps to go with it…and I have to tell you, they’re a perfect pair. Maple is one of my favorite flavors in the entire world, and the spicy maple cookies snuggled into the pastel peachy ice cream, with a little hint of cinnamon each bite, were the perfect avenue to channel all of my autumn anticipation.

Even if you don’t make the peach ice cream, the maple gingersnaps are killer — I even made them entirely whole wheat, using whole wheat pastry flour, and they were so, so, so delicious!! I made a batch but rolled the rest of the dough into balls and froze the balls on a sheet in the freezer, then transferred them to a large ziploc bag. Now I can have maple gingersnaps whenever I feel the urge this fall.

Oh, and one last thing: the entire time I was making this dessert, and eating it, and writing about it now, I couldn’t stop thinking about my dear Dad. My dad’s favorite cookie is a gingersnap, and peach desserts are also his favorite — I know he would really love this. Dad, I wish we lived closer so I could have shared some with you! Love you so much, XOXO, Amy.


___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Peach Cinnamon Ice Cream

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop

View printable recipe

Ingredients
4 large peaches
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions
Peel the peaches by cutting a small x on the bottom of each and lowering them into a pot of boiling water for about 20 seconds. Remove them from the water with a slotted spoon and run them under cold water to stop the cooking. The skins should easily slip off.

Cut the peeled peaches in half, discard the pits, and cut them into chunks. Cook them in a medium saucepan with the water over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until soft and cooked through, about 10 minutes. Turn off the heat, stir in the sugar, and let them cool to room temperature.

Place the cooked peaches in a blender or food processor with the sour cream, heavy cream, vanilla and cinnamon. Blend until it’s almost smooth, but you can still see some chunks throughout.

Chill the mixture in the fridge or in a bowl over an ice water bath until thoroughly chilled, then freeze in your ice cream maker according to the machine’s instructions.

Makes 1 quart.

Maple Gingersnaps

Adapted from Cooking with Shelburne Farms: Food and Stories from Vermont

View printable recipe

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups whole-wheat pastry flour
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon white pepper [I used ground black pepper]
3/4 cup granulated white sugar [I use natural cane sugar]
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 large egg
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup, Grade B for strongest flavor

Directions
In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, ginger, allspice, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and white (or black) pepper.

In the bowl of a standing mixer with the paddle attachment, cream the butter together with 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and the brown sugar for 2 minute, or until light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed. With the mixer running on medium, add the egg and then the maple syrup.

Turn the mixer speed down to low and add the dry ingredients. Refrigerate the dough for at least 30 minutes. While the dough is chilling, preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Roll the dough into 3/4-inch balls in the remaining granulated sugar. Place the balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment or a silicone mat, about 3 inches apart. Bake about 15 minutes, or until the cookies are golden around the edges and set right at the edges but still a little soft in the middle. Let them cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Makes about 36 cookies.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. emielli permalink
    September 10, 2008 11:38 am

    Mmm. I would love some fresh peaches right now. Maybe I`ll hit up the farmers market this weekend.

  2. September 10, 2008 1:27 pm

    This looks wonderful. My favorite cookie is the gingersnap!

  3. joanna permalink
    September 10, 2008 4:41 pm

    For the love of God (and your father), pack up a box of those bad boys and send ‘em to your pop. Don’t torture him that way!

    I LOVE gingersnaps and I also love maple – these look like a perfect marrying of the two. Thanks.

  4. September 10, 2008 6:57 pm

    oh, my…can’t wait to try these two yummies!

    (thanks for sharing!)

  5. September 10, 2008 9:01 pm

    I have a thing for peach ice cream too–fond, fond memories of my grandfather’s orchard peaches and signature peach ice cream. I think I’ll try this on Friday for my husband’s and my date night. What a treat it will be!

  6. September 10, 2008 9:07 pm

    That looks like an excellent combo!

    I still get anxious that school’s about to start in September even though I’m not going…

  7. September 10, 2008 9:38 pm

    oooh, that looks soooo good :)

  8. September 11, 2008 8:57 am

    Yum! This combo looks incredible. Your pictures are super too! You had me drooling! Yum!

  9. September 11, 2008 9:10 am

    Amy: I loved this peach ice cream and I love the thought of adding a pinch of cinnamon. I bet it gave the ice cream just the edge of fall you were seeking. Beautiful photos too.

  10. September 11, 2008 12:11 pm

    Those photos are gorgeous looking! The combo looks amazing!

  11. September 11, 2008 2:50 pm

    I love the little flecks of peach in the ice cream.

    Do you roll the gingersnap dough balls in sugar, then freeze, or sugar them after bringing them out of the freezer?

  12. September 12, 2008 2:20 am

    i love fall – shopping for fall clothes is my favourite thing to do every year! :) this looks divine..the gingersnaps are so lovely.

  13. September 12, 2008 7:08 am

    Loving the pics! I am sending this to my friend Meredith who is putting her new ice cream maker to good use!

  14. Joyce Gallagher permalink
    September 12, 2008 9:16 pm

    Oh my goodness!!! I have known about your site a short time and everytime I visit I leave hungry!! So… in honor of my growling tummy I decided to add your site to my favorite list to try and keep the calories down! LOL… The ice cream and cookies look heavenly!! Thank you for sharing.

  15. September 13, 2008 12:57 pm

    This sounds delicious, and those peaches look like they’re just bursting with juice!

  16. September 14, 2008 9:37 am

    emilli – here’s hoping you were able to score some peaches at the market!

    Candy – thanks; my affection for them seems to grow every year.

    joanna – fortunately, my mom made some for him the very same day. :)

    hannah m – you’re welcome!

    Alison – I hope you enjoy!

    brilynn – thanks! I know; I always feel a little of those butterflies in my stomach when I think about school starting again in September, too.

    ttfn300 – thanks!

    Just Serving Ice Cream – thanks!

    Kristin – thanks; I remembered that you had also tried this recipe. The cinnamon was a simple addition, but delicious!

    My Sweet & Saucy – thanks!

    Nate – I rolled the dough into balls and rolled them in sugar before freezing, and I froze the sugar-rolled balls in a single layer on a parchment lined baking sheet. Hope that helps!

    diva, sue bette – thanks!

    Joyce – oh, thank you! I’m so glad to hear you like the blog. :)

    RecipeGirl – yes, they were super juicy, and so delicious. :)

  17. JoyS permalink
    September 29, 2008 3:54 pm

    Hi there – I found your ice cream while searching on Tastespotting and decided to try it. What a delightful recipe! The sour cream lends a nice flavor, and it is a lighter, but still creamy ice cream. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

