Skip to content

Orange-Scented Panna Cotta with Strawberry Coulis

June 25, 2008

As promised on Monday, here’s the second of the panna cotta recipes that made their debut in our kitchen this past week. I was lucky enough to have bestowed upon me a huge bag of strawberries from a friend’s backyard (thanks, Emily!) Among other things, some of them ended up in this coulis, which is lip-smackingly good. This coulis is drinkable, I think. I don’t need an excuse. It’s that good.

Considering my devotion to this dessert as of late, naturally one of the first thoughts that crossed my mind as I gently washed the berries was “ooh, I think I’ll use some of these in a panna cotta.” After a quick Food Blog Search for “strawberry panna cotta,” I ended up on Clotilde’s delightful blog Chocolate and Zucchini, where she had what sounded like a simple and perfect recipe; creamy panna cottas topped with a bright, fresh strawberry coulis. For a little twist, I decided to add the zest and juice of a Valencia orange into the cream mixture as it simmers…the end result is the panna cotta equivalent of a Creamsicle (but so much better!) The taste of orange and cream together brought back memories of chasing down the ice cream truck when I was young to get a Creamsicle or, more often, my other favorite the Bomb Pop. Ah, yes. The blue part was the best…and those colors just aren’t natural, people. If I want an orange and cream combination now, I think I’ll opt for this panna cotta.

I think it’s safe to say you’ll probably be seeing many more panna cotta recipes on EoS this summer…I am in love with them!

Doesn’t that strawberry look happy swimming in the sea of coulis? I sure would be…

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Orange-Scented Panna Cotta with Strawberry Coulis

Adapted from Chocolate & Zucchini

View printable recipe

Ingredients
For the panna cotta:
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
1/4 cup sugar
zest and juice of 1 Valencia orange (about 1/4 cup juice) — use an organic orange if you can, since you’re using the zest
1 teaspoon unflavored gelatin
1 tablespoon water
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the strawberry coulis:
1 pound strawberries, trimmed and cut into quarters
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons water

Directions
Make the panna cotta: In a small dish, pour the 1 tablespoon of water over the 1 teaspoon of gelatin and let it sit to soften. Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, combine the heavy cream, milk, sugar, orange zest, and orange juice. Bring to a simmer, then turn off the heat. Pour the mixture through a fine mesh strainer into a large liquid measuring cup (I do this to strain out the zest so I have a completely smooth panna cotta, but you can skip this step if you want to leave the zest in the mixture.) Let the mixture cool about 5 minutes, then mix in the gelatin and the vanilla extract. Divide among 4 ramekins or glasses, cover and refrigerate until firm, at least 4 hours (they’ll be even firmer if you let them sit overnight.)

Make the coulis: In a saucepan, combine the quartered strawberries, sugar, and 2 tablespoons of water. Bring just to a simmer, then turn off the heat and transfer to a blender or food processor. Blend using short pulses, just until it’s the consistency you like (I liked mine fairly smooth.) Cover and refrigerate until you’re ready to serve the panna cotta.

To serve: if you’re unmolding the panna cotta, you can serve the coulis drizzled over the top. If you’re serving the panna cotta in the ramekins or glasses, simply layer the coulis right on top. Garnish each with a fresh strawberry, if you like.

Serves 4.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. pennythoughts permalink
    June 25, 2008 8:25 am

    I’m so inspired now to try panna cotta. If another ice cream fiend out there says panna cotta rocks, I’m guessing it probably does! I love anything creamy, so this is right up my alley. I think I’ll try the lemon buttermilk variety first. I’ll let you know how it goes. Thanks so much!

  2. June 25, 2008 9:03 am

    Amy, I’ve never really considered making panna cotta before, but you are doing your best to convince me. That bounty of strawberries is gorgeous! So lucky!

  3. June 25, 2008 9:23 am

    I am in Conneticut and right down the street from a Berry Farm, hopefully raspberries will be ready for picking as I would like to try this. It would be hard for me to pick a favorite of your versions.

  4. alexisthetiny permalink
    June 26, 2008 3:58 am

    Those strawberries…*drool* Your panna cotta looks delicious, I shall have to try this once we get settled into our new house. Do you think a tropical fruit such as mango would work with this?

  5. June 26, 2008 10:46 am

    YUM! I am such a huge fan of strawberries. What a delightful looking treat.

  6. June 26, 2008 8:43 pm

    pennythoughts – enjoy! the lemon buttermilk recipe was just *slightly* my favorite of the two.🙂

    Kristin – you know, I can’t explain it; I never really had a big desire to make it before, but now I’m completely hooked!

    Kim – ooh, fresh picked raspberries?? Lucky you!🙂

    alexisthetiny – drool is right. I think mango would be *perfect* with this! Enjoy!

    Pam – as am I! Thanks.

  7. June 27, 2008 11:39 am

    I can only imagine how great orange and strawberry must be together – wonderful dessert!

  8. March 25, 2011 11:46 am

    I just found your site (mostly because I own a B&B and anything having to do with “eggs” gets my attention) and I really like it–especially the recipe index. One question: I tried this recipe for panna cotta and while the flavor is wonderful I had trouble getting the consistency right. At 1 tsp of gelatin it was too soft to hold it’s shape. I finally settled on 1 3/4 tsps. I was wondering if there is a set ratio for gelatin to liquid for panna cotta?

    • March 25, 2011 12:13 pm

      Hi Susan, the ratio I’ve generally seen varies anywhere from 1/2 to 1 tsp gelatin per cup of liquid, so, I could see how the amount you used would have worked (if I were going to unmold it I probably would have used 2 tsp gelatin in this recipe.)

Leave a Reply

