Skip to content

White Bean and Roasted Red Pepper Dip

February 25, 2008
appetizers_whitebeanroastedredpepperdip_1_watermark.jpg

I don’t know about you, but for me, 3:00 in the afternoon is when I am 100% ready for a snack. I usually try to have something relatively healthy on hand (lest I raid the freezer and start eating frozen brownies), so it’s easiest if the snack is ready to go; no lengthy prep.

B and I both love hummus, and many times that’s what we’ll snack on, but I get antsy for a change every so often. Variety is the spice of life, no? This is where bean dips come in. One of my favorites is this white bean and roasted red pepper dip: it’s super flavorful, easy to throw together, loaded with fiber, Vitamin C, and Vitamin A — and, it’s a beautiful orange hue. The sweet roasted peppers and the smooth, mild white beans are brightened a bit by the slight background tang of a little balsamic vinegar, and of course it has garlic – what isn’t great with a little garlic?? It’s great as a dip, but would also be really tasty as a spread on sandwiches or crostini.

I like to make a batch on the weekend, then divide it into containers for us to take to work during the week. If I’m really on top of my game, I also cut up a bunch of vegetables and toast some whole wheat pita wedges on the weekend so they’re all ready to go with the dip. Granted, that level of planning ahead doesn’t always happen — but when it does, afternoon snacks are a beautiful thing.

appetizers_whitebeanroastedredpepperdip_2_watermark.jpg

____________________________________________________________

White Bean and Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Adapted from Vegetarian Classics by Jeanne Lemlin

Ingredients
1 can white beans (Great Northern, cannellini, navy, etc.) — drained and rinsed
1/2 cup chopped roasted red peppers (homemade or from a jar, patted dry)
1/2 tsp coarse salt
3/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
2 garlic cloves
2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 tsp balsamic vinegar

Variation: omit the cumin and add in 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil leaves

Directions
Place the drained beans, red peppers, salt, cumin (or basil), paprika, garlic cloves, olive oil, and vinegar in a food processor. Blitz until smooth. Serve as is, or refrigerate until later.

Makes about 1 1/2 cups.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2008 11:28 pm

    I love making hummus and fresh veggies to pack for a snack. It is a perfect pick me up! I love the idea of a red hummus one!

    Also, I tagged you for a meme!

  2. February 26, 2008 10:49 am

    I’m always looking for healthy dips for veggies, and this one sounds perfect!

  3. February 26, 2008 11:01 am

    mmm bean dip and pita bread sounds like a delicious midday snack. I never prep enough during the weekend to take things like this with me, but I should! It sure beats eating yet another granola bar.

  4. sheilarae permalink
    February 26, 2008 1:18 pm

    Should delicious. I passed the site off to a friend of mine that is a big fan of Hummus I am sure she will have to try.

  5. February 26, 2008 1:27 pm

    Oooh, yum! I am a HUGE fan of hummus – and I love how creamy and fresh yours looks!

  6. February 26, 2008 1:44 pm

    Gretchen, enjoy, and thanks for tagging me! I’ll have to think of some interesting tidbits about myself to post…

    Deborah, I’m also always in the mood for a new veggie dip to try. Enjoy!

    Amanda – I’m usually never planning ahead enough to get everything together on the weekend either! But it does help to have stuff ready to grab in the morning during the week, so I do try. 🙂

    sheilarae – hope your friend enjoys it.

    Katie B – the bright orange color is sure an attention-grabber – but it’s tasty, too!

  7. February 26, 2008 10:05 pm

    This looks delicious, pretty and EASY to throw together! Great blog, by the way…

  8. February 27, 2008 9:25 pm

    Thanks, RecipeGirl – I’m glad you like it!

  9. South Beach Success permalink
    July 5, 2010 5:29 pm

    This dip is sooo delicious!!! I’m amazed how rich and flavorful it is.
    This dip is absolutely South Beach Phase 1 legal!!!!

    Thanks for the add…what a great addition to my recipes!!

Leave a comment