Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Eggs on Sunday!

January 27, 2009

One year ago today, I launched Eggs on Sunday – happy birthday, EoS! I had no idea how well blogging would go when I started, but I have to say, the year has been even better than I imagined. I’ve met some wonderful people, connected with a great community of like-minded food lovers, cooked and eaten a lot of delicious food, and learned a ton. My dashboard tells me that over the past year, I’ve written 233 posts, and you readers have left 1,791 comments – wow! When I launched last January, I had a small circle of devoted readers (thanks, friends and family!) and today, my site metering tools tell me that EoS gets an average of 800+ visits per day – that’s awesome!

Awhile back, Kristin tagged me for a “Ten Favorite Food Photos” meme, and it’s been sitting in my “to post” queue for a few months now…I thought my blog-birthday might be a good time to dust it off and take a good look at some of the photos that have been my personal favorites from the past year. There’s a few more than 10, but…hey…it’s a blog-birthday! Enjoy!

I love this photo of Creamy Tomato Soup with Herb Toasts for the vibrant orangey-red of the soup…va va va voom!

I used these purple carrots in Roasted Carrots with Thyme, and honestly, I think they’re one of the most beautiful vegetables ever. The velvety, midnight purple of the outer carrot against the orange sunburst core — it’s nature’s art.

purplecarrots_new

I love the photo of this Individual Chocolate Guinness Cake mainly for the gentle curve of the cascading softly whipped cream down the side…doesn’t it look like a snowdrift that you could happily wade through?

These French Breakfast Radishes were a gorgeous find at the spring Farmer’s Market, and a great accompaniment to the Spring Herb Mayonnaise I learned to love  (I still can’t believe I’m typing those words.)

springradishes

Tartlets on parade! The Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Tartlets were a big hit, and this picture is reminding me that a batch of cute little tartlets is long overdue.

desserts_chocrasptruffletartlet_6

I love the angle I got in this picture – the sunny yellow “egg yolk” (really lemon curd) nestled in the eggshell, and the “toast” just beyond. April Fool’s “Eggs and Toast” was a hit last April Fool’s Day.

And ah, the joy I experienced trying out my new mini cheesecake pan! I had an intense love affair with Luscious Lemon Curd last spring, and these Little Lemony Ricotta Cheesecakes were a perfect vehicle for a dollop of the tart spread. Oh, I so want a spoonful of lemon curd right now.

desserts_littlelemonycheesecakes_1

Would it be weird to have a framed photo of this Spring Pea Soup on the wall and call it abstract art? I’m seriously considering it.

soups_springpea_5

One of my favorite pizza photos was of this Bacon, Egg and Spinach Pesto Pizza, not only because it tasted soooo good, but also because I loved the egg and bacon face. :)

pizza_baconeggspinachpesto_1

Of the various ice creams I made last summer, this photo of the Mocha Mint Chunk Ice Cream still calls out to me – I love the contrast in textures between the smooth, creamy ice cream and the chunky mint patties.

desserts_mochamintchunkicecream_5

My favorite photo from our garden last summer — chioggia beets, just pulled from the ground.

garden_beets_1

These Summer Vegetable Pancakes with Basil Chive Cream were one of my favorite appetizers over the summer…I’m thinking of trying the same approach with root vegetables before the winter is over.

vegetarian_vegetablepancakes_1

Doesn’t this wedge of Chocolate Orbit Cake scream INTENSE? And it was intense, and so unbelievably chocolatey and luscious. A great dessert for celebrating a big milestone.

desserts_chocolateorbitcake_1

Ohhhh, maple black pepper pork chops. My heart still rings true for you.

meat_mapleblackpepperpork_17

I love this picture of the pumpkin spice scones for the fact that it shows exactly what they are – chubby, light, rich, biscuity, studded with raisins and a lovely golden hue. There was a reason we ate them 4 weekends in a row!

breakfast_pumpkinspicescones_5

And lastly, the Very Spicy Caramel Pears…I like that you can see the little bits of crushed spice still stuck to the pear wedges, that the wedges kept their shape even though they’re roasted to a soft, tender texture, and the caaaaaaaramel sauce… so buttery and lovely.

desserts_spicedcaramelpears_10

So that’s 16 pictures, but I hope you enjoyed the little pictorial trip down memory lane as much as I did. Thanks for coming along with me for the ride this past year, dear readers!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 6:53 am

    Happy Birthday, Amy! Gorgeous photos. And, no, not weird at all to frame a soup photo (while you’re at it — frame those purple carrots too …). : )

  2. January 27, 2009 7:30 am

    A big congratulations on a successful year!! I love the photo look-back – and I totally agree with kristin, frame it up!! I’d also toss up the beet picture, LOVE IT! I am also a big fan of the smiley pizza.
    I hope you are doing something fun to celebrate, best wishes on another great year!!

  3. January 27, 2009 9:07 am

    wow, so many great things this year!! Love the recap :) and your blog–keep up the good work!

  4. January 27, 2009 9:24 am

    Yes, the Spring Pea Soup photo is truly stunning, and I think it would make great wall art! That picture really pops.

  5. January 27, 2009 9:55 am

    I’d definitely frame that soup photo. It is gorgeous! Happy blog birthday.

  6. January 27, 2009 12:08 pm

    Those scones changed my world :)

  7. January 27, 2009 5:23 pm

    I’m new to your blog, but I must comment:

    Yes, YOU MUST frame that photo of the Spring Pea Soup. The colors are so vibrant and it is *that* beautiful!

  8. January 27, 2009 5:50 pm

    Happy birthday! I’d eat anything you posted. Probably rinse those beets first though….

  9. January 27, 2009 7:07 pm

    Happy Birthday EoS!!

  10. Amanda G. permalink
    January 27, 2009 8:42 pm

    Yay, Amy! What a wonderful first year of blogging. I am always thrilled when I see a new eggs on sunday post in my inbox. Looking forward to the coming years’ goodies!

  11. carolina permalink
    January 27, 2009 9:11 pm

    happy birthday to you,
    happy birthday to you,
    happy birthday eggs on sunday,
    happy birthday to you!
    congrats on your one-year milestone amy, your is a truly lovely blog
    and i always look forward to your posts…i am actually quite fond of the photos of your mini apple pies as that was when my sis first turned me on to your blog – first impressions do count!!

  12. Maggie permalink
    January 27, 2009 9:55 pm

    Happy Birthday Eggs on Sunday!! Congrats Amy – I’ve loved reading your posts over the past year! The pictures are beautiful – the ice cream in particular is calling to me right now :)

  13. Allison permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:26 pm

    The colors in the soup photo are spectacular — frame it as a birthday present! :)

  14. January 27, 2009 10:29 pm

    Happy Birthday, EoS (aka Amy!!) :) Great job on your blog. That picture of the spring pea soup is my favorite (and I remember judging it highly during for DMBLGIT). Here is to many more wonderful posts. I’m so glad I *met* you. It is wonderful to have you in my life. big hugs. xxoo

  15. January 27, 2009 11:47 pm

    Personally — I think all of your photos are amazing!

  16. January 28, 2009 12:55 am

    I’ve always thought your blog and photos were amazing. Congrats on your successful first year! Keep on bloggin’!

  17. January 28, 2009 1:01 am

    Yes! I remember the spring pea soup too and drooling over it…still today!
    Happy Blog anniversary Amy!
    I know you don’t *see* me often but I am among the 800+ visitors :)
    Keep up the great work!

  18. January 28, 2009 3:51 am

    congrats on celebrating yout year! Mine was last October and it just flies!! Loving the blog and your pics and I agree that I’d love a spoon of lemon curd right now!

  19. Mom permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:22 am

    Congratulations,Amy! It has been such a great year of wonderful, delicious recipes and beautiful photography from your blog! Your love of cooking and fresh, seasonal, local ingredients is inspirational! Looking forward to many more in 2009–Happy, Happy Birthday Eggs on Sunday!
    Love, Mom

  20. January 28, 2009 1:54 pm

    Wow you take such GORGEOUS photos!! I now want to eat and make everything on that list. Congratulations on your blogoversary! :) x

  21. January 28, 2009 3:57 pm

    Happy birthday! Reading (and trying recipes from) your blog is always a real treat! Thanks for the time and care you put into it. :)

  22. January 28, 2009 5:42 pm

    I waxed poetic last week about my apricot pistachio cream scones, but I will say, I do remember coming to your blog for the pumpkin spice scone post, and was drooling all the while. Bravo on the anniversary – you have a lovely blog. Pop in some time if you have the chance!

    Cheers,

    *Heather*

    http://squirrelbread.wordpress.com

  23. Jenny permalink
    January 28, 2009 10:42 pm

    OMG, may I please have one of everything you just posted? Please???

    Good lord woman. Congrats on a year of tremendous posting. Keep up the awesome work!

  24. January 29, 2009 8:12 am

    Happy blog birthday! Your photos really are stunning. I love reading an viewing it every chance I get.

  25. Jess permalink
    January 29, 2009 9:41 am

    Congrats and happy birthday! I would definitely frame the pea soup shot — I have a series of “food photos” of various markets I visited in Italy framed in my kitchen. They are great inspiration for days I don’t feel so creative :)

    Can you add the recipe for your Chocolate Orbit cake to the recipe index? I can’t find it and think this would be a perfect Valentine’s Day dessert!

    Thanks!!

  26. January 29, 2009 9:49 am

    Great pictures and wonderful blog!

  27. kitchenbelle permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:01 pm

    Congratulations!!! My favorite photo is of the mocha mint ice cream. YUM!

  28. February 1, 2009 10:40 am

    Honey; these pic’s are the bomb! New blogger; photo challenged; working on it! You are my inspiration!!!!!

  29. February 1, 2009 7:19 pm

    Thanks, all, for your nice words of congratulations! :)

  30. February 2, 2009 1:13 am

    Congrats on a year!
    Who knew this blogging thing could be so addictive?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

