Skip to content

CSA Week 7, and Cherry Chocolate Clafouti

July 29, 2009
tags: ,
CSA Week 7: 7.22.09

CSA Week 7: 7.22.09

You may have noticed that my posts have slowed down over the past few weeks (or is that just me being very aware of it??) In any case, as summers usually paradoxically go, they often contain more events and fun things than during the year, which means we’ve been busier than usual! I’ve slipped a little behind on my BBA Challenge, but that will be coming later this week – and in the meantime, let me catch you up on what we received in our CSA share last week.

Last week’s CSA share included: zucchini, yellow squash, kohlrabi (both colors!), cucumbers, garlic, petite onions, carrots!, napa cabbage, baby bok choy, field greens, and beautiful red leaf lettuce.

And our fruit share: apricots and sweet cherries! Ooh, apricots, how I love thee — (actually, any stone fruit) — you are so much better eaten fresh out of hand than in your wrinkled, dried, too-sweet (and radioactive-orange) state. No, I don’t have much love for dried apricots, but I do love them fresh, and these had beautiful rosy blushes on them.

csa_w7_09_fruit

csa_w7_09_collage

How about uses for these vegetables? Well, the Napa cabbage and bok choy I’ll definitely use in a stir fry; I’ve already used some of the zucchini to make my favorite Chocolate Zucchini Cake (you must try that this summer if you haven’t already!); the kohlrabi, julienned, is a nice salad ingredient; and I’ve been playing around with different vinegary cucumber salads, which I can’t get enough of lately.

I eat the sweet cherries straight out of hand while they’re in season — they don’t last long in our house — but I also had some sour cherries left from a prior week’s fruit share, and decided to whip up a clafouti for an easy weeknight dessert.

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_6

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_8

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_1

I think if I made this next time, I would opt to use the sweet cherries over the sour — the contrast of sour cherries with the chocolate was nice, but I think the sweet cherries would have been an even better complement to the not-so-sweet dark chocolate.

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_3

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_2

Making this dish reminded me that I really do need to pick up a cherry pitter. Of course, you could go the traditional French route and just bake the clafouti with the whole cherries, pit intact, but I have to say that I’m not all that crazy about biting into a slice of clafouti and cracking down on a cherry pit. It’s not that it’s all that difficult to pit them — run the knife around the circumference, along the pit; pop one half off; tug the pit out of the other half — but good grief, it’s time consuming.

Some women suffer for fashion, I suffer for cherries.desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_4

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_5

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_7

Pitter or no pitter, this is a great dessert to whip up in the summer with any extra cherries you may have around. The combination of cherries and chocolate is classic, of course, but to ensconce them in a custardy slice of clafouti…well, I think that’s a great delivery mechanism!

desserts_cherrychocolateclafouti_9

___________________________________________________________________

Cherry Chocolate Clafouti

Adapted from this recipe on Cookthink (from the Barbara Kafka Dessert Anthology)

view printable recipe

Ingredients
2 cups cherries, pitted and halved (you can use sweet or sour cherries, but I think sweet would be best)
1/4 cup sugar (I used some vanilla sugar I had, but regular would be fine)
4 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 ounces dark chocolate, chopped

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9 inch pie dish or other baking dish.

Beat the 4 eggs with 1/4 cup sugar until pale, then add the milk, cream, and vanilla extract. Mix until blended. Whisk in the salt and flour until the batter is smooth (I find it helps to whisk a little of the egg mixture with the flour first to create a thick paste/batter, then to whisk this back into the rest of the egg mixture. Helps to prevent lumps.)

Scatter the halved cherries over the bottom of the pie dish, then pour the batter over. Sprinkle the chopped chocolate over the top of the batter. Cover the dish with foil and bake in the oven for 20 minutes, then remove the foil and bake another 10-20 minutes, until slightly puffed and just set in the center.

Serve warm or cool.

Serves 6.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 8:25 am

    Another great looking share, Amy! I feel your cherry pitting pain. Or, I should say, that I *did* feel it until I discovered a handy trick. You can use a pastry tip in place of a cherry pitter; just use the open end of the tip to puncture the cherry, which somehow sucks the pit up into the pastry tip. It works best to use a pastry tip with a round opening slightly larger than a cherry pit.

    • July 30, 2009 9:35 pm

      Kristin, that’s such a great tip!! Thanks for passing it along; I’m definitely going to try that next time.

  2. Camille permalink
    July 29, 2009 3:18 pm

    You have the makings of one of my favourite summer Asian salads…baby bok choy very finely slivered on a diagonal, napa cabbage finely slivered, zucchini, yellow squash, cucumber & carrot sliced on the diagonal & julienned, very finely sliced spring onion & if you have, very finely slivered red, yellow or orange peppers, sliced fresh water chestnuts & whole fresh bean sprouts. Toss veggies with a dressing of garlic, fresh ginger, rice wine vinegar, a touch each of soy sauce & mirin, grapeseed oil & a drizzle of toasted sesame oil. Let veggies marinate in dressing for at least 30 mins & serve alongside grilled fish.

    • July 30, 2009 9:36 pm

      Ooh, that sounds so delicious, Camille! I love fresh, crunchy, cool salads with Asian flavors in the warm weather. Sounds like a great slaw – thanks!

  3. July 29, 2009 7:53 pm

    I love the addiction of chocolate in the clafoutis.
    Your photos are gorgeous!
    I will try this, I am still loving that rhubarb pudding cake recipe from the spring!

  4. July 30, 2009 3:51 am

    That is a GREAT spin on the original. Why didn’t I think of that? Chocolate makes anything better!😀

  5. July 30, 2009 5:50 am

    Hi! My sister sent me the link to your blog and I have requested to follow you on twitter. We live in Ohio and also get a CSA box each week (called a Happy Box.) I love to seek out new things o do with all the veg we get. This week we got an abundance of yellow squash. I plan to try your zucchini cake this week!

    • July 30, 2009 9:38 pm

      Hi Kathie – thanks for stopping by! I love that name – Happy Box! It truly is. Enjoy the zucchini cake; it would be great made with the yellow squash, too — the zucchini/yellow squash primarily serves to keep the cake nice and moist without imparting any flavor.

  6. July 30, 2009 7:49 pm

    when i made cherry clafouti, it tasted sooo eggy. my recipe used the same amount of eggs as yours…was yours really eggy tasting? is it supposed to taste like a cherry omelet?

    • July 30, 2009 9:40 pm

      It does taste eggy, no doubt about it, but it should have a little sweetness, too. I think I expect it to taste more like a cross between a custard and a dense pancake; if you make sure to remove it from the oven just when it’s set, hopefully you’ll get more of the smooth “custard” texture and not an omelet texture.🙂

  7. July 30, 2009 8:13 pm

    I like the sound of adding chocolate to a cherry clafouti!

  8. August 2, 2009 7:07 pm

    Another way to pit cherries is to whack them with the side of your chef’s knife, like you would a garlic clove. If they’re going to be baked into something like this clafouti it won’t matter if they’re a bit flat. This works well for olives too!

  9. August 6, 2009 9:54 pm

    oh i love that idea!! i made it one cherry season before i got a cherry pitter🙂

Leave a Reply

