Skip to content

Tiger Eye Beans

August 27, 2008
tags:

One of the variety of shell beans I’m growing in the garden this year is called Tiger Eye…or, as I like to call them, “the most photogenic bean I’ve ever seen” or “bean art” or “wouldn’t this make a great necklace pendant, or earrings?”

Is it going too far, to want to wear a beautiful ochre bean with maroon swirls for jewelry?

**************************************************************************************************

I’m away on vaca, so comments might take a bit longer than usual to be moderated. I’ll be posting again next week…enjoy the sweet lingering days of August.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2008 5:40 am

    Wow, I have never seen these before and you’re right they’re prety enough to wear!

  2. August 27, 2008 7:56 am

    That is definitely very cool! I say string them up! Wear your beans with pride😉

  3. August 27, 2008 9:11 am

    Wow – those are awesome – I wonder if they will keep their color when cooked??

  4. August 27, 2008 10:09 am

    You’re GROWING these cute little things? Can’t wait to see what you come up with in terms of utilizing them! Enjoy your vacation…

  5. August 27, 2008 12:09 pm

    Along with your tomatoes, those beans are gorgeous! Definitely wearable…

  6. August 27, 2008 4:29 pm

    Those really are gorgeous – have you been cooking with them? What do they taste like?

  7. August 28, 2008 7:43 am

    I would make a necklace out of these and earrings to match! I’m sure they cook up delicious too though.🙂

  8. August 28, 2008 7:54 am

    wow, so beautiful!

  9. September 1, 2008 8:11 pm

    Sylvie – I had never seen them before this year, either!

    Erin – yeah!!

    sue bette — exactly what I was wondering. We shall see – I haven’t cooked them yet, but I’ll post an update when I do.🙂

    RecipeGirl – thanks! Yes, sometimes it amazes me that relatively little effort produces those gorgeous things…

    brilynn – thanks!

    kimberleyblue – thanks! I haven’t cooked with them yet, but I’ll let everyone know how it goes when I do.🙂

    LyB, ttfn300 — agreed!

Leave a Reply

