Skip to content

Sharing the Share: CSA Week #5 (plus a delicious sandwich!)

July 11, 2008

The first signs of summer arrived in our share this week: summer squash, beets, and carrots — a lot of carrots! No complaints here. Here’s the rundown:

  • spinach
  • braising greens
  • baby bok choy
  • beautiful beets
  • about 2 pounds of carrots
  • onions
  • 2 yellow summer squash
  • 1 zucchini

I was happy to see all these new treats, especially the beets. Apparently, when I was very young, I loved beets so much that I would cry if someone took the last of them in the bowl on the table. I don’t cry now if someone finishes my beets, but I do still love them. I love them roasted, or as the stars of a salad with greens, goat cheese, walnuts and a balsamic reduction.

In addition to what was in the share, I’m currently cutting quite a bit of swiss chard in our community garden plot, along with lots and lots and lots of herbs. Oh, and the first few cucumbers are in!

On Thursday night, the share pick-up day, it was really gorgeous weather here: about 72, dry, sunny, breezy and crisp. Perfect weather for a picnic dinner. I made a quiche with some of the chard and herbs from our garden, and a salad with the spinach from the share, our garden cukes, some crumbled goat cheese and a lemon vinaigrette. I packed those up, along with some strawberries, in our picnic backpack and headed over to a cute little park in Ithaca that overlooks the city and Cayuga lake.

What to do with the remaining fat bundle of chard? Well, along with the onions we got in the share, I think I’ll use at least some of it for one of my new favorite sandwiches: Fried Egg Sandwich with Garlicky Swiss Chard and Cheddar (via Culinate.) I made this the other week, and it was *so* delicious. A great weekend lunch!

It comes together pretty quickly. You saute some chopped onion and the chopped chard stems with garlic and olive oil, as well as some chard leaves (the original recipe called for blanching them first, but I don’t really ever find I have a problem with chard being too tough to cook — it wilts down really quickly for me, and doesn’t seem to release much, if any, water.) Once both the onion/chard stem mixture is browned and the chard leaves are wilted, you push them to the side of the pan and crack the eggs in the middle.

Once the eggs are about halfway set, you top them with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and let that melt.

I served these on soft potato rolls, and next time am going to try them on a crusty multigrain roll.

You know me and soft-cooked eggs; I just love ’em! Pair them with garlicky greens and sharp cheddar, and I am in heaven.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Fried Egg Sandwiches with Garlicky Swiss Chard and Cheddar

View printable recipe

Original recipe via Culinate. I modified it to serve 2, and to cook everything all in the same pan.

Ingredients
1/2 bunch (about 5 large leaves) Swiss chard; leaves trimmed from stems and rinsed; stems trimmed, rinsed and cut into 1/4-inch pieces
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 large garlic clove, sliced thin
pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
juice of 1/2 lemon
1 small onion, thinly sliced
1/4 teaspoon sugar
2 large eggs, preferably organic
1 ounce sharp cheddar cheese, grated (figure about 1 handful)
2 of your favorite kind of rolls (ciabatta, Kaiser, multigrain, potato, etc.)

Directions

In a heavy skillet, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil with the garlic and crushed red pepper over medium high heat. Cook the garlic until it’s fragrant and just beginning to turn golden. Add the chard leaves and saute until wilted, then squeeze the juice of 1/2 lemon over the mixture and remove it from the saucepan (set it aside in a small bowl.)

Return the skillet to medium high heat and add 1/2 tablespoon olive oil and the onions, chard stems, sugar, and a pinch of salt. Cook until the onions have softened and are beginning to brown, about 7 to 10 minutes. Push the onion mixture to one side of the skillet, and return the chard greens mixture to the skillet and push it off to the other side (you’ll have a ring of chard stems and onion on one side, greens on the other with a well in the middle.)

In the middle of the skillet, add the remaining 1/2 tablespoon of oil. Crack two eggs directly into the middle of the skillet, being careful not to break the yolks. Season the eggs with salt and pepper, then cover and cook until the whites are set but yolks are still runny, about 2-4 minutes. Top with the cheese, recover, and cook just until the cheese has melted, about another 2 minutes.

Divide the greens among the rolls, top with the eggs, and sprinkle the onion/chard stem mixture over the top.

Serves 2.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2008 7:53 pm

    My husband and I used to live in Rochester…summer in the Finger Lakes region makes up for the winter…definitely.

    That egg sandwich is on my menu for next weekend, for sure. Yum!

  2. July 11, 2008 9:08 pm

    Amy, your quiche and egg sandwich look delicious! I love your photos of the fresh produce!

  3. July 12, 2008 7:02 am

    I am dashing to the kitchen to whip up that egg sandwich now! I bet the combination would also make a killer quesadilla – thanks for sharing your share!

  4. July 12, 2008 7:31 am

    Amy: It’s great to see some more color creeping into the photos of your share. Also, that sounds like a lovely, delicious picnic. We had a picnic last night: so summer.

  5. July 14, 2008 7:57 am

    Amy- again I am not an egg eater except omelets and/or frittatas, but you make them look so could that I think you could convert me. Jealous of your weather, hot and humid here. Love seeing what you get each week.

  6. July 14, 2008 12:43 pm

    That sandwich looks fantastic! I hope I get some more chard in my next CSA pick-up so I can try it!

  7. July 14, 2008 9:08 pm

    Lauren – you’re definitely right; summer here is just gorgeous and helps me to forget about the endless gray skies of winter.

    Thanks, HoneyB!

    suebette – hope you enjoyed the sandwich! You’re right about the quesadilla filling; I use sauteed greens and cheddar in quesadillas all the time!

    Kristin – I know! I was loving the color. Your picnic sounded pretty fabulous, by the way.🙂

    Kim – thanks!

    Christina – thanks! I hope you get some chard, too.🙂 I just love it!

  8. July 16, 2008 7:48 am

    That is my kind of sandwich! All those flavors together sound delicious, especially the garlicky greens, yum!

  9. August 6, 2008 3:09 pm

    Wow, this is an awesome sandwich! I made it for lunch with the addition of a little pancetta (since we had some in the fridge) and it was SO delicious! I will definitely be making this again…thanks for sharing your recipe!🙂

Leave a Reply

