Skip to content

Good Friends and Raspberry Crisps

August 9, 2009

dessert_raspberrycrisp_5

When I was in my early 20’s, I was living in Boston and enjoying the fresh-out-of-college phase of my life. One summer, after ending a long-term relationship, I was confronted by the question “now what?” which left me simultaneously a little bit scared, yet also a little bit excited. In times like those I tend to throw myself headlong into my hobbies, and as it happened, I was taking a pottery class. Pottery was the perfect solution for me at that time (to a point) — while at the wheel, I could totally engross myself in the shaping of the form, rather than let my mind wander into emotionally-angsty territory. But, I say “to a point” because even though I’ve never been one to mind my own company, pottery wasn’t exactly the greatest solution for socializing and meeting people post-breakup. Nevertheless, I spent hours on Saturdays in the studio (it was a productive period in my life potterywise!)…and one Saturday, another girl happened to be there as well, and she struck up a conversation with me.

Have you ever met someone who you just instantly know will become a lifelong friend, who you feel like you’ve known for ages even though it’s the first time you’ve met? That was Betsy: she and I spent hours that Saturday laughing, talking like old friends, and learning how much we had in common. I went home that day feeling like Fate had led us both to the studio that afternoon, that our paths were meant to cross.

Me and Betsy, post-apple-picking

Me and Betsy, post-apple-picking

That summer, Betsy and I and her sister Maggie (who I also became fast friends with) spent lots of time together…we had a mutual love of fresh fruit picking, so we made it a mission to visit as many farms as we could that summer to pick blueberries, raspberries, and apples in the fall. Picking blueberries and raspberries is kind of labor-intensive, so it left us lots of time to talk, and my wonderful friendship with them was born.

blueberry picking

me, blueberry picking

One day we took a trip to a farm that had pick-your-own raspberries, and we were so excited to pick quarts and quarts of the raspberries and gorge ourselves on the car trip home.

dessert_raspberrycrisp_1

Well. In our excitement, we practically fell all over ourselves strapping on our “picking equipment” — large plastic yogurt containers tied to ropes, which you could hang around your neck — and racing down the path to where the raspberry bushes were. The farm was pretty empty that day, but as we approached the raspberries, we saw a woman and her three children marching out of the rows of berry bushes with LIKE FOUR CONTAINERS EACH AROUND THEIR NECKS, brimming over with raspberries! I mean really, they had to have picked at least 10 pounds of berries, IF NOT MORE. We eyed their overflowing containers, and the oddly devoid-of-fruit raspberry bushes, and got nervous. And then, I still remember her cheerfully calling out to us “Oh, there’s not really too many berries left!” as we gawked at the pounds and pounds of raspberries they were carting out. Gah! So that day, we only ended up with a measly pint or quart apiece…just enough to last the car ride home. But, it was fun to giggle about, and it just strengthened our resolve that we’d find another farm that still HAD raspberries, and we’d scheme up a plan to get there before they were completely gone.

before my wedding

Betsy, me and Maggie before my wedding

That summer of berry and fruit picking led to Betsy and Maggie becoming my closest friends, to this day. Sweet Maggie (who has the most infectious laugh of anyone I’ve ever met) and I had a lot of fun sharing an apartment for a few years, before I met B, got married, and moved to Ithaca.

Maggie and I at the Ithaca Farmer's Market

Maggie and I at the Ithaca Farmer's Market (yes, we even share similar taste in fleece jackets)

dessert_raspberrycrisp_2

dessert_raspberrycrisp_4

And even though we don’t live close to each other anymore, whenever I pick up a batch of raspberries at the farmer’s market (these were gorgeous black, purple and red raspberries from Daring Drake Farm), I always think of my two dear friends and that summer of picking fruit…so Betsy, Maggie, these crisps are for you.🙂 Wish we could share them in person!

dessert_raspberrycrisp_6

_________________________________________________________________

Individual Raspberry Crisps

an Eggs on Sunday original

view printable recipe

Ingredients
For the filling:
4 cups mixed raspberries
1/4 cup sugar (or you can add a little more, depending on how sweet the raspberries are and your tastes)
2 tablespoons flour

For the topping:
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1/4 cup flour (can use all-purpose or white whole wheat)
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Toss together the filling ingredients and let stand for 5-10 minutes, until juices start to form. Divide among 4 individual 1-cup ramekins.

In a medium bowl, mix together the brown sugar, oats, flour, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and salt. Stir in the melted butter with a fork, until clumps form. Sprinkle the topping over the tops of each of the ramekins, and place the ramekins on a sheet pan (to catch any drips while they bake.)

Bake for about 30 minutes (check them around 20-25 minutes), until the filling is bubbly and the crumb topping is golden brown and crisp. Let cool for about 15 minutes before serving; serve with a scoop of ice cream or softly whipped cream.

Makes 4 servings.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 8:10 pm

    Oh this was such a lovely post! Prime example of lifelong true friends!
    The crisp looks soooooooooo good!!!!

  2. August 9, 2009 9:12 pm

    Wonderful…crisps have always been my favorite fruit dessert! My mother made them endlessly during the summer when I was growing up.

    • August 11, 2009 7:45 am

      So did mine, Laura – I think that’s one of the reasons they’re still one of my favorite desserts!

  3. August 9, 2009 10:11 pm

    Beautiful pictures! I love the way the filling cooked over the sides of the ramekins… they look so delicious!

  4. Betsy permalink
    August 9, 2009 10:46 pm

    What a wonderful trip down memory lane Amy…I’m so glad we met that day at the pottery studio! This reminds me that, although I have been berry picking this summer, I have yet to make a crisp. I think it’s time – yours looks delicious!

    • August 11, 2009 7:45 am

      Me too, Bets.🙂 Hope you and C enjoy these – they’d be good w/blueberries, too, I think (since I know you have that farm near you!)

  5. August 9, 2009 11:18 pm

    Aww, that’s so sweet! It’s a pretty small capital in my country so I’m never too far from my friends (unless they’re in the States, ulp), but we never get to talk anymore😦 I hope you still do. Love the matching jackets, lol. And I love the sweet berry juice spilling over the sides! heaven!

    • August 11, 2009 7:47 am

      Thanks Manggy – you’re lucky to have friends so close! We *do* still talk, and aren’t so far that we can’t see each other a few times a year, so that makes me happy. And yes, we thought we were pretty funny with the unintentionally matching jackets.🙂

  6. David Scotch permalink
    August 10, 2009 7:53 am

    Amy

    Hope you are doing well

    Saw Julie and Julia and it so reminded me
    of you.

    Hinnerk getting settled in SA

    Best wishes

    David

    • August 11, 2009 7:48 am

      Hi David, nice to hear from you! I’m seeing Julie & Julia this week and am looking forward to it. Hope all is well in San Antonio and say hello to Hinnerk from me if you see him – hard to believe Boot Camp was almost a year ago!

  7. August 10, 2009 9:02 am

    How lucky to have found such amazing friends. I really liked this post a lot. And beautiful raspberry crisps! There really is nothing better than a perfect pint of raspberries to munch on.

  8. Emily permalink
    August 10, 2009 11:36 am

    Love this post! Yay for the beauty of friendship, and food! e

  9. August 10, 2009 12:07 pm

    Such a sweet post and a delicious recipe!

  10. Karen permalink
    August 10, 2009 2:51 pm

    wow! I wonderful looking overflowing ramekins. This is definitely on my to-do list now. Very cute post.

  11. August 10, 2009 5:04 pm

    Beautiful story! Good friendships are a sweet thing. And those crisps look delightful!

  12. Jess permalink
    August 10, 2009 7:26 pm

    What a sweet story🙂 And the crisps look so yummy! I think I’m going to make these for brunch this weekend.

  13. August 11, 2009 6:45 pm

    This was such a lovely post. Delicious recipe, and an even better story of friendship. Thank you for sharing!

  14. Maggie permalink
    August 11, 2009 8:59 pm

    The crisps look delicious – I wish I were there to share them with you! It was so fun to read your post and think back to our summer of fruit picking and our days as roomies🙂 Miss you and hope to see you soon!

  15. August 13, 2009 10:04 am

    Thank you so much for this adorable story of friendship and raspberries…
    I have also subscribed to a CSA share, it’s been almost 2 years now, that’s how I found out your blog, which I like very much!

  16. August 14, 2009 1:42 pm

    what a lovely friendship! and cute story🙂 i would’ve stolen that woman’s berries! LOVE that crisp!

  17. August 19, 2009 1:39 pm

    holey moley. These crisps look like heaven. I’m not usually a fruit dessert person, but sometimes it just takes the right berry delight to turn me into a convert. I recently tried this blueberry tart and was instantly begging for more. Bye bye fruit apathy. I think I will have to make this.

    http://www.biggirlssmallkitchen.com/2009/08/baking-for-others-fruit-apathy.html

    thanks again!

  18. Laura permalink
    September 2, 2009 9:40 pm

    Hi Amy,

    I found your blog when I was looking for recipes to use up all the veggies in my CSA share. I followed the recipe for individual raspberry crisps, but replaced the raspberries with a mix of blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries. They were so good! Better than my favorite fruit crisp recipe!

    Just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading your blog, and that your recipe is excellent!

    Laura

  19. Gail permalink
    October 5, 2009 2:45 pm

    Thanks for the great story, the pictures and recipe! You and your friends look so much alike. Truly you are all sisters.

    I made a copy of that recipe and look forward to trying it.

    Regards,
    Gail
    Fairfax, VA

  20. James permalink
    November 22, 2010 3:19 pm

    Made this last night exactly as the recipe stated and it was super simple and delicious! Looking forward to making it again!

Leave a Reply

