Skip to content

Rhubarb a Go-Go

May 21, 2009

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_5

Or, perhaps I should just say “rhubarb to go,” but “a go-go” is more fun to say.

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_1

I made these muffins last weekend to “a go-go” out the door with my husband early each morning this week, while he works for a few hours on our big house-building project before starting his full-time work day. God love him.

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_2

Rhubarb this year is just calling to me; I haven’t been able to resist buying big bunches of it at the farmer’s market where it’s appeared over the past few weeks. And, a friend who grows rhubarb brought me a fat bundle of stalks, so I’ve been looking for different ways to use it. So far there’s been some terrific successes, of which these muffins are one.

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_3

Since they’d be fueling B for his early-morning construction work, I wanted to make them somewhat healthy yet also feel like a bit of a treat. So, they have some whole wheat pastry flour (which gives them a lovely,  soft, tender crumb) as well as little flecks of flaxseed…but you could leave out the latter if you wanted. I just happen to have a bag in the fridge and I try to find periodic inspiration to use it.

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_6

Besides the moist chunks of rhubarb nestled into the muffins, I topped them with walnuts tossed in cinnamon and a little sugar. Just a little bit sweet, leaning towards healthy, and definitely special.  Almost like a little palm-sized individual rhubarb coffee cake!

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_4

breakfast_rhubarbstreuselmuffins_7

_________________________________________________________________

Rhubarb Cinnamon Streusel Muffins

an Eggs on Sunday original, basic muffin formula heavily adapted from The Joy of Cooking

view printable recipe

Using canola oil in these muffins instead of butter helps them stay moist and tender for several days. If you’re planning to eat them all the day you make them, feel free to substitute butter for an even richer taste.

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I use Arrowhead Mills brand)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup ground flaxseeds
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
2 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups rhubarb, chopped into 1/2-inch pieces

2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and line a muffin pan with muffin cups.

In a large bowl, combine the flour through nutmeg; whisk to combine.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs through vanilla.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and gently fold to combine. Fold in the rhubarb, and divide among prepared muffin cups.

In a small bowl, toss the walnuts, cinnamon and sugar together with your fingers or a spoon. Sprinkle over the tops of the muffins.

Bake for about 18-22 minutes, or until a tester inserted into the center of one comes out clean (the dough is fairly moist.) The tops should spring back to the touch when they’re cooked through.

Makes 12.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 5:46 pm

    ooh, i was so excited to see local rhubarb for 30cents a stalk last weekend, but i didn’t buy enough :) that or i need to start cooking for more people!! These sound perfect!

  2. May 21, 2009 5:55 pm

    B is a lucky one because those muffins look awesome. I have a few stalks in the fridge that haven’t found a home yet and this might just be the perfect recipe.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. May 21, 2009 6:45 pm

    These muffins look like they have that perfect combo of moist-on-the-inside, crispy-on-top. Also, this post reminds me that I definitely need to pick some rhubarb up at the Farmer’s Market this weekend.

  4. May 21, 2009 7:48 pm

    I love these! Definitely will be making soon after grabbing a handful of stalks from my grandma’s backyard this weekend.

    Cheers,

    *heather*

  5. May 22, 2009 9:34 am

    i really need to start cooking with this stuff. thanks for another great recipe! :)
    Jessie–

  6. May 22, 2009 10:36 am

    Alright, it’s getting super pathetic that I’ve yet to try rhubarb. I really need to rectify that. These muffins look totally delicious. Your hubby is one lucky guy, getting to snack on these :) YUM!

  7. May 22, 2009 3:53 pm

    I was just wondering what to make with my rhubarb….the muffin idea is perfect. They must taste nice and tart.

  8. May 22, 2009 9:58 pm

    I made your delicious rhubarb pudding cakes the other day and everyone LOVED them! That was my first time using rhubarb and I think I am in love!
    Thank you for posting the recipe.
    I posted the cakes on my blog yesterday.
    Regards, Stacey

  9. May 23, 2009 12:14 am

    Ooh, I wish I could give this a try if rhubarb ever consistently gets to these shores… They do look yummy! :)

  10. May 24, 2009 7:37 am

    Wow, they look great. Nice Recipe and nicer Photos.! :)
    Greets from Cologne…

  11. May 24, 2009 6:41 pm

    Greetings from NYC! I happened to visit your local market (Ithaca) this weekend and picked up some rhubarb just to make this recipe. I had to make a few modifications but they came out really great. Look forward to following your future culinary adventures (to help me plan for my next visit to Ithaca!).

  12. peacelovepb permalink
    May 25, 2009 4:20 pm

    oh gosh these look awesome :D

  13. May 25, 2009 8:01 pm

    ttfn300 — I’ve been excited to see it in our market, too (though I think it’s a little more expensive than 30 cents a stalk here!)

    whitney — yes, he’s always a happy and willing taste tester! I thought they were a good way to use up some stray stalks, too.

    Dana — yes! that’s exactly what I love about these, and my favorite muffin quality. :)

    Heather – thanks, enjoy!

    Jessie – thanks! Hope you can give it a try.

    Elyse – thanks! And *yes*, you should really give rhubarb a try…it won’t be around for too much longer!

    Tracy – yes, just tart enough but still a little sweet.

    Stacey – oh, I’m so happy you liked those! Thanks for letting me know.

    Manggy – so sad! No rhubarb where you are? Well, you do have local vanilla beans…*that* is something I know I envy!

    gourmet – thanks!

    Allison – oh, what a great weekend to be here! It’s been beautiful. I hope you enjoyed the Ithaca Farmer’s Market; it’s one of my favorite places!

    peacelovepb – thanks!

  14. Christine permalink
    June 8, 2009 12:43 pm

    I just made these this morning and they were fantastic. Love the use of whole wheat pastry flour and flax seed – still very moist and tender. I substituted 1/2 cup of rhubarb for strawberries – can’t resist that combination!

  15. Kelly permalink
    June 21, 2009 8:38 pm

    I made these tonight with some rhubarb I picked up at the farmer’s market. I love that these aren’t too sweet. Yum – Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

