Skip to content

Harvesting…

August 26, 2008
tags:

Some recent goodies harvested from our garden….

A big haul of tomatoes — I had this urge to organize them by color palette. From L –> R, yellow pear, sungold cherry, sweet baby girl cherry (don’t you love that name?) and principe borghese, black cherry, and Cherokee Purple (those are the large ones on the bottom right.) The Cherokee Purple are *fantastic* in flavor, if not always in blemish-free looks…they’re almost winey in flavor. Mmm. I made some roasted cherry tomato sauce (froze it) with some of the tomatoes that had split from all the rain we’ve been getting, and we brought the rest up to camp. I can’t believe I overlooked growing any green tomatoes this year…it’s the only color missing from the palette!

Just harvested my shallots and I’m drying them on this wire rack…

…and I pulled the last of my beets out of the ground. *Sob*

I have more garden pics, just need to go through them all — I’ll share the rest one of these days!

**************************************************************************************************

I’m away on vaca, so comments might take a bit longer than usual to be moderated. I’ll be posting again next week…enjoy the sweet lingering days of August.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 6:45 am

    Absolutely fantastic. I so wish I had a garden or at least a balcony or fire escape!

  2. August 26, 2008 7:05 am

    Here in Pittsburgh, we’ve had no rain and cooler than usual temps, so my 30 tomato plants (10 varieties) are loaded with green tomatoes, only now beginning to ripen. Usually I’d be canning bushels by now. I’m so envious – they are gorgeous!

  3. August 26, 2008 9:43 am

    Oh, my. Those tomatoes have me weak in the knees (and don’t get me started on the beets). I’m so glad you were able to take some tomatoes camping with you. What a nice, fresh treat that will be.

  4. August 26, 2008 10:23 am

    I absolutely love that tomato picture (not just for the picture, but for the vision of tucking into those beauties). I love your garden! Hey – why do you dry shallots? Dumb question, but I’ve never grown them… Hope you guys are enjoying your vacay!

  5. August 27, 2008 8:18 am

    Oh! I am so jealous of your garden. I cannot wait to have one of my own. I’ve heard so much about the borghese tomatoes.

  6. August 28, 2008 7:45 am

    You have all those in your garden? I would so love to be your neighbor.🙂

  7. September 1, 2008 8:08 pm

    Sylvie – thanks! Are there any community garden areas near you?

    Deanna – ours have all come in at once, so it’s certainly “challenging” to eat them/use them/can them before they start to turn…but we love it.

    Kristin – my thinking exactly! I really miss having lots of vegetables when camping, so these tomatoes were a good treat.

    Jen – no, it’s not a dumb question; I had no idea before I started gardneing! You dry them out to cure them so you can store them longer term…it’s not necessary if I was going to use them right away, but I want to keep them for a bit and so thought I’d try out curing them this year. They have to be in a dry, shady, warm place with circulating air, so the screen I have them on is in our garage with the windows open.

    Tiffany – I only heard about them this year! They’re supposed to be good for drying or paste.

    LyB – right about now, we’re wishing we had lots more neighbors to share all the tomatoes with – we are swimming in them!

Leave a Reply

