Skip to content

She put the lime in the coconut (milk)

April 16, 2008

…along with some ginger, cream and sugar. Then I scooped ’em both up.

Yes, every time I think of this ice cream, I get the Coconut Song stuck in my head.

Speaking of the Coconut Song, you probably know the original version, but do you remember this one from The Muppet Show?

Oh, Kermit…”Ain’t there nothing I can take to relieve this flipper ache?” I wish the Muppet Show was still on.

Anyhow…back to the ice cream! I made this coconut milk ice cream with ginger and lime a few days ago as a sweet ending to our tofu & broccoli curry, and served it with some sliced kumquats on top. This was the first time I’d ever eaten a kumquat…they are *tasty!* I liked how their citrusy sweet-tart flavor tasted with the smooth coconut milk, and all the limey goodness.

I found the original recipe on epicurious.com, but based on some of the reviewers’ comments, I toned down the amount of fresh ginger in the mixture. I love fresh ginger, but I was a little worried that its assertive heat would overpower the milder, smooth coconut flavor in the coconut milk. The amount I list in the recipe below was just enough to have a hint of ginger’s heat in the background, while allowing the coconut and lime flavors to shine.

When I was eating this (besides hearing the Coconut Song in my head), I kept thinking what a delicious summer dessert this would be…the flavors make for an ice cream that’s different and unexpected, yet still familiar enough to appeal to anyone. It would be great after a spicy meal, all that cold, creamy coconut flavor to cool you down…this will definitely be making a repeat appearance in our kitchen this summer!

I’m scooping up this ice cream for this month’s Sugar High Friday, themed “Asian Sweet Invasion.” Entries this month are meant to incorporate Asian ingredients into classic desserts; I thought the coconut milk, ginger, lime and kumquats seemed to fit the bill. This month’s SHF is being hosted by Amrita of La Petit Boulangette; you can check out the roundup on Friday, April 25th.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Coconut Milk Ice Cream with Ginger & Lime

Adapted from Bon Appetit, July 2002

I used full-fat coconut milk in this recipe, and swapped heavy cream for the half and half — both changes to avoid what many reviewers described as a hard, icy texture. The fat works: the resulting ice cream is smooth and very creamy. You can of course use half and half and lowfat coconut milk if you’d rather, just be aware that the consistency might be a bit different.

Ingredients
1 ounce fresh ginger root, peeled and finely grated (about 1 tablespoon)
1 15-oz can coconut milk (full fat works best)
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream or half and half (I used heavy cream)
3 tablespoons lime juice
1/2 tablespoon lime zest
pinch of salt

Directions

Whisk together all the ingredients, then pour into your ice cream maker. Process according to the directions for your ice cream maker, then transfer to a container and freezer until firm, about 2 hours.

Serves 4-6.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2008 1:58 pm

    Oh yum! Nothing I love more than lime, coconuts and Muppets!

  2. April 16, 2008 9:20 pm

    This sounds so refreshing!! Totally worth finding room in my freezer for my ice cream bowl!

  3. April 17, 2008 2:42 am

    Yep, definitely a summer-must-have… YUM

  4. April 17, 2008 3:55 am

    It is so sad, I remember the muppets doing this! And now I have the song in my head I will be singing it for ages. but i love the sound of this, and even tho it is Autumn here I am going to make it! Sounds so very very good.

  5. April 17, 2008 8:12 am

    Ohhh sounds so refreshing. I like your use of kumquats as a garnish.

  6. April 17, 2008 9:46 am

    WOW! Flavors that are right up my alley.

    Now I’LL have that song stuck in my head all day.

  7. April 17, 2008 5:38 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is gorgeous! I love the flavors you have there. And yeah, we miss the Muppets, too. We have the first season on dvd, hehe.

  8. April 17, 2008 7:04 pm

    Oh my, I must get myself an icecream maker. This looks fabulous! Sounds so refreshing, perfect spring and summer.

  9. April 17, 2008 7:41 pm

    That sounds delicious and the kumquats’ color adds such great contrast to the dish! Wasn’t the Coconut Song also used in a Coca Cola add a few years back? Funny song, anyways!

  10. April 18, 2008 12:23 pm

    This sounds terrific. Great photos. I like the one of the squeeze-to-death lime🙂

  11. April 18, 2008 4:09 pm

    I absolutely adore the recipe. Your photos are especially nice too. Only complaint, I can’t get the song out of my head after reading your story.

  12. Heather permalink
    April 19, 2008 3:23 am

    I remember that Muppets episode. Like many other songs I heard for the first time on the Muppets, I thought “Lime in the Coconut” was original to the show. 🙂

  13. Annie permalink
    June 13, 2008 6:18 pm

    I just made this recipe, and licking the spoon has me all excited to dig in as soon as it sets up in the freezer. YUMMY!!

  14. melissa permalink
    July 11, 2008 3:24 pm

    oh good! I needed a creamy version of this… can’t stand a icy grainy ice cream! this is gonna be good!

  15. Krista permalink
    August 21, 2008 12:43 am

    Yes, I remember the lime in the coconut song from the muppet show!

  16. Danielle permalink
    September 1, 2008 12:07 pm

    This sounds yummy! I think I will use it for my foods class.

  17. Mandie permalink
    August 24, 2010 5:19 am

    Thanks for the recipe, churning in my machine as I write, really looking forward to eating it…..the mixture tasted fantastic!!!

Leave a Reply

