Skip to content

Mocha Mint Chunk Ice Cream

June 18, 2008

A Love Letter to My Ice Cream Maker

Dear Ice Cream Maker,

Hi. How are you? I just wanted to let you know how much I love you. Oh, I know you’re not the sleekest machine out there…you’re a little noisy, and you take kind of a long time to freeze before I can use you. But none of that matters to me: I know you work hard to churn us up some delicious ice cream, and I love you for that. And as I peer into your circling cylinder, watching the custard transform before my eyes into luscious, cold, creamy soft serve, I can’t help but think I’ve witnessed a little magic happening.

Plus, you’re so thoughtful. How did you know that mocha mint chunk ice cream would be the very best antidote for the recent spate of hot, humid, sticky days? And to combine those flavors…B’s favorite of mint chocolate chip and mine of coffee, plus a little chocolate thrown in for good measure? Well, you are just too kind. And to use all-natural peppermint patties! So sweet of you. What flavor will you churn up for us next time? I wait with anticipation.

I remain faithfully yours, with love,

Amy.

(click more for the recipe)

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Mocha Mint Chunk Ice Cream

View printable recipe

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

What chocolate ice cream isn’t better with a little coffee? I adapted David’s recipe for Chocolate Ice Cream (a deliciously rich and creamy, custard-based ice cream), adding the peppermint extract and chopped all-natural mint patties, along with some instant espresso powder to create a deeply chocolate, minty ice cream with a background of coffee. Mmmm, mocha!

Ingredients
2 cups heavy cream
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
5 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon instant espresso (or coffee) powder
pinch of salt
5 large egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon peppermint extract
4 packages Newman’s Own Organic Peppermint Patties, chopped (about 1 cup)

Directions
Warm 1 cup of the cream with the cocoa powder in a medium saucepan, whisking to incorporate all the cocoa powder. Bring it to a boil, then turn the heat down and simmer for 30 seconds, whisking all the while. Turn off the heat and add the chopped chocolate. Let it sit for about 30 seconds, then stir with a spatula until smooth. Stir in the remaining 1 cup cream, then pour the entire mixture into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer over the bowl.

Back in the same saucepan, warm the milk, sugar, espresso powder, and salt until the mixture starts to steam. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Once the milk is warmed, add it very slowly to the egg yolks, adding only a few drops at first and whisking constantly to temper the yolks, then adding the remainder in a slow stream. Whisk thoroughly, then transfer the entire mixture back into the saucepan. Heat over medium heat until the custard thickens enough to coat the back of the spatula, then pour it through the mesh strainer into the chocolate-cream mixture. Stir in the vanilla and peppermint extracts, stirring thoroughly to combine. Cool this mixture down completely before freezing it (it helps to set it in an icewater bath and stir frequently.)

Freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions. When the ice cream is just about done churning, add in the chopped peppermint patties and keep the machine running until they’re distributed throughout the ice cream.

Makes about 1 quart.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2008 9:48 am

    oh. yum.

    i would like to write a very similar letter to my ice cream machine. and probably will, after i give this awesome recipe a try. sounds amazzzzzing.

  2. June 18, 2008 10:26 am

    That sounds excellent! I wish I had some right now. I guess I’ll have to settle for a scoop of coffee and a scoop of mint-chip. As Homer Simpson would say, “Aaaaaagggghhhhh.” (Not quite sure how to transcribe that one, but you know what I mean.

  3. Lynne permalink
    June 18, 2008 11:01 am

    Wow! Just gorgeous pictures! I, too would love to write a love letter to my ice cream maker! It is just a great thing to have this time of year, especially!

    I look forward to your wonderful photos and really entertaining posts! Thanks!

  4. meredith permalink
    June 18, 2008 11:55 am

    i was just writing to a friend about how amazing the strawberry ice cream looked. this one looks just as good. i can’t wait until i have an ice cream maker to try out these recipes!

  5. Laryssa permalink
    June 18, 2008 3:08 pm

    Oh my goodness. That looks wonderful!
    Also, I am jealous of your food photography skills. I definitely need to work on that.
    Keep up the good work! =)

  6. June 18, 2008 3:30 pm

    Looks wonderful. It is one of my favorite flavors too!!!

    Thanks
    Sharona May

  7. June 18, 2008 5:13 pm

    how much I love your blog llooks wonderful

  8. June 18, 2008 8:23 pm

    Amy, your ice cream maker sounds like a keeper!😉 Mocha and mint together, I would love some now!

  9. onespicymama permalink
    June 18, 2008 8:31 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmm…. that looks absolutely delicious. I will be trying that recipe out in the very near future! (we lurv our ice cream maker too:)

  10. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    June 19, 2008 8:49 am

    Oh wow, I need to start treating my ice cream maker better. Here, I just stash the bowl in the freezer, shove the base in the cupboard and yank them both out when I need them. Yes, I think a love letter is in order. And this ice cream? Heaven. So many great flavors in just one scoop!

  11. June 19, 2008 2:50 pm

    Amy- This ice cream looks so wonderful. I brought mine on my vacation but haven’t used it. I am inspired and will make a batch or two for the family this weekend. Lovely photos.

  12. June 19, 2008 4:46 pm

    Oh my… my mouth is watering. Beautiful pictures.

  13. June 19, 2008 5:17 pm

    kimberleyblue – our machines deserve a little love🙂

    croquecamille — I know exactly what you mean!

    Lynne, meredith, Laryssa, Sharona May, asyayusof, LyB, onespicymama, Pam – thanks!

    Kristin – well…I never said I don’t stuff the bowl wherever I can fit it in my overcrowded freezer…😉

    Kim – you think like me; bringing your ice cream maker on vacation!! Enjoy ice cream making with the family!

  14. June 20, 2008 12:24 am

    That picture is swoon-worthy. YUM.

  15. June 20, 2008 8:54 am

    Look at the size of those chunks!! Yum!

  16. June 21, 2008 9:43 am

    Ok, I just made this and …WOW!!!! I added some chopped chocolate chunks at the end (one can never have too much chocolate, am I right?) and I was in heaven! The hubby and kids gobbled it up! Great blog, BTW! 🙂

  17. June 25, 2008 10:21 am

    Ok, I’m sold! I HAVE to have an ice cream maker – STAT!

  18. Erin permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:51 pm

    Dear Amy:

    I love you because you posted my two favorite flavors of all time. Chocolate and mint.

    Your other recipes are superb as well. And I love the local eating you’re doing…it’s something I try to do for myself, but is hard to do when you’re a working student! In fact, I want to be you when I grow up and will commence doing so by trying almost everything you post.

    Cheers!
    Erin

Leave a Reply

