Skip to content

Chocolate Peanut Toffee

December 16, 2008

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_6

Besides the truffles, one of the treats I made to give this holiday season was toffee…delicious, buttery, peanut-studded, sweet and caramely and slightly salty and a little bit chocolatey.

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_1

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_2

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_3

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_4

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_5

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_7

It’s utterly addictive, super easy to make, and frankly, I have to give it away otherwise I’d just keep nibbling.

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_9

desserts_chocolatepeanuttoffee_8

There were a few bits that crumbled into smaller pieces around the edges, and I’m keeping those in the freezer to sprinkle on ice cream!

__________________________________________________________________

Chocolate Peanut Toffee

Adapted from Gourmet, December 2007

I doubled the chocolate from what it was in the original recipe, as I wanted a bit of a thicker chocolate layer.

view printable recipe

Ingredients

4 sticks (1 pound) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
2 cups sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 cups whole cocktail peanuts plus 1 cup chopped (1 pound 10 ounces) – [note: I just used regular salted peanuts]
14 to 16 ounces 70%-cacao bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
Equipment: a 15- by 10- by 1-inch baking pan; a candy thermometer; a metal offset spatula

Directions

Combine the butter, sugar and salt in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, put a candy thermometer in the pan, then turn down the heat and simmer until the mixture reaches 300 degrees F, stirring occasionally. While the mixture is simmering, set out large buttered sheet pan that you’ll pour the hot toffee on when it’s done (I used a standard half-sheet pan) and chop the chocolate.

When the sugar mixture reaches 300 degrees F, turn off the heat and add the 4 cups of whole peanuts to the pan. Stir to combine, then pour the mixture out onto the buttered sheet pan. Let it cool 1 minute in the pan, then sprinkle the chopped chocolate over the top. Let this stand 5 minutes so the chocolate will soften, then use an offset spatula (or a regular silicone spatula) to spread the chocolate evenly over the top. Sprinkle with the 1 cup of chopped peanuts.

Place in the refrigerator to cool and harden fully (you can alternately place the pan in the freezer to cool down more quickly.) When it’s fully cold, use a knife to break the toffee into chunks.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 7:02 am

    Yum! That looks so delicious, Amy.

  2. December 16, 2008 8:50 am

    just lovely! i asked for a thermometer for xmas, fingers crossed😉

  3. December 16, 2008 11:43 am

    I love truffles so much! My favourites are the original dark chocolate, but I love the look of all your different flavours which are perfect at this festive time. YOur packaging is al gorgeouss!! xx

  4. December 16, 2008 4:25 pm

    I have made this same recipe three times and I have to quickly give it away because I love it so much! It is a great gift because the recipe makes a lot. Great idea to double the chocolate. 7 or 8 ounces leaves you with a pretty thin layer.

  5. December 17, 2008 12:31 am

    your photos are the most mouthwatering things! this sounds great. what a perfect holiday treat!

  6. December 17, 2008 6:03 am

    One of my mom’s friends used to bring toffee like this over for every Christmas and it was addictive! I love the step by step pictures.

  7. December 17, 2008 7:44 pm

    I just made this! I subbed cashews because I was planning on originally just making some cashew brittle, but this looked better. It’s so good, and completely addictive. Thankfully I’m giving nearly all of it away.

  8. Pinky permalink
    December 28, 2008 3:42 pm

    I just made this, substituting cashews for peanuts, and using a 7-oz bar of chocolate. Did you use 14 oz? This was a pretty thin layer of chocolate. I may make this again, but I’d cut back on the nuts to maybe 3 cups; it was pretty tough to spread, and I didn’t get full coverage of my half sheet pan. That is not to say I’m disappointed… how bad can it be when you start out with a pound of butter!

  9. December 30, 2008 12:45 pm

    Tiffany – thanks!

    ttfn300 – hope you got your wish! A thermometer is a great tool to have.

    Lucy – thanks so much!

    Dana Treat, megan, sue bette – thanks!

    Victoria – great; so glad you liked it!

    Pinky – whoops, good catch. I did double it from the original amount, but wrote the original quantity in the recipe. Goes to show you what rushing to post a few things before Christmas will sometimes do! I liked the amount of nuts in it, but I like things pretty nutty. And, since you’re breaking it up anyway, I don’t think it makes a huge difference if it reaches exactly to the edges of the pan. Agreed on the butter!

  10. jayme permalink
    December 30, 2008 2:57 pm

    I made this two ways, once with peanuts and bittersweet chocolate – as in the recipe you posted, only I forgot to double the chocolate as you mentioned. It turned out great, so I decided to make another batch, only this time with cashews and milk chocolate. WOW! My second batch was even better, and not just because I prefer milk chocolate to bittersweet, but the toffee actually came out better than the first time around.

    Awesome recipe, awesome blog. Subscribed!🙂

  11. Anne permalink
    December 21, 2009 11:23 pm

    I’m making this again this year. I think it is going to be a new holiday tradition in our family. Everyone loves it!

    Congratulations on your new family member!

Leave a Reply

