Skip to content

A New Favorite Brunch Dish

April 1, 2010

There are some recipes that I know I will love, simply for the ingredients they include.

For instance, egg recipes always get my attention. Recipes with ricotta, one of my dear loves, also seem to pile up in my “to-make” list. (Okay, if we’re being honest here it’s really most recipes that involve dairy…I think it’s pretty clear that I will never become vegan.) Also, things with chocolate (naturally), berries, pork, bread, caramel, fleur de sel, asparagus, ramps, pumpkin (really, all winter squash), white beans, any kind of dark leafy green…I never said I was particularly discriminating.

And as of late, I’ve been throwing spinach into everything. Does that mean my body’s craving iron? Maybe. Or perhaps it’s that I am just so sick and tired of winter this year (partially because I am so ready – READY! – to take little Miss A out to see and hear all the springtime sights and sounds) that I find myself obsessing over making things with pops of green in hopes of encouraging springtime along. Maybe there’s something to it, because today it is positively glorious outside: birds are chirping, a balmy breeze is wafting through our windows, the sun is beaming down and Miss A is barefoot, wearing a little short-sleeve romper and rainbow leggings. I should just abandon all my cooking plans now and nibble on her arm and thigh and chin rolls.

In any case, when I saw this recipe for Fellini Eggs on Serious Eats a month or two back, the inclusion of eggs, ricotta, and toasted homemade garlic bread (!) in the list of ingredients meant it immediately shot to the top of my “to cook” list. I made it for my parents while Miss A and I were enjoying an extended stay at their house, and it was absolutely delicious. The original recipe didn’t include spinach, but I think the addition of it makes the dish look and taste even better. It’s filling yet light at the same time, and much as I love eggs and ricotta, my favorite part of the dish are the cubes of toasted garlic bread punctuating each bite.

Our first farmer’s market of the season is this Saturday – yes!!! – and I’ll be bringing little Miss A. I can’t wait. We’ll be picking up some local eggs, definitely some Piggery salami, a hodge-podge of other early spring vegetables, and hopefully some spinach or other spring greens…and though our menu’s not set yet, there’s a very good chance this dish will grace our table for Easter brunch.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Fellini Eggs (Eggs with Ricotta, Garlic Bread, Tomatoes and Spinach)

Adapted from Eat Me: The Food and Philosophy of Kenny Shopsin via Serious Eats

Ingredients
2 tablespoons butter, softened, plus 1 teaspoon butter for the eggs
1/4 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon grated parmesan
Salt
1 10-inch baguette, split
6 eggs
1/2 teaspoon heavy cream (I think I probably used more like 1 tablespoon)
Pepper
2 whole canned peeled tomatoes or 1/4 cup diced canned tomatoes
5 oz spinach leaves, cooked until wilted and roughly chopped
1/2 cup fresh whole-milk ricotta cheese

Directions

Preheat the broiler.

Stir together the 2 tablespoons softened butter, garlic, and parmesan. Stir in a pinch of salt if you’re using unsalted butter.

When the broiler is hot, spread the garlic butter evenly over the surfaces of the split baguette, place the buttered baguette halves on a baking sheet and broil until the cheese begins to melt and the edges are golden brown. Take out of the oven, let cool slightly, then cut the garlic bread into 1-inch chunks.

Heat the remaining butter in a saute pan over medium heat. Whisk the eggs and cream together, season them with salt and pepper, and pour them into the pan. Turn down the heat and gently scramble the eggs. When they’re about halfway done, fold in the garlic bread chunks, tomatoes, and chopped spinach.

When the eggs are done, top the entire pan with dollops of ricotta and place back under the broiler just to melt the cheese a bit.

Makes 2-3 servings.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 8:05 pm

    Oh. Yum. And sweet little A! I’d nibble her cheeks, too ;)

  2. Betsy permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:38 pm

    This looks delicious! Have fun this weekend!

  3. April 1, 2010 8:41 pm

    Your child is just too adorable. Check out those rubber band wrists! Love it! Ditto on the anticipation of the first farmers market too…although we’ll still have to wait a few weeks up here in ND for that.

  4. Allison permalink
    April 1, 2010 9:42 pm

    Yummy and adorable! She looks more and more like you in every photo. :)

  5. April 3, 2010 4:55 am

    Ooooh lovely! I wish ricotta were inexpensive here!
    Miss A is soooo cute! And she looks JUST like you!! :)

  6. April 19, 2010 9:42 pm

    Oh very cool.

    I might have to tweak your recipe a little bit b/c of what’s in my pantry at the moment but I think I know what to have for dinner tomorrow night….

    I’d been casting about for something to do with ricotta that doesn’t involve pasta. Thanks for the inspiration.

  7. April 28, 2010 6:01 pm

    YUM! Yet again, you help this farm (and farm share) out as we seek to inspire our members in this snowy late April week. But eggs and spinach are plentiful and their canned food pantry still has tomatoes. So tasty egg recipes. Yes…we send our members to your site for cooking inspiration often. Thanks for the great recipes, the food enthusiasm and the great photos!
    Green Mountain Girls Farm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

