Skip to content

Use Green Onions a Lot?

February 18, 2008
scallions_250px_2.jpg

Do you, like me, use green onions often? If you do, check out this excellent tip I saw last week over at Cookthink — you can save your green onion bulbs and keep them growing in a glass of water!

I took a picture yesterday of how much they had grown in just a week’s time — about 3.5 inches. Amazing, right? (On a side note, this is another example of why I love gardening and growing things so much. The jumbo amaryllis we have bloomed this past weekend, and the fig tree we keep in a pot has now begun to sprout new, perfectly-shaped little fig leaves, too. I never get over my sense of wonder at seeing things grow.)

Anyway, if you do decide to try this, just place the bulbs (with about 1-2 inches of stem above the white parts attached) in a glass of water on a sunny windowsill. I bound mine together with a twist-tie for more stability. Just change the water every other day or so (it’ll get stinky otherwise), and keep snipping the green parts. Come spring, you can plant them in a pot or in the ground. Thanks to Claire at Cookthink for a great tip!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 12:23 pm

    I just planted some in a container and am seeing the green part coming up. I am not sure what to do next? Do I need to move it onto the ground garden or keep it in the container? How do I keep it going? Do I just cut off the green part and then it’ll keep growing?

    Novice at this as you can see,
    TN

  2. March 2, 2009 1:03 pm

    TN – you can keep cutting off the green parts and it should keep growing for awhile. Once the weather warms up you can plant them in the ground and they’ll continue to grow there.

  3. Sarah K. permalink
    May 22, 2011 12:39 pm

    So, once they are in the ground how do you harvest them? Do you just snip off the green part to use? I LOVE green onions, thanks for posting this!

    • May 23, 2011 8:48 am

      You can either pull them up to use the whole bulb or keep snipping the green part and letting the bulb grow bigger.

Leave a Reply

