Skip to content

Blueberry Lemon Pudding Cakes

July 28, 2008

We’re in the height of blueberry season here in New York state – yay! – and recently, we went blueberry picking with some friends. Set me loose in a pick-your-own patch and I’m happy happy!

We went picking at a beautiful farm with rows upon rows of blueberry bushes; it was late in the day, so the sun was casting a really pretty light across the bushes. We picked for probably over an hour; occasionally chatting, occasionally (okay, more like frequently) popping blueberries into our mouths, and occasionally steeped in silence while we hunted for the biggest, sweetest berries.

Between B and I, we picked 3 quarts of blueberries. I froze some, we had some in our yogurt this week with granola, and with another portion, I made these blueberry lemon pudding cakes. My friend made these for us with her batch of blueberries while we were visiting, and I couldn’t resist recreating it at home (she also gave me the idea for the scallion & goat cheese muffins!) She made it in a single pan, and I baked mine in individual ramekins. Either way, they’re delicious: a dense, rich biscuity cake with juicy, lemon-spiked blueberries baked into and underneath it. We ate them both at room temperature and cold from the fridge…really, it doesn’t matter what temperature the cakes are; they’re just delicious!

Oh, and this month’s Sugar High Friday theme? It’s berries, of course! So, I’m sending these blueberry lemon pudding cakes over to Susan, aka Food Blogga, for the roundup.

What’s your favorite blueberry dessert?

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Blueberry Lemon Pudding Cakes

Adapted from Gourmet, July 2005

I upped the lemon juice in these, and added a little zest as well. I love the tart lemony brightness against the blueberries and the cake. Also, if you’d rather bake this in one pan, any kind of roughly 9×9 pan should work just fine.

View printable recipe

Ingredients

1/3 cup plus 1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
zest and juice of 1 lemon
1 teaspoon cornstarch
10 oz blueberries (2 cups)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1/2 cup whole milk
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F, and butter 6 ramekins (3/4 cup or 1 cup volume.)

Stir together 1/3 cup sugar with the lemon juice, lemon zest, water and cornstarch in a saucepan. Stir in the blueberries, then bring to a simmer. Simmer for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally, then remove the blueberries from the heat.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, remaining sugar, baking powder, and salt.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, melted butter, and vanilla. Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined.

Spoon the batter into the prepared ramekins, dividing evenly. Pour the blueberry mixture over the batter in each ramekin, again, dividing evenly. The blueberries will sink down a bit. Bake about 25 minutes, until a tester inserted into the middle of one of the cakes comes out clean. Remove and cool on a rack. Serve at room temperature, or chilled.

Makes 6.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2008 5:55 am

    Oh easy: my grandma’s blueberry pie. We’d always blueberry-pick when I visited as a kid (still do!) and as soon as we’d get back to their house, she’d start making it. We’re going up there next weekend and I cannot wait for some fresh-picked blueberries! These pound cakes look lovely.

  2. July 28, 2008 7:04 am

    I’m making these tomorrow! perfect timing – thanks.

  3. July 28, 2008 8:59 am

    Ah blueberries – they are just not the same here in California and I am missing the berry season in the northeast. Looks like a perfect summer dessert – and I love it when treats are set-up in individual portions.

  4. July 28, 2008 10:25 am

    I think my favorite blueberry dessert is going to be the one you just make. Wonderful, Amy.

  5. July 28, 2008 10:27 am

    This looks amazing! Nice photos too. I have given your blog an award so check out my blog for details.

  6. July 28, 2008 10:54 am

    Your photographs are making me drool. These have beautiful texture, I can’t wait to give them a try.🙂

  7. alexisthetiny permalink
    July 29, 2008 6:39 am

    Good blueberry jelly or jam and yogurt. But its gotta be the right yogurt. Does blueberry jam count?

  8. July 29, 2008 10:44 am

    Lucky, lucky you! There isn’t a blueberry bush in sight in Southern California. Sounds like loads of fun, and your dessert looks fab. Love the sunflower!

  9. Fred permalink
    August 1, 2008 1:47 pm

    Minor omission in recipe, 1/2 cup of sugar is never mentioned. I assumed it should be put in with the egg/butter mixture and then mixed with flour mixture. Is that right?

    It turned out great, nice and moist and lemony blueberry cake. Ice cream is an obvious and necessary (at least for me) addition.

    Thanks for the recipe, it’s definitely a keeper.

  10. August 1, 2008 6:55 pm

    This recipe is sitting and waiting in my to try file. It just looks divine. I love lemon and blueberries.

    I have an award for you:
    http://thespicedlife.blogspot.com/2008/08/award-to-pass-on.html

  11. August 3, 2008 5:29 pm

    Kristin – what a wonderful memory!

    mom – hope you enjoyed!

    sue bette – I’m a sucker for individual dessert servings, too.🙂

    Kim – enjoy!

    Pam – thank you so much!🙂

    tiny morsels – thanks!

    alexisthetiny – ooh, I love blueberry jam and yogurt, too.

    RecipeGirl – thanks!

    Fred – thanks for the catch, I’ll correct that. So glad you enjoyed it!

  12. August 3, 2008 9:05 pm

    I used to love to go blueberry picking when I was a kid in Rhode Island. This lovely post is bringing back such wonderful memories for me, which leads to my answer for your question: my favorite blueberry dessert is my mom blueberry sweet rolls. They’re a mouthful of heaven, as I’m sure your blueberry lemon pudding cakes are too!

  13. August 4, 2008 12:03 pm

    We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email haleyglasco@gmail.com if interested. Thanks🙂

    Haley

    http://blog.keyingredient.com/

  14. August 4, 2008 8:13 pm

    blueberry picking?! gawd, i’m soo jealous! we never get to do it here in asia. Beautiful job on the pudding as well. it looks terribly inviting.

  15. svrmomof6 permalink
    August 11, 2008 6:16 pm

    i had this recipe many, many years ago from a church cookbook called Blueberry Buckle. It was a shortbread srust with a layer of cream cheese filling topped with blueberries. I lost the recipe years ago but still crave for it!😉

    Tammy

  16. August 13, 2008 5:09 pm

    I am jealous you got to pick fresh blueberries? I love them on ice cream…or in a galette with peaches.

  17. March 24, 2010 11:34 pm

    My wife is going to love this

Leave a Reply

