Skip to content

Amy’s Guacamole

January 24, 2008
tags:
Amy’s Guacamole

Number one on my list of all-time favorite dips is guacamole. I smile just thinking about it. I actually think I could probably sit down and eat a big bowl of it at least once a week, probably twice. But as big a fan as I am, B is an even bigger fan — so between the two of us, we make quick work of a bowl of this creamy, chunky goodness. This recipe comes by way of my Mom, who used to make a version of it from a Mexican cookbook she had. I’ve tweaked it a bit over the years, and the version below is our tried-and-true favorite bowl of great, green guac.

Ingredients

3 large avocados
2 tbsp minced scallions or onion
1 small chopped tomato
juice of 1/2 to 1 lime (use half, taste it, and add more if you like more acidity)
1/2 tsp minced garlic (one very small clove)
1/2 tsp salt

Directions

Peel and pit the avocados. Scoop out the flesh with a spoon and mash it with a fork in a bowl. Stir in the chopped tomato, minced scallions/onion, garlic, lime juice, and salt.
Makes about 2 cups, for 2-4 servings (depending on how hungry you are!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erika permalink
    May 5, 2008 2:10 pm

    Always on the look out for guacemole inspiration…
    To ease my girls (and any others who say they don’t like guacemole) into it, I add a drop of sour cream. I like it chunky too!

Trackbacks

  1. Rainbow Quinoa Salad « eggs on sunday
  2. Sharing the Share: CSA Week #4 (plus, greens & beans over polenta) « eggs on sunday

Leave a Reply

