Skip to content

Sharing the Share: CSA Week #6

July 20, 2008

A few days late on this post, but I hope you’ll enjoy the lovely combination of green and purple this week. We had some new vegetables in the share, along with two gorgeous bunches of deep purple basil.

Here’s the rundown:

  • broccoli
  • onions
  • scallions
  • cucumbers
  • zucchini
  • spinach
  • braising greens
  • purple basil!

We were away visiting some friends this weekend, and they were telling me about some scallion goat cheese muffins that they recently made…that’s top on my list to try this week with our bunch of scallions. And, between the basil we’ve been picking in our garden and this purple basil we got in the share, I’m always looking for new ways to use it: Friday night it was sprinkled generously over pizza; it’s gone into many a batch of pesto, tonight I tossed it with some penne with swiss chard and bacon, and much of it already this summer has gone into one of our new favorite drinks: orange basil spritzer. It’s similar to a mojito in process; you muddle basil leaves with some orange juice and sugar in a glass, fill up the glass with ice, and top it off with fizzy, crisp club soda. Make it as a refreshing non-alcoholic drink, or add a splash of white rum for a new twist on a mojito! It’s so very, very tasty.

Click through for the recipe!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Orange Basil Spritzer

Ingredients
6 whole basil leaves
1 teaspoon sugar
juice of 1 Valencia orange — about 1/4 cup
club soda

Directions

Place the basil, sugar, and orange juice in the bottom of a tall glass. Use a wooden spoon or a muddler to bruise the basil leaves with the sugar and oj, to release some of the oils in the leaves. When the sugar is dissolved, fill the glass up with ice cubes. Pour club soda into the glass to the top, and stir if you like to mix it up a bit. Garnish with a sprig of basil or an orange slice.

If you want to make it alcoholic, add about 1 ounce white rum to the glass before you add the ice (but after you bruise the basil leaves.)

Makes 1.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2008 10:38 pm

    This cocktail recipe looks great! I have all the ingredients in my kitchen right now so I am going to give it a try this week – I am also thinking it might be nice with a splash of Lillet – I’ll report back!

  2. July 21, 2008 5:41 am

    Hi Amy: Great ideas for this week! I’m excited to hear about those muffins. Hope you had a nice weekend.

  3. July 21, 2008 9:32 am

    Sadly my basil plant is not enjoying the absurd heat we’ve been having… so I might only get one cocktail out of her🙂

  4. July 21, 2008 10:45 am

    Oh what an interesting drink. I’ve never had an orange-basil combo before. . .intriguing combination. Can’t wait to try it!

  5. July 21, 2008 10:28 pm

    Amy, what a great drink! You actually brought back memories to me.

    We make what we call Basil Syrup with purple basil. it is an authentic drink and goes well with hearty meals. I have never seen purple basil here in California and really really wish I could find a place they sell it. I know you are in NY but if you happen to know where in CA they sell it , I’d be happy to know:)

    My mom brought a bunch with roots when she visited us from Azerbaijan last year. We planted and took a good care of it but unfortunately it withered and eventually died. Sigh…

  6. July 22, 2008 2:11 am

    Ooh, looks lovely and refreshing – and purple basil!!!

  7. July 22, 2008 6:44 am

    Interesting drink, and I am always up for a spritzer. The goat cheese muffins sound pretty good also. I’ll take one of each.

  8. July 23, 2008 5:46 am

    Hope you enjoyed, sue bette!

    Thanks Kristin – I’ll be posting them if they turn out well.

    Josie – well…one is better than nothing, right?🙂

    js – enjoy!

    farida – so interesting to hear about the basil syrup! Unfortunately I’ve only ever seen it here in the markets/CSA, but we’re also growing some in our garden. You could try growing some in a pot — red rubin and dark opal basil are the purple varieties I’m growing, t hough I know there are more…

    Helen – thanks!

    Kim – you and me both! Will let you know how the goat cheese muffins turn out.

Leave a Reply

