Skip to content

Seeing Green

January 27, 2008

Whole Wheat Linguine with Cabbage, Green Beans and Sicilian PestoThe new issue of Bon Appetit magazine arrived earlier in the week, and boy was it a good one. This was their “green” issue, so it was chock full of articles on buying organic and locally-produced ingredients, how to best cook grass-fed meat, cooking with winter vegetables, and baking with whole grains — all topics I’m really, really interested in right now. Not to mention an article about a working, organic farm near Siena, Italy where you can stay, eat, and learn about how they process and cure their own pork products, make their own olive oil, garden, etc. I had read about Castello di Spannocchia in The Boston Globe travel section about a year ago, and have filed it away for a future trip idea for B and I (though I think once I was there, I’d have a hard time leaving!)

I’ve had pistachios on the brain lately, and there was a recipe for brussel sprouts with pistachios and lemon that caught my eye. The way the sprouts were prepared was what initially interested me; the leaves are peeled off the sprout until you have mounds of the curved, petal-like greens. Then it’s just a quick saute in the pan with some toasted pistachios, shallots, and a squeeze of lemon to finish it off.

Brussel Sprouts with Pistachios and Lemon

I thought these sprouts would pair really nicely with a pistachio-crusted cod recipe I had been working on lately…and with the cod, I’ve been making a creamy yogurt dipping sauce with herbs, garlic, scallions, and lemon zest. Just the sauce alone is worthy of eating by the spoonful.

Pistachio-Crusted Cod

The picture on the right at the top of this post is the other “seeing green” recipe I made this week: whole wheat linguine with cabbage, green beans and sicilian pesto. Besides the bright green savoy cabbage and green beans, there’s a parsley pesto with tangy capers, lemon and some other nice ingredients that really brightens up this dish and makes it really flavorful.

Butternut Squash and Sage Soup

And finally, though not in the green color category, was a butternut squash and sage soup recipe from the issue that, with a few tweaks, I found to be delicious. I find a lot of squash soups are usually pretty thick, but I liked the consistency of this one — it’s a bit thinner, still rich with the pureed squash (and the addition of a teeny bit of cream at the end), and the sage flavor is present, but not too overpowering. A steamy bowl of the soup was great with a slice of crusty bread alongside (but then again, I think I say that about every soup, right?)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Simone permalink
    February 12, 2008 10:39 pm

    Your website makes me hungry!🙂

    We were in Siena at the beginning of January—you’re right. You’d NEVER want to leave. It’s totally charming and lovely.

Leave a Reply

