Skip to content

Vanilla Bean Hot Chocolate

December 17, 2008

ediblegifts_61

Last on my roster of edible gifts to give this holiday season is a rich, decadent hot chocolate mix — it’s utterly delicious and so simple to make. This is serious stuff, too: it’s simply finely chopped dark chocolate, milk chocolate, dutch process cocoa powder (this dissolves easier in liquid than regular  unsweetened cocoa), and sugar that’s been infused overnight with the seeds and pods of vanilla beans.

desserts_vanillabeanhotchocolate_1

If any of you have ever lived or worked in Boston and/or near Harvard Square, you may have had the ultra-rich hot chocolate at L.A. Burdick’s, in Harvard Square. They serve absolutely the most rich, decadent, thick, and CHOCOLATE with a capital C mug of hot cocoa I’ve ever tasted! Definitely worth a trip on a cold winter’s day. You can actually buy their hot chocolate mix online – or make your own – this is a good start! The secret is the finely, finely chopped good-quality chocolate.

desserts_vanillabeanhotchocolate_1_2

desserts_vanillabeanhotchocolate_1_3

Packaged up in a simple mason jar, tied with a pretty bow, who wouldn’t be happy to receive this? (Save some for yourself, too!)🙂

_______________________________________________________________

Vanilla Bean Hot Chocolate

Adapted from epicurious, December 2005

view printable recipe

Ingredients
2 cups granulated sugar (or natural cane sugar)
2 vanilla bean pods
24 oz (1 1/2 pounds) bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
8 oz milk chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 cups unsweetened Dutch process cocoa

Directions
Put the sugar in a large bowl. Split the vanilla bean pods lengthwise and scrape the seeds into the sugar. Whisk thoroughly to distribute the seeds throughout the sugar, then add the pods to the bowl. Cover the bowl and let it stand overnight at room temperature.

The next day, using a blender, process the bittersweet chocolate and milk chocolate in a blender using ~4 second pulses until finely ground.

In a large bowl, whisk together the ground chocolate, vanilla sugar, and cocoa powder. Divide among jars or containers.

Makes 10 half-pint jars, or about 10 cups.

To serve, use anywhere from 2 Tbsp to 1/4 cup per mug of hot milk, depending on how rich you like it! A little freshly whipped cream wouldn’t hurt, either…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 11:56 am

    Oh, I love all of the goodies you’re giving out. Helps me keep my ideas fresh for the next year🙂 So cute!! I love sand art brownies in a jar, but they aren’t shippable. This hot chocolate sounds fantastic.

  2. December 17, 2008 11:56 am

    Yum! I love really good hot chocolate. I think this would make fabulous Valentine’s presents (I am all done with Christmas gifts at this point)

    Do you serve it the same way that the epicurious recipe does?

  3. December 17, 2008 7:43 pm

    This looks fabulous! I would be thrilled if I received this as a present! Adorable packaging too!

  4. December 17, 2008 10:02 pm

    This sounds so decadent and delicious, yet ridiculously easy to put together! Your labels are too cute, recipients of this are going to be very happy🙂

  5. ArsBars permalink
    December 18, 2008 2:10 pm

    Any instructions on how to make the best cup with this mix, to pass on to the recipients? (Water/Milk, how much mix per cup, etc…) Thanks!

  6. December 18, 2008 6:46 pm

    Thanks Jen! I actually did ship these, but I had to wrap them well in bubble-wrap first. I love sand-art brownie mixes, too.🙂

    Whitney – ooh, you’re right; it would be great for V Day! I updated the recipe with the serving instructions – thanks for the reminder!

    bmk, megan – thanks!

    ArsBars – I updated the recipe with instructions; I like about 3 Tbsp of the mix per mug of hot milk (milk makes much better hot chocolate than water, IMO!)

  7. December 19, 2008 8:44 am

    I just love these for a great gift idea. I am going to use it.

  8. December 20, 2008 9:12 pm

    I would be thrilled if I got a mason jar filled with this! I’m not in Boston a lot, but next time, I’ll definitely take your advice!

  9. December 22, 2008 8:45 am

    I would so be happy to receive this, no doubt about it! It sounds decadent, perfect for Christmas morning!🙂

  10. November 12, 2009 8:07 pm

    Totally excited to try this recipe. It was wonderful! I’m going to make this for my Preschoolers at church and have them give it out to church members!

  11. Melanie permalink
    December 23, 2009 11:23 am

    When I made this recipe the blade in the blender got too hot and kept melting the chocolate. I ended up grinding all of the chocolate by hand. It was delicious, but incredibly time consuming. Any tips for how to grind the chocolate in the blender without melting it?

Leave a Reply

