Skip to content

Roasted Sunchoke and Mushroom Bisque

November 8, 2009

soup_sunchokebisque_8

I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for gnarly, knobby vegetables. As much as I love a gorgeously tapered rainbow carrot, or a voluptuously round tomato, my heart is full of enough vegetable love to look past appearances and see the hidden beauty in hairy, lumpy celeriac and bulbous tubers like these sunchokes.

soup_sunchokebisque_1

I was tickled, then, to be writing about sunchokes for my fall Seasonal Cooking column in Edible Finger Lakes Magazine. I think sunchokes are misunderstood and underappreciated — most people think they’re either (a) a type of artichoke (that misconception stems from their other moniker “Jersusalem Artichoke”), (b) oddly-shaped fresh ginger root, or (c) some weird variety of potato that frankly, can’t hold a candle to beautiful Yukon Golds and Adirondack Blues in the looks department.

But potato and artichoke they’re not, though they do resemble potatoes in their crunchy raw state:

soup_sunchokebisque_2

They’re actually tubers, in the sunflower family — we started growing some this year on the land that we’re building a house on, and they bloomed at the end of the summer into beautiful yellow blossoms. The variety of sunflower is native to North America, but settlers brought the tubers back to Europe for cultivation. The story goes that they got their “Jerusalem Artichoke” alter-ego from the Italian word girasole, which means “sunflower” but along the way was somehow misinterpreted as “Jerusalem.”

I love their nutty, earthy taste, which I think is somewhat of a cross between potato and mushroom with a slight hint of artichoke. They’re great pan-fried in a little butter and tossed with herbs, thin-sliced into a gratin, as a hearty component to a winter salad, or simply roasted. If you go the roasted route, this soup is a wonderful treat to prepare with the browned, caramelized tubers.

soup_sunchokebisque_3

I found the inspiration for this soup in one of my favorite cookbooks, Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen. The roasted sunchoke soup is featured in the “Roasted Vegetable Soups for Fall” chapter, and they’re combined with roasted potatoes to form the base of this simple bisque.

soup_sunchokebisque_4

I thought that some meaty brown mushrooms would be a lovely complement to the earthy, nutty flavor of the sunchokes in this soup. So, after cooking a good handful of chopped mushrooms over high heat so that they were nicely browned (take a look through Ruhlman’s recent entry on hitting that “sweet spot” when cooking mushrooms), I folded them into the pureed soup….

soup_sunchokebisque_5

…and finished it with a little cream and fresh chopped sage. Fresh thyme would be equally delicious.

soup_sunchokebisque_6

This might be my new favorite fall soup. It’s warm and earthy and nutty without being really heavy, and perfect to wrap your hands around on a chilly November day.

soup_sunchokebisque_7

And, it’s a lovely way to show a little love to the homely sunchoke…because not all vegetables need to be beauty queens.

soup_sunchokebisque_10

[If you live in the Finger Lakes area, be sure to check out the Fall issue of Edible Finger Lakes magazine for more sunchoke information and recipes in my Seasonal Cooking column, as well as many more great articles about our local farms and food producers. Kudos to my editors for putting such a terrific issue together!]

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Roasted Sunchoke and Mushroom Bisque

Adapted from Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen, a wonderful book if you like cooking soups with the seasons!

No need to peel the sunchokes before roasting them for this soup; just a good scrubbing will do. Fresh thyme would be an equally good herb to use in place of the sage, if you’re so inclined.

view printable recipe

Ingredients
2 pounds sunchokes, scrubbed and cut into 1/3-inch slices
1 large potato, preferably Yukon Gold, scrubbed and cut into wedges
6 large garlic cloves
olive oil, sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 large onion or 2 leeks, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons butter, plus more for the mushrooms
8 ounces mushrooms, thickly sliced
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon fresh chopped sage or thyme leaves

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, toss the sunchoke slices, potato wedges, and whole garlic cloves with olive oil and a few pinches of sea salt. Transfer them to a sheet pan (use two if they’re too crowded on one pan) and roast until the tubers are browned in some places, about 45 minutes.

Heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter in a large, heavy soup pot. Add the onion and cook over medium heat for several minutes, stirring occasionally. Add all of the roasted vegetables along with 1 teaspoon of sea salt and 1 cup of water. Cook over medium heat for 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally, then add another 9 cups of water and any brown juices that remain on the sheet pan(s). Simmer soup, covered, for about 20 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

In the meantime, heat a saute pan over high heat with a little olive oil or canola oil, until it’s very hot. Add the sliced mushrooms along with a good pinch of salt, and cook until they’re nicely seared and brown. Season with a little freshly ground black pepper and set aside (you can reserve a small portion to use for garnishing the bowls.)

When soup is done cooking, use an immersion blender (or a regular blender, or food processor — if you use these methods, you’ll need to work in batches) to puree the mixture. I like to leave a little bit of texture in my soup, and flecks of brown from the sunchoke skins. Stir in the cream, mushrooms, and chopped sage (or thyme.) Taste for salt and adjust to your liking; add freshly ground black pepper.

Serve, optionally garnished with a little mound of browned mushrooms and more chopped herbs.

Makes 6-8 servings.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 6:23 pm

    I love that book. And I love sunchoke soup! I had some at a restaurant last fall and fell in love. I’ve made one with spinach that was really delicious but will certainly try this one next. The combination sound terrific.

  2. November 8, 2009 7:08 pm

    Please come to my house and make this – or ship it….or, I guess I can make it myself :-)

  3. November 8, 2009 7:42 pm

    This looks delicious! I can’t get enough soup this time of year.

  4. November 8, 2009 8:31 pm

    How delicious! Sunchokes and other ugly veggies are always welcome at our house. Going to have to give this one a try.

    Hmmm. Maybe a sunchoke pizza will be in our future. Have to try that one out for my blog.

  5. November 9, 2009 9:03 am

    Oooooooohhh! That looks so yummy! I would love to find some sunchokes around here to make that wonderful soup.

  6. November 9, 2009 9:11 pm

    Hi Amy – looks like a delicious soup for fall – I am a huge sunchoke fan and am always psyched to find a new preparation.

  7. November 10, 2009 4:04 pm

    Great recipe. I’m such a newbie to sunchokes, but I’ll have to keep a look out for them. This sounds like it really emulates the season quite well.

  8. November 11, 2009 4:37 pm

    What a great recipe!

  9. November 16, 2009 9:17 am

    With some slight variations, I made this last night. Every Sunday in the winter, we and our neighbors have Soup Night. Sunchoke soup was a hit! I decreased the amount of water and didn’t add the cream. We’re vegans and our neighbor has a soy allergy. I put kale in at the end and used truffled salt.

    Thanks for posting this great recipe!

  10. foodlove permalink
    November 18, 2009 2:14 pm

    amazing! i have a whole bag of sunchokes (my maiden sunchoke voyage) that i’ve been trying to find the perfect recipe for! thank you as always! :)

  11. November 21, 2009 11:06 am

    Hey there! You’re in Ithaca like my boyfriend’s parents. Do you possibly know of any farmers from whom we could buy a half beef? The friend they were going to share a cow with decided not to do it this season so now we’re kind stuck. Any help would be super appreciated! Even if it’s one of the folks at the Ithaca Farmers’ Market, that would be fine too. Thanks!

  12. December 14, 2009 10:55 pm

    Amy– I just saw this post. What a great idea to combine sunchokes and mushrooms. I think I will be making this over the weekend. It looks amazing; thanks for the inspiration.

  13. Elle U. permalink
    January 22, 2010 3:53 pm

    Wow. That was an awesome soup! I made some changes (roasted the mushrooms, used half mushroom broth & half water, and omitted the cream). Thanks for helping me to figure out what to do with my sunchokes!

  14. Stacey Dockery permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:47 pm

    I belong to an organic food coop and received sunchokes in my most recent pickup. So, I looked up recipes and chose yours to make. WOW….I mean WOW. This soup is AMAZING. Thanks so much for going over the top about your love of Sunchokes, b/c I am a huge fan now.

    Pretty much kept the recipe “as is”. Added some chicken, as it is hard to get my husband to eat anything without meat, but I had it without chicken and the flavor is out of this world.

  15. holladown permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:03 pm

    this is a fantastic soup. thank you for the recipe. we had it with a killer 2006 Burgundy. Yum City all the way.

  16. chandrac permalink
    July 10, 2013 11:55 pm

    My brother-in-law overdid the planting of sunchokes and we have way too many! I have been trying lots of different ways to use them up. I tried this recipe today. It was a hit! Only 25 lbs of sunchokes to go!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

