Skip to content

BBA #8 – Yum, Yum, Cinnamon Buns!

July 9, 2009
tags: ,

bba_cinnamonbuns_14

I don’t think I know anyone who doesnt like cinnamon buns. And I know, I know, some people like Cinnabon or the twist-off-and-bake Pillsbury rolls…but to me, those are so ultra-loaded with sugar and artificial stuff that they’re not worth it. But homemade cinnamon buns…now those are a different creature entirely! Light, warm, sweet-but-not-cloyingly-so, mmm! Making them for last week’s BBA bread reminded me how much I love them (as you can probably tell from the frequency of italicized words in this paragraph), and that I really should make them more often. They’re not hard to make, and oh, the smell when they’re baking! Heavenly.

For this BBA bread, I decided to add raisins and walnuts into the cinnamon swirl of the buns. Cinnamon buns are great, but I love them even more with little bits of fruit and nuts swirled throughout.

The process for making the buns started with creaming together butter, sugar and salt, then adding an egg, lemon zest, bread flour, yeast, and buttermilk. I mixed these ingredients together in my electric stand mixer until they came together in a shaggy ball:

bba_cinnamonbuns_1

I decided to then knead the dough by hand, which was easy — because it was so supple — but it did take me a bit longer than usual to achieve the windowpane, closer to 15 minutes than the usual 8-10. But look at the lovely windowpane I did eventually coax out of the dough:

bba_cinnamonbuns_2

bba_cinnamonbuns_3

Next came the usual step of letting the kneaded dough rise until doubled in a lightly oiled bowl.

bba_cinnamonbuns_4

bba_cinnamonbuns_5

I then gently degassed the risen dough and rolled it out into a rectangle about 14 inches long by 12 inches wide. Reinhart says the thickness of the dough at this point should be 2/3 inch, but mine was not this thick…I might have too aggressively degassed it, but in any case, I pressed on, sprinkling a generous coating of cinnamon sugar over the dough.

bba_cinnamonbuns_6

I then scattered raisins and walnuts over the cinnamon sugar, and lightly pressed them into the dough.

bba_cinnamonbuns_7

Starting from the bottom edge, I then rolled up the dough into a log, trying to keep it fairly tight as I rolled. The individual buns were then easy to slice directly from this log.

bba_cinnamonbuns_8

I placed the buns on a sheet pan close to each other, but not touching – so that when they proof and bake, they’ll gently connect with each other (so you get those soft sides when you pull them apart. Yum.)

bba_cinnamonbuns_9

After they’d proofed at room temperature for about an hour, here’s how lovely and puffy they were:

bba_cinnamonbuns_10

bba_cinnamonbuns_11

After they proofed, I baked them for about 20 minutes, until they were golden brown.

Oh, hel-loooo, there.

bba_cinnamonbuns_12

We ate some of them warm, with a powdered sugar/milk icing drizzled over them (didn’t get shots of those – we scarfed them down too quickly!) I stored the remainder at room temperature in a sealed container overnight, and we had them over the weekend with guests that stayed with us for the 4th of July…it was such a fantastic breakfast treat! I’m going to make these over and over, I just know it.

bba_cinnamonbuns_13

You can find the BBA recipe for cinnamon buns here.

Previous BBA Bread: Ciabatta

Up next: Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Bread

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 7:50 pm

    Raisins and Walnuts! What a great addition. I made this recipe a couple of months ago and it really is wonderful.

  2. July 9, 2009 11:55 pm

    Those look heavenly!!!

  3. Betsy permalink
    July 10, 2009 12:36 am

    YUM!!!

  4. July 10, 2009 2:35 am

    Dayum. I’ve forgotten how awesome they were too. My personal favorite, though it’s much more dangerous, is cream cheese frosting drizzled over them😉

  5. July 10, 2009 9:06 am

    Love them.
    Ah the cream cheese frosting suggestion is great.
    Gotta make these again.
    Great job,
    Susie

  6. Andy permalink
    July 11, 2009 12:11 am

    This is the frosting my family makes for the christmas morning cinnamon buns
    every year

    Whip together:
    4 Tb. melted butter
    1/4 tsp. salt
    1/4 tsp. cinnamon
    2 1/2 tsp. Amaretto
    1 C. powdered sugar

    Continue to add additional sugar until you’ve gotten a good spreadable frosting. You’ll probably need 1.5 – 2 cups all told. If you spread it on the buns warm it will melt down into all the pockets. Don’t skip the Amaretto, it really makes it.

  7. July 13, 2009 1:12 pm

    Love the blog. Found it via The Idle Loaf who made one of your recipes and I am glad I did as I think we have a similar philosophy and approach to food. I love making homemade Cinnamon Rolls. Alton Brown’s recipe is by far my favorite but I’ve also made a version of sticky buns used by a local bakeshop (Flour) that are unbelievable. Yours look nummy as well.

  8. July 13, 2009 1:32 pm

    I am one of those rare people that don’t really like cinnamon buns, but I happened to be going to a potluck brunch and I made these. They were much better than the mall ones. Yum!

  9. July 13, 2009 3:36 pm

    Yey! Visiting some busy friends next weekend. Would be great to surprise them with these.

  10. November 30, 2009 1:24 am

    hello,

    i was going to make this, and im a COMPLETE amateur…the ingredients are all given, as well as the method but where the amounts of all the things??? and the temperature at which to bake the break etc. please do give/post if you can. thanks!

    also loved the recipe and pictures of your double chocolate pudding will try that next!

    • November 30, 2009 8:08 am

      Hi – you actually have to click on the link I provided at the end for Peter Reinhart’s recipe (with amounts, methods, etc.) Because this was part of a challenge where so many bloggers were baking the same original recipe, we all decided to link out to the source rather than provide the recipe over and over on each of our blogs.

      • November 30, 2009 11:51 am

        oh my my my my yummmmmm! thanks! i’ve shown all my friends that im baking this for them next! i’m so glad i hit upon your website! thank You Lord!

  11. culinspiration permalink
    April 28, 2010 10:09 am

    Oh my god, these look amazing. I will definitely have to try this recipe sometime…soon.

    I love your blog and have added it to my blogroll. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

