Skip to content

CSA Week #14, and Warm Cabbage, Apple & Onion Slaw

September 15, 2008

This week’s share was as colorful as always, maybe even a bit more so than usual, and I was delighted to find inside our box (a) a perfectly round, heavy, bowling-ball sized watermelon; (b) baby golden beets!; and (c) a return appearance of rainbow chard. Regarding the chard, we still have a lot of it growing in our garden, so it’s not like I’m particularly chard deprived, but I just love it so! We eat it sauteed, chopped into ribbons and tossed raw in salads, cooked and mixed into all varieties of dishes, and I’ve been blanching and freezing extra chard in vacuum sealed bags.

So, the share this week included:

  • rainbow chard
  • baby golden beets
  • watermelon (sugar baby?)
  • onions
  • yellow squash
  • garlic
  • tomatoes
  • salad greens

Really, this whole CSA share is just such a joy. I found out this week that we’ll continue to get vegetables into the early weeks of November (weather permitting), which is even longer than I was expecting, and makes me giddy to think of what winter squash/pumpkins/fall produce might be awaiting us! The farmers have done a really excellent job planning produce for the shares: it seems like they space things out so we’re not inundated with any one vegetable each week, we seem to get a steady supply of staples like onions, garlic, and greens, and there’s always interesting variety with the rest of the share…I really admire that, as I know it’s not an easy task. Heck, I have a tough enough time staggering things in our small kitchen garden so everything doesn’t come in at once — see above chard example — so I can’t imagine how much planning must go into providing for all the shareholders.

I really appreciate the fact that they’ve been giving us a steady supply of onions and garlic each week, since those are pantry staples that I cook with all the time. One of the ways I put the onions to use recently was in this warm cabbage, apple and onion slaw.

Apples are finally arriving at the farmer’s market here (wheeeee!) and I had two petite red cabbages from our share and our garden, sitting in my fridge, waiting to be used…as I was hunting for ways to use them, I came across a delicious-sounding idea in Chez Panisse Vegetables.

You quickly saute some thinly sliced onions and apples together until they’re just starting to soften.

In goes the cabbage, but only for a short time; you want to retain some of its crunch and sweetness. Douse it with a splash of cider vinegar and a small pinch of sugar, and brighten it up at the end with some fresh chopped parsley…

…it was a delicious side dish for a cool early autumn day here. Plus, since I’m such a sucker for color, I love the bright purple against a white bowl, or spooned onto a white plate!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Warm Cabbage, Apple & Onion Slaw

Adapted from Chez Panisse Vegetables

View printable recipe

Ingredients
1 medium or 2 small heads of purple cabbage, thinly sliced as you would for coleslaw
2 apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
1 medium onion, halved and thinly sliced
olive oil
a splash of cider vinegar
a pinch of sugar
salt and pepper to taste
a small handful of chopped fresh parsley

Directions
Heat a little oil in a large wide skillet over medium high heat. Add the sliced onion and cook until softened, translucent, and just starting to brown a little. Add the apple slices and cook another minute or so. Add the thinly sliced cabbage along with a splash of cider vinegar, a little water (about 1/4 cup), and a small pinch of sugar. Cook just until the cabbage is softened a little but still retains most of its crispness. Stir in the chopped parsley and season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Serves 6-8.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2008 7:17 am

    I am also quite happy to see apples popping up at the market these days – I have made this recipe from Chez Panisse Veg. quite a few times and it is always a crowd pleaser! I think it is the cider vinegar that makes the dish – just the right amount of tang – I have been loving the vinegars from Katz & Co, they are made using traditional methods aged in oak barrels http://tinyurl.com/4ed34r

  2. September 15, 2008 7:42 am

    Apples!!! I just did a waldorf with cabbage, but this looks yummy too🙂

  3. September 15, 2008 8:45 am

    November! How fantastic. And thanks for this great recipe. I haven’t seen that book—I’ll have to check it out.

  4. September 15, 2008 2:32 pm

    This looks so yummy! I love red cabbage. It has the most amazing color. So pretty.

  5. September 15, 2008 9:44 pm

    This sounds amazing. And really how can you go wrong with anything from Chez Panisse. This salad sounds like a great welcome to fall.

  6. September 16, 2008 8:28 am

    This reminds me of a side dish my family serves alongside saurbraten and spaetzle every Christmas. The combination of cabbage, apples, and onions is so delicious.

  7. September 17, 2008 10:27 pm

    Your CSA haul looks great, I’ve always wanted to join one, but somehow I never seem to actually make the commitment.

  8. September 19, 2008 7:12 am

    sue – thanks for the link, and yes, the cider vinegar really complements the dish perfectly.

    ttfn300 – I know; it’s so exciting to see them arrive, isn’t it?

    Kristin – I took the book out of the library to check it out, but I think it’s definitely worth adding to my collection. It’s organized by vegetable; I love books like that.

    Alison – I know! Red cabbage is gorgeous.

    MangerLaVille – agreed!

    Tiffany – ooh, that sounds like the *perfect* combination!

    Sara – we’ve had a share in a CSA for a few years now and love it. I highly recommend joining one if you enjoy cooking with vegetables a lot during the growing season.🙂

  9. June 26, 2013 6:16 pm

    I added some carrot shreds as well, and… Yummy!

Leave a Reply

