Skip to content

Looking back at 2008, and looking ahead for ’09

December 30, 2008

Can you believe we’re already at the caboose-end of 2008? I hope you’re all enjoying some relaxing, restful, and fun times with your loved ones around the holidays. We had a wonderful trip to see my family for Christmas; enjoyed lots of good food, some snow still on the ground for Christmas morning, lots of time to read, chat, and dream about what plans we have ahead in 2009.

Along with the special gifts and treats that Santa brought us for Christmas, I also seem to have been “gifted” a cold, that seems to be carrying me from Christmas Eve through the entire rest of my vacation week this week…sniffle, sniffle (literally and figuratively!) Maybe it was a present from that mean one, Mr. Grinch. But, while convalescing on the couch won’t get me into the kitchen much this week, it’s kind of the perfect place from which to look back at 2008 — Eggs on Sunday’s inaugural year! — and to share some of the greatest hits from the past 12 months.

Cup Pies

My first bit hit! These cute little miniature pies, inspired by Pushing Daisies, were followed by my first big increase in site traffic.

Apple Cup Pies

Apple Cup Pies

April Fool’s “Eggs and Toast”

My second big hit! Serious Eats and Chew on That featured this post on their blogs, and my traffic shot sky-high. Whee!

April Fools Eggs and Toast

April Fool's "Eggs and Toast"

Homemade Ricotta

My first venture into home cheesemaking, and definitely not my last. Nothing compares to fresh, soft ricotta. Have you tried making it yet?

Homemade Ricotta

Homemade Ricotta

Soups, Soups, and more Soups

I won’t lie; I’m in love with soups. They’re one of the main reasons I look forward to the colder months of the year…there’s nothing like a steaming bowl of beautiful, tasty soup to warm your bones. They also happen to be one of my favorite things to photograph.

Yummy

Yummy

A few Daring Bakers Challenges

One of the things I was most excited about when I started blogging was taking part in the Daring Bakers Challenges. I participated in 5 of the challenges before missing one, almost missing another, then deciding that I should probably put that blogging activity on hold for awhile…but, it was a blast to take part in the challenges that I did, and to be introduced to so many talented fellow bloggers and bakers!

A few challenges under my belt

A few challenges under my belt

Weeks upon Weeks of CSA Goodies

Did you all enjoy seeing what I got in my CSA boxes this year as much as I enjoyed my little show-and-tell? Seeing what’s in the share each week is a surprise that never gets old to me!

Vegetables are my favorite thing to photograph

Vegetables are my favorite thing to photograph

CIA Boot Camp!

This was one of my favorite series of posts; not only did it allow me to share my experiences at CIA Boot Camp with all of you, but it also is a great record for me of that week and all the wonderful things I learned and experienced there. Here’s hoping I can go back for another one in the future. :)

Me with my french fries at CIA Boot Camp

Me with my french fries at CIA Boot Camp

Pork Belly – or, I Hear the Crickets Chirping

As much as I found it interesting to confit the pork belly and see what it turned out like, apparently you, dear readers, are not as excited about it as I was. I could hear the crickets chirping in the comments section. No biggie. I won’t hold it against you. ;)

Pork Belly

Pork Belly

Friday Night Pizza!

And of course, we had a great series of Friday Night Pizzas! Mmmmm….I’m drooling looking at this collage. I may have to resurrect this series in the New Year…

A delicious Friday night tradition

A delicious Friday night tradition

Funny Search Terms

As any of you fellow bloggers know, one of the statistics I can see behind-the-scenes is what search terms people are using, in any search engine, that bring them to this blog. The results are sometimes surprising and either make me (a) laugh out loud, or (b) shake my head in disbelief. Here’s a few:

#1 and #2 search terms - the #1 search term that leads people to my blog is, not surprisingly, “eggs on sunday.” But, interestingly, the #2 search term, very close behind, is “swiss chard!” Who knew.

there are lots of fellow ricotta and soup lovers out there – two of my most popular search terms are variations on “homemade ricotta” and “soup.” Glad to see there are other homemade cheese and soup lovers out there.

the quinoa tower – apparently this is a phrase that someone used and ended up on my blog. Does anyone know what this quinoa tower is, and where I may find it? Yum. :)

gargantuan cherokee tribal necklace – I have two questions about this one. Number one: what in my blog is remotely related to this search term? Number two: if you were looking for information on a gargantuan cherokee tribal necklace, would you really click on a food blog? Maybe that person decided that he/she was too hungry to keep searching for information on that gargatuan tribal necklace. I just like the use of the adjective “gargantuan” in the search phrase…no moderately sized tribal necklaces, please.

What’s Ahead in 2009

And yes, I’m already dreaming and scheming about new things to bring you in 2009. I’d like to do a bread-baking series. A tutorial on pasta-making — I have been making it at home for us since attending my CIA class, and honestly, I think it’s one of the best things on earth! I’ve also been making my own yogurt for the past 6 months, and it’s about time I shared that with you all, too, I think. This past year I shared with you what I received in my CSA box each week, but next year, I’d like to expand on that and do a bit more with tips for using in-season produce, week-by-week.  I want to tackle a few more new-to-me challenges: making macarons, making puff pastry, making more homemade cheese (besides ricotta), perhaps some home-cured meat (I know, I know, that wasn’t a big draw for many of you when I did the pork belly, but – hey – it’s my blog, it’s something I’m curious to learn more about, and I promise to not write solely about cured meat.) Looking at my Recipe Index, it seems I could use a few more starters/first courses – so look for more of those in 2009, too. Who knows; I may look into a few video tutorials for some of my posts, even! If there’s anything you’d like to see, let me know in the comments!

In the meantime, may the New Year bring health, happiness and plenty of good things to eat for you and yours. Thanks for reading!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. jayme permalink
    December 30, 2008 3:10 pm

    I just discovered your blog a couple weeks ago and have already made 4 recipes, which all turned out GREAT. I love what you’re doing, and sounds like you’ve got some awesome stuff coming up in 2009. Can’t wait to see it all! :)

    Happy New Year!

  2. Mom permalink
    December 30, 2008 3:29 pm

    Hi Amy! Congratulations on a wonderful year in cooking and photography on your blog. I have learned so much from you and look forward to each post! Your ideas for new series sound great and we will look forward to some delicious new recipes! I make my weekly shopping list from your blog and admire so much all that you have accomplished. Love, Mom

  3. December 30, 2008 3:43 pm

    Happy New Year, Amy! This was such a fun trip down 2008 Memory Lane. I for one am excited by the potential FNP resurrection and the yogurt post(s?)! Feel better soon.

  4. December 30, 2008 4:22 pm

    homemade pasta..yes!

  5. Betsy permalink
    December 30, 2008 7:39 pm

    Hi Amy! I enjoyed your remembrance of 2008, and had a fun time reading your blog all year! I can’t wait to see what 2009 brings, and am looking forward to posts on making bread, pasta, and yogurt – yum! Happy New Year (and feel better soon)! Love, Betsy

  6. carolina permalink
    December 30, 2008 7:51 pm

    Continued good health, happiness, peace and continued culinary inspiration to you Amy in 2009! I truly enjoy your blog and look forward to your future endeavors! Happy New Year!!

  7. Carrie permalink
    December 30, 2008 9:17 pm

    Amy-
    Glad to see you have big plans for 2009. Can’t wait to see what happens… I vote for a bread baking series!!!!! Oh, and the yogurt…. mmmmmm. Also, I wish you a very happy and most importantly healthy New Year. Cheers from us!
    Carrie

  8. December 30, 2008 11:18 pm

    Homemade Pasta series!! Do it, because I want to make some myself, and I like “watching” someone else do things first. I really want to try the homemade ricotta too.

  9. December 31, 2008 7:45 am

    Hi Amy! What a cool look-back on the year – I was a big fan of the Friday Night Pizzas so I hope they return in 09. Looking forward to the pasta posts!!!

  10. Kathy permalink
    December 31, 2008 10:35 am

    Happy New Year Amy! You didn’t include finding your blog by meeting you at Boot Camp. I am so glad you attended and I had the opportunity to meet you and learn about this wonderful blog. I look forward to seeing what you create in the future (and I’m especially looking forward to the bread making).

  11. December 31, 2008 12:46 pm

    i feel the need to bemoan the cancellation of pushing daisies and also compliment you on your cup pies and everything else. :)

  12. December 31, 2008 3:55 pm

    Happy new year and thanks for the wonderful blogging! I so enjoy reading about (and sometimes trying to re-create) your cooking experiences.

  13. December 31, 2008 3:55 pm

    Lovely ideas for 2009 and a great review of 2008. Your cup pies and April Fools food were definitely big hits. I look forward to gleaning what you learned from your classes. Happy New Year Amy!

  14. January 1, 2009 10:36 am

    a great year behind you, and even more exciting things in store for 2009!! I can hardly wait :) hope you are feeling better soon!!

  15. January 2, 2009 9:46 am

    I just discovered your terrific blog and have had a wonderful time browsing through your posts.

    I look forward to stopping by often in the coming months.

  16. Luke permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:47 am

    Discovered your blog right around christmas, and while I haven’t cooked anything I’ve found on it, I will soon. You have such a wonderful way with food! Also, I’m not sure about a quinoa *tower*, but Quinoa is a grain, much like rice, only with a slightly nutty flavor. You can find more information on wikipedia (located here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quinoa). Hope it helps!

  17. January 4, 2009 11:40 pm

    You really have had some great posts! I love soup, too, so I’ll look through all your recipes. I loved reading about your CIA experience (that’s how I found you) and who could forget that great pork belley? Not me!

  18. January 5, 2009 4:58 pm

    Amy,

    Hi there. I just came across your blog on a search for an eggs-on-spinach recipe. I’m actually a student at Ithaca College, studying food writing. So glad I came across your blog. I’m going to definitely look into that CIA Boot Camp–I’ve been looking for something like that for a while now.

    Thanks!
    Jessie–

  19. January 5, 2009 9:25 pm

    i can’t believe pork belly got “crickets’!! i just wiped a tear away from my eye for you. i most def. wasn’t a reader yet for that post b/c, believe me, i would’ve prob. left about 10 comments on it. oh one day i will follow in your footsteps…

  20. January 7, 2009 8:05 pm

    I especially loved your pizza night posts – yum!

  21. January 10, 2009 8:23 am

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog this year, Amy, and look forward to what 2009 will bring to all your readers!

  22. January 15, 2009 12:26 pm

    Tasty assortment of food, I love the apple cup pies :)!

  23. January 28, 2009 1:44 pm

    the cup pies were actually how i found your site! i think they were on yumsugar.com. and i loved pushing daisies!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

