Skip to content

Apricot Ice Cream & Oatmeal Cookie Sandwiches

August 30, 2009

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_12

My cravings lately have been focusing on a new object of affection (obsession)…ice cream sandwiches. And I’m not talking the soggy-chocolate-cookie-bars-enclosing-weirdly-fluffy-“vanilla”-ice-cream kind. I’m talking full-out homemade cookies and homemade ice cream…my growing belly seems to whispering to me “Amy…I MUST have an ice cream sandwich…FEED me!” And really, who am I to deny these cravings? Perhaps baby will be an ice cream lover (judging from B and I, there’s a good chance that gene was passed along.)

My first attempt was salted butter caramel ice cream sandwiched between chocolate cookies, courtesy of (who else?) David Lebovitz. I could taste how good this combination would be before I even started making them. And so it pains me to tell you that my adventure with this combination was…ah…less than successful. Way less than successful. My mind was distracted (seems to be happening a lot more lately), I don’t think I cooked my ice cream custard long enough, I overbaked my cookies, and this was the result:

epic FAIL

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_1
You know you’ve done something wrong when your ice cream melts into a puddle 15 seconds after filling the cookies (I haven’t yet figured out on what step in the recipe I went astray, but I have a few hunches.) Oh, the ice cream tasted amazingly good — intense caramel flavor — and the cookies would have been good had I checked the oven sooner and not overbaked them by probably about 5-10 minutes. But still – these were a no go.

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_2

Anyway, let’s move on to happier topics, because I want to tell you about my second attempt (also coming from Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop) which was a definite success. Fresh apricot ice cream, sandwiched between spicy oatmeal cookies…ding ding ding! We have a winner!

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_13

The apricot ice cream was super easy to make; apricots are cooked until soft, then pureed and combined with cream before being churned in your ice cream machine. The oatmeal cookies are spicy and the perfect size to sandwich a good smear of ice cream between. I found it easiest to assemble the sandwiches when the ice cream had been churned and firmed up for just an hour or so; longer and it might be a little hard to scoop (or, you’d just have to leave it out for a few minutes at room temperature to soften slightly.)

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_3

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_4

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_8

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_7

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_10

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_11

The best part is that I can keep these individually-wrapped sandwiches in the freezer, ready and waiting to devour when the craving strikes. And that is very handy, indeed.

dessert_apricotoatmealicecreamsandwiches_14

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Fresh Apricot Ice Cream

From The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

view printable recipe

Note: if apricots are no longer in season around you, you can also make this with a pound of fresh plums (yum!) If you do so, use 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar and 1/3 cup water instead of the amounts listed below, and substitute 1/2 teaspoon kirsch for the almond extract. The remaining ingredients and methods are the same.

Ingredients

1 pound squishy-ripe fresh apricots (10-16, depending on size)
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup heavy cream
3 drops almond extract
a few drops of freshly squeezed lemon juice

Directions

Slice the apricots open and remove the pits, then chop them into six wedges each. Cook them with the water in a covered medium saucepan over medium heat until they’re tender, about 8 minutes. Turn off the heat, then stir in the sugar until dissolved. Cool this mixture to room temperature.

Puree the apricots (and any liquid in the saucepan) in a blender or food processor until smooth. If there are little fibers left (I didn’t find this to be a problem in the blender, but it might be if you use a food processor), you can strain the mixture through a sieve. Stir in the cream, almond extract, and lemon juice.

Chill thoroughly, then process in your ice cream maker.

Oatmeal Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies

From The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

Makes 16 cookies, for 8 sandwiches

view printable recipe

Ingredients
2/3 cup flour
1/4 cup granulated sugar
6 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups rolled oats (not instant)
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup unflavored vegetable oil
3 tablespoons whole milk
1 large egg

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and line several sheet pans with parchment or silicone baking mats.

Whisk together the flour through the salt, breaking up any lumps of brown sugar. Stir in the raisins and oats.

Make a well in the center and pour in the oil and milk; stir until you get a smooth batter.

Drop 6 heaping tablespoons at a time onto each baking sheet, spacing them evenly apart. Spread each tablespoon of batter into a 3-inch circle with the back of a spoon.

Bake the cookies for 15-20 minutes (I think I slightly overbaked mine at 20 minutes, so you might want to start checking around 15 minutes), rotating the sheet pans midway through the baking time.

Remove from the oven and let the cookies cool on the baking sheet. Once completely cool, sandwich the ice cream between 2 cookies, then wrap each sandwich in plastic wrap and store in the freezer.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 5:24 pm

    Those. Look. AMAZING.

    I have been LOVING The Perfect Scoop this summer. Seriously, the best cookbook I own.

    • September 1, 2009 12:46 pm

      I totally agree, Whitney – it’s in my top 5. So glad you’ve been enjoying your ice cream maker!🙂

  2. August 30, 2009 5:36 pm

    Holy deliciousness!!

  3. August 30, 2009 7:11 pm

    Wow!

    Just wait until you actually HAVE the baby! 2 months following the birth of our second, I was making a fancy birthday cake for my husband. When the layers were in the oven, I looked over at the counter to spy 1/2 of the buttermilk which I had neglected to add to the batter. Oops. Spacey doesn’t even begin to cover it. : )

    • Allison permalink
      August 30, 2009 7:27 pm

      Lauren, I can’t believe you were making a fancy birthday cake just two months after having a baby! Impressive… I’ve been thinking about ice cream sandwiches lately too and was happy to read about these. 🙂

    • September 1, 2009 12:47 pm

      Now THAT is impressive! I’ll be very proud of myself if I take on fancy pastries 2 months after the baby’s born…good for you!😉

  4. August 30, 2009 8:11 pm

    Looks great! We just bought the ice cream attachment for our KitchenAid Stand Mixer – still experimenting to find the perfect recipe. Our consistencies vary each time. Definitely will try this when apricots are back.

    Cheers,

    *Heather*

  5. JenniferP permalink
    August 30, 2009 9:21 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Beautiful photos, too.

  6. August 30, 2009 11:20 pm

    I’ve never actually had apricot ice cream but I imagine it would be fantastic, especially with local produce. You’re also reminding me that I keep planning to make ice cream sandwiches for gatherings but always deem them logistically nightmarish, however there is no reason not to make them for myself. I think my combo would be fresh banana sandwiched between peanut butter cookies and perhaps rolled in peanuts. Mmmm.

  7. August 31, 2009 7:27 am

    fresh apricot ice cream? heck yeah! and the oatmeal spice cookie is a great pairing as well… yum🙂

  8. August 31, 2009 9:24 am

    These pictures are gorgeous! The sandwiches just look delightfully refreshing – I love the combination of the oat & apricot – a perfect summer treat🙂

  9. August 31, 2009 5:55 pm

    Heavenly, simply heavenly. Thanks for sharing…

  10. Amanda permalink
    September 1, 2009 12:39 pm

    Amy–If I may ask, what ice cream maker do you use? Thanks!

    • September 1, 2009 12:50 pm

      Hi Amanda – we have the Cuisinart….um, I forget the model – it’s the one that retails for around $50, I think? It’s been great so far; not the fanciest model out there but for not a big investment of money, it works well. And, I highly recommend picking up a second freezer bowl — that way you can make 2 batches in a row without having to wait for the bowl to re-freeze.🙂

      • Amanda permalink
        September 2, 2009 12:23 pm

        Thanks, Amy!

  11. Betsy permalink
    September 3, 2009 1:18 am

    Yum, those look great! What a good idea to freeze them individually!

  12. September 5, 2009 9:39 pm

    The oatmeal cookie-apricot cakes look SO yummy. I thought they were whoopie pies at first, but I’m sure they are WAY healthier!

  13. September 8, 2009 1:47 am

    Those look wonderful! I recently bought the same Cuisinart ice cream maker, and my first batch was also an epic fail. I feel your frustration!

Leave a Reply

