Skip to content

Cherry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

January 21, 2008

I use chopped raw almonds in these; you could also use walnuts or pecans. They make a nice carry-along snack for bike rides or picnic lunches (and I’m speaking from personal experience!)

Cherry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie

Adapted from Bon Appetit, February 1998.

Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 cups bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup dried tart cherries
1/2 cup chopped almonds, walnuts or pecans, toasted

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper. Whisk flour, baking soda and salt into medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat butter, sugar and brown sugar in large bowl until well blended. Mix in egg and both extracts. Beat in flour mixture. Mix in oats, then chocolate chips, cherries and almonds.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto baking sheets, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake cookies about 18 minutes. Cool cookies on baking sheets (cookies will firm as they cool).

Makes 2 dozen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2008 7:14 pm

    I had a recipe for Oatmeal cookies I cut out from the oatmeal box. I tried it and it was the best outmeal cookie recipe I have ever had!!! Then I lost it:( And i don;t remember it by heart. What I am looking for is soft cookies. I like your recipe and was wondering if these cookies are soft. Please let me know and I’ll bake them to satisfy my oatmeal-cookie-craving palate:))

  2. May 4, 2008 7:09 pm

    Amy, I couldn’t resist your cookies and I made them today:) Yesterday I made vanishing oatmeal cookies from Quaker Oats and today we wanted oatmeal cookies with chocolate, so I used your recipe. They turned out pretty soft and chewy, the way I like them. Thank you so much for the recipe! I am keeping it!!!

  3. October 23, 2008 12:23 pm

    I made these the other night and they were really good! But they did seem a little crunchy and hard the next day. They’re in an air tight container. Who knows? But they are perfect with milk! I will be making these again!

  4. melissa permalink
    October 2, 2011 1:49 pm

    They were a big hit at the clambake 🙂 I did not have almond extract or cherries, so I just used vanilla and craizens (spelling). Everyone raved. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a comment