Skip to content

First Summer Tomatoes (!)

August 8, 2008

Happy days!

This past week marked the arrival of the first summer tomatoes here in upstate New York. FIRST SUMMER TOMATOES! Whoooooop!

In addition to a few of the different kinds ripening in our garden — the first ones to ripen are the yellow pear, black cherry, and a variety of plum tomato I tried this year — a few stalls at the farmer’s market had sungold cherry tomatoes (so sweet, like candy) and a roma variety I’d never seen before called Red Striped Roma. That’s what you see in the picture above. Isn’t it pretty?

The farmer told me this variety of Roma was best for eating raw, which I was happy to do. We’ve been reveling in the start of the tomato harvest here — with the two pints of sungolds I picked up, I made tabbouleh using cucumbers and parsley and mint from our garden. I used the Red Striped Romas two different ways: in a caprese-like salad I made with tomato slices, mozzarella, basil pesto (from my pesto-making bonanza), a drizzle of reduced balsamic vinegar, and arugula from our CSA…

…and in what I am also referring to as my New Favorite Sandwich. It’s a twist on the BLT – but instead of mayo, I spread some mashed avocado on the toasted bread. We can also call it the “BLAT” if you want to…but whenever I say that, it comes out “blaaaaaaaaaat” and sounds somewhat less than appealing, no? And this sandwich is SO, so appealing.

Let’s keep it simple then: BLT with Avocado. Mmm mmm mmm.

A closing note:

CSA Post is coming, but probably next week. We’re packing up to go out of town to my brother’s wedding (!) this weekend! And because of that, I might be a bit behind getting comments moderated; bear with me and have a great weekend. Enjoy the great summer fruits and vegetables!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

BLT with Avocado

Ingredients (for 1 sandwich)
2 slices of your favorite kind of bread, toasted
1 strip bacon, cooked until crisp and broken into 2-3 pieces
a few nice pieces of lettuce
a few slices of ripe tomato
about 1/4 of an avocado, mashed and seasoned with a little salt and pepper

Directions
Spread the mashed avocado on each piece of toasted bread. On one piece of bread, place the lettuce leaves. On the other piece of bread, layer the tomato slices and bacon slices. Put the two halves together and press down lightly to adhere them a bit. Enjoy.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2008 5:27 am

    What are you doing blogging at 5 am?? At least I have an excuse (plane to catch)… my word, that tomato is the epitome of beauty and the sandwich – the SANDWICH. Did I ever tell you I’m a sandwich whore? and BACON?!? eeeeeeee!!!!!! Maybe I’ll catch a plane to your house instead😉

  2. August 8, 2008 7:36 am

    Looks really good! Perfect for summer.

  3. August 8, 2008 7:44 am

    Amy! I’m thrilled for you, your tomatoes and, probably, most of all the BLAT (which I am totally making and totally calling the BLAT). Have a great trip!

  4. August 8, 2008 11:25 am

    Happy to hear tomato season in your neck of the woods has begun! Loving the BLT picture, I have kind of been living off those the last couple of weeks, I am a bit of a mayo junkie but I am going to give the avocado a try.

  5. Emily permalink
    August 8, 2008 11:37 am

    Hey Amy —

    When I saw you mention the sungolds I had to send along one of my favorite recipes for using them (or other cherry tomatoes) once they start overloading my garden… This is a simple recipe but delicious…

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/PASTA-WITH-BAKED-TOMATO-SAUCE-104465

    Emily

  6. August 8, 2008 12:33 pm

    Loving the BLaaaaaaaT!!

    I saw a CSA truck pull up in our neighborhood the other day – wondering if I’ve got a neighbor who might want to do a share…I’d love to receive gorgeous tomatoes like these.🙂

  7. August 8, 2008 12:44 pm

    I eat this EXACT sandwich at least 3 times a week for breakfast – not kidding! It is my all-time favourite sandwich. You will never go back to sans avocado! The BLAT is a great name though, it shall be known as the BLAT from now on!

  8. August 10, 2008 7:46 am

    That sandwich looks amazing and the striped Roma is gorgeous! I just picked my first full size tomato yesterday and was just as thrilled.

  9. August 10, 2008 11:39 am

    Ummmm…. Summer tomatoes… The harvest in Austin started ealier in the year. Personally, I’m convinced that the only thing that makes Texas summers worth it INTHE LEAST are the amazing heirloom pear tomatoes at my farmers market. Seriously. Otherwise, it’s kind of miserable.

    Love your blog–don’t have a house (yet!) but every time I read a post, I’m inspired to cook more and dream about my future garden…

  10. August 11, 2008 9:41 pm

    Jen – I know, my thoughts exactly…gorgeous, tasty tomato and bacon? I’m sold! (Oh, and no, I do not blog at 5am. The beauty of wordpress is that it allows you to schedule posts in advance…)

    bmk – thanks!

    Kristin – thanks! Enjoy the sandwich. The name *is* kind of fun.🙂

    sue bette – you’re so lucky to live in a place with a longer tomato season!

    Emily – that sounds so good!! I’m totally making it, thanks!

    Thanks, PaniniKathy!

    Helen – no, I don’t think I will, I’m going to be making many more of these.

    Maggie – thanks! That’s very exciting.

    Melissa – aw, thanks! So happy to hear that.🙂

Leave a Reply

