Skip to content

Double-Chocolate Pudding

March 13, 2008
desserts_douclechocolatepudding_2.jpg

You know what they say: third time’s a charm!

I had such high hopes for two new dessert recipes that I was trying for the first time this week. Both were for cookies, and both sounded so good (in theory.) Plus, they were from one of my favorite cookbooks (which shall not be named; no need to defame it — I still maintain it’s one of my favorites!) How could they be bad, right?

Unfortunately, they could and they were. Sadly, they didn’t taste as great in reality as I had imagined them in my mind…and the thing is, I just can’t bring myself to post a recipe that I wouldn’t happily devour myself. What’s a girl to do?

And then it occurred to me that I haven’t yet posted one of our all-time favorite, never-fail, pull it out in a pinch desserts: double-chocolate pudding! So, luckily for me and my dessert experiments, the third time was the charm.

This pudding is smooth, deeply chocolate-y, equally good dressed up with some freshly whipped cream and chocolate shavings and/or berries, or eaten as-is, plain-jane, right out of the cup. It comes together quickly enough that you could decide to make it right before cooking dinner and it would be ready for dessert. And who would turn down a cup of super chocolate-y, creamy homemade pudding?

I’ve posted the basic recipe I use below, but I usually play around with different variations: sometimes I substitute peppermint extract for the vanilla to make mint chocolate pudding. I’ve stirred a little instant espresso powder into the milk for a mocha pudding. One time I spooned some dulce de leche into the bottom of the cups and poured the pudding over, so each pudding had a surprise layer of butterscotchy dulce de leche on the bottom.

Best of all, this pudding recipe is rock-solid reliable: I’ve tried all manners of methods for making pudding, from egg-based custards to recipes that call for blending the pudding in a food processor. This one is made all in one pot on the stovetop, no egg-cooking required, and it comes together in about 10 minutes. All you have to do is chill it before serving…and if you’re desperate for some chocolate pudding stat, you can even blast it in the freezer to speed up the chilling.

desserts_douclechocolatepudding_1.jpg

I actually make this so much that I’ve been thinking about keeping the dry ingredients all mixed together in a container, ready to add milk — kind of my own instant pudding mix (but eons better than the kind from a box!)

_____________________________________________________________________

Double-Chocolate Pudding

Adapted from Bon Appetit, March 1996

Ingredients (for 2 servings)
2 tbsp sugar (note: the original recipe had 1/3 cup, but I found that a bit too much for my taste)
2 tbsp good-quality cocoa powder
1 tbsp + 1 tsp cornstarch
1 cup milk (I’ve made the recipe with all kinds – whole, 2%, skim – all work just fine.)

1 ounce chopped chocolate (I like dark, but use whatever you prefer)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
In a medium saucepan, whisk together the sugar, cocoa powder, and cornstarch. Whisk in the milk. Heat over medium heat, whisking continually, until the milk comes to a simmer (don’t let it come to a hard boil.) Once it comes to a simmer and is gently bubbling, keep whisking it for 1 minute longer. The pudding should be quite thick at this point.

Take it off the heat and whisk in the chopped chocolate and vanilla extract. Divide among two cups and cover with plastic wrap before placing in the fridge to chill (if you don’t like skin on your pudding, place the plastic wrap directly on the surface of the pudding.)

Serves 2.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2008 9:17 pm

    Isn’t that trying out desserts till you get it right a little frustrating? I did some of that last week and was thankful that even though they weren’t exactly what I was looking for they were mighty tasty so I enjoyed all the mistakes! This pudding looks lovely, I have fond memories of eating hot chocolate pudding. yum!

  2. March 13, 2008 10:14 pm

    I hate it when new recipes don’t turn out right. You have such high hopes but no luck. At least you can fall back on these yummy custard cups. You said that you used skim milk before, and that is normally the only milk I buy. Was the texture and taste ok? Less creamy than the others?

  3. March 14, 2008 7:45 am

    Yum, hot chocolate pudding sounds tasty, Gretchen Noelle. 🙂

    Amanda, we only buy skim milk too — I guess it’s a tad less creamy when you make it with that, but not enough to be really noticeable, and not enough for me to not want to eat it. 🙂 I normally make these puddings when I have some whole milk left over from another recipe I needed it for…but skim definitely works in a pinch.

  4. March 14, 2008 8:01 am

    It sounds incredibly easy. And it looks decadently delicious!

    The idea of adding dulce de leche got me dreaming!

  5. March 14, 2008 4:32 pm

    Dulce de leche is the stuff of dreams, Patricia…how true. 🙂

  6. Betsy Bradley permalink
    March 14, 2008 9:25 pm

    I just saw your recipe 20 minutes ago and decided to make this for Curtis and I. It did come together in just a few minutes, and it’s now chilling in the freezer. I licked the spatula though, and it’s delicious! Thanks for the great recipe Amy!

  7. March 15, 2008 6:20 am

    Hey Bets! Hope you and Curtis liked it. ! 🙂 I can’t make this without licking the spatula too…mmm.

  8. October 2, 2008 8:54 pm

    LOVE the chocolate pudding!! I am addicted. Thanks for the simple recipe.

  9. Sarah permalink
    October 16, 2009 6:10 am

    Hi! Thanks for posting this lovely recipe… I made it yesterday and it turned out wonderfully! Although I must say I prefer it while it’s still hot rather than after it’s been chilled as that way it’s like a hot chocolate pudding!!

Leave a comment