Skip to content

Lentil Soup with Winter Greens, Cumin & Cilantro

January 11, 2009

soups_lentilgreens_10

Truth be told, I don’t diet. In fact, I have no use for diets. Every time the New Year rolls around, it seems like everyone is making resolutions to lose weight, go on this diet or that diet, exercise more, etc. Exercising more, maintaining a healthy weight, all that is great — and I’m definitely on board with those ideas — but the whole mindset that I see many people take towards eating unhealthy foods, then dieting to lose weight, then going back to eating unhealthy foods again just seems unmaintainable to me. Rather than follow wacky rules (eat just grapefruit! don’t eat carbs! drink a shake for all of your meals! make sweets and baked goods but use all sugar substitutes!) that seem kind of arbitrary and temporary, I think it’s more important to eat a healthy diet year round, focusing on whole foods, lots of vegetables/fruits/whole grains/beans & legumes, with meats and sweets in moderation. I’m certainly not perfect (the sweets category get me every time), but I do try to follow this approach as best I can, savor my food, and relish the different dishes we can make each season.

I could go on and on, but instead I’ll just say that with these thoughts in mind, I have been looking forward to getting back to our “normal” way of eating after the holiday glut (do any of you feel kind of sugared out at the end of December? I definitely do!) I had been looking for a good lentil soup for awhile, and this one is currently at the top of the roster – it’s delicious, nutritious, bright-tasting, and just the antidote to some of late December’s excesses.

soups_lentilgreens_8

My current favorite soup cookbook is Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen, and thumbing through it earlier this fall, this recipe caught my eye. It sounded just a little bit different than the normal lentil-mirepoix formula, or lentil-sausage-mirepoix. It has a bit of ground cumin in it; not a large enough quantity to be particularly discernible as a distinct element in the finished soup, but just enough to give a nice earthy, warm quality to the soup. A bit of chopped cilantro adds a little brightness, too. But beyond those flavorings, there were two important things that immediately drew me in: (a) it calls for a mix of three different kinds of lentils (or any combination of lentils that you have) – and I’m such a sucker for the pretty little variations in shape and texture…

beluga, brown, and french lentils

soups_lentilgreens_1

gorgeous!

soups_lentilgreens_2

…and (b), it’s got winter greens! Talk about nutritious and delicious. I am a firm believer in the adage “we eat with our eyes first,” and the different shaped and colored lentils in this soup, combined with the pop of greens, makes for a prettier presentation than your typical brown-on-brown lentil soup. I’ve used both kale and swiss chard when I’ve made this recipe, and collard greens or spinach would be good, as well. This weekend, I used some of the lovely curly kale we got in this week’s winter CSA share box (yes! we’re getting a winter share! Same farms as before, and the variety is delightful. Each week brings a myriad of root vegetables, assorted winter squash, onions, garlic, and some type of winter greens, as well as occasional bags of dried organic beans from Cayuga Pure Organics. I’ll say it again, I love where we live.)

curly kale

soups_lentilgreens_5

The original recipe involved cooking the lentils, onion/garlic/cumin, and greens separately, then combining them at the end. I tried that the first time, but subsequent times I’ve made this, I’ve found that I prefer cooking everything together in the same pot. The flavors all meld together, plus, it makes for less dishes to clean afterward. Not bad!

let the cumin get toasty with the sauteeing onions

soups_lentilgreens_3

in go the lentils and aromatics

soups_lentilgreens_4

As Deborah suggests, I like to serve the soup with a dollop of plain yogurt and an additional sprinkle of cilantro. The mild acidity in the yogurt brightens up the soup nicely; if you don’t have yogurt, you could use some thinned-out sour cream, or just a squeeze of fresh lemon or lime juice. Oh, and serving it with a slice of whole-grain bread is definitely recommended!

soups_lentilgreens_6

____________________________________________________________

Lentil Soup with Winter Greens, Cumin & Cilantro

Adapted from Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen

The original recipe involved cooking the lentils, onion/garlic, and greens separately, then combining them at the end. I prefer to cook them all in the same pot, and I’ve adjusted the instructions and timing accordingly.

View printable recipe

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups mixed lentils – brown, small French Le Puy lentils, black Beluga lentils
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion, diced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 large garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
2 bay leaves
4 cilantro stems + 4 parsley stems, tied together in a bundle
7 cups water
6 leaves (about 4 cups) winter greens, chopped – kale, chard, collards, or spinach
1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
sea salt and black pepper, to taste

plain yogurt, for serving

Directions

Heat the olive oil over medium high heat in a stock pot or large saucepan, then add the diced onion and ground cumin. Cook until the onion is softened, then add the garlic and coarse salt and cook another minute. Add the lentils, 7 cups water, 2 bay leaves, and the cilantro and parsley stems. Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat and simmer, covered, for 30 minutes.

Remove the lid from the pot and add the chopped greens. Simmer, uncovered, for an additional 10 minutes, or until the greens are as tender as you like them. Stir in the chopped cilantro, and season to taste with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Serve in a bowl with a dollop of plain yogurt and a sprinkling of additional chopped cilantro, or with some sour cream thinned out with a little milk, or with a squeeze of fresh lemon or lime juice.

Makes 6 servings; can easily be doubled.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 6:54 am

    This looks perfect, Amy! I love the shots of the lentils, too. Do we get to see any photos of the winter share? Pretty please?

  2. January 12, 2009 9:34 am

    Totally agree with your thoughts on dieting – I think it’s much better to follow a food philosophy that is healthy and balanced than jump on the dieting rollercoaster.
    This post reminds me that I have got to cook with lentils more & I love the idea of mixing different varieties together – this one is going on my to-do list! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. January 12, 2009 11:29 am

    Oh wow, this looks terrific — I adore lentil soup and this looks fantastic! I’ll definitely look to make this sometime really soon!! The cumin and cilantro sound dreamy!

  4. January 12, 2009 2:23 pm

    Sounds like a great, quick, healthy meal – perfect for January!

  5. January 12, 2009 6:14 pm

    I wish I had a big bowl of this right now. I love lentils and this looks like a great combo!

  6. January 12, 2009 9:40 pm

    Amen to your eating philosophy! I get so irritated with all the diet commercials that pop up this time of year. It’s so much healthier to eat whole foods year-round, not to count calories, and to take everything in moderation.
    As for your lentil soup, it looks wonderful. I love the addition of the kale. I found some beautiful green and purple winter kale at the farmers market this weekend.

  7. Betsy permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:28 pm

    Hi Amy, this soup looks great! I just made lentil soup (that calls for carrots and roasted tomatoes, which add some nice color) and cornbread yesterday too – it’s the perfect time of year for these hearty and healthy soups. Great minds think alike🙂 That’s so cool you get a winter CSA share – I’m jealous!

  8. Meredith permalink
    January 14, 2009 8:12 pm

    This looks so good! I just love lentil soup!

  9. January 15, 2009 7:44 am

    I have been looking for a good lentil soup recipe. I think this is the one… love the cilantro in it.

  10. January 15, 2009 11:52 am

    I completely agree with you about the diet issue. I’m sick and tired already of all the ads for weight loss and the latest fads. A well balanced, healthy diet is the only way to go.

    Lentil soup is one of my favorites.

  11. January 15, 2009 6:44 pm

    Thanks Kristin! Yes, photos will be forthcoming.🙂

    sue bette -enjoy!

    radish – I think the cilantro adds a nice touch, and the fact that it isn’t tomato-based is a nice change.

    croquecamille, whitneyinchicago – thanks!

    Tiffany – ooh, that sounds so pretty!

    Betsy – great minds think alike, indeed🙂 – cornbread would be such a good addition. We love cornbread!

    Meredith, Tracy – thanks!

    Cathy – agreed!

  12. January 16, 2009 1:48 pm

    Hi! Love your philosophy on “dieting.” I am an RD and do not believe in diets, but eating wholesomely year round with a few “splurges” for fun here and there. Everything in moderation and balance. Love your blog! This soup looks amazing. I just recently started my own blog, which is definitely a work in progress. I’m still trying to figure out how to do the layout and make a better title section. And of course I need a better camera! But, it is a lot of fun and I am enjoying it even though I am the lone blogger right now. Any advice on gaining followers and blogging in general?? thanks for your time and a great blog🙂

    kristen
    mytastytravels.blogspot.com

  13. January 23, 2009 11:37 am

    Just got around to making this, though I got rid of the vegetarian part in favor of starting with some browned turkey sausage. Anyway, it’s absolutely delicious, in the top 10 things I’ve cooked I’d say. Thanks for the recipe!

  14. Thora permalink
    February 16, 2010 7:23 pm

    I just googled, “Cilantro Parsley Lentils,” for a meal idea for tonight that didn’t require me to go grocery shopping. I found this, made it, and LOVED it.
    Thank you for sharing your recipes!

Leave a Reply

