Skip to content

Ricotta & Herb Stuffed Mushrooms

April 7, 2008

As promised, here’s the first recipe I’ve been making a lot lately with my homemade ricotta. I love a stuffed mushroom, and these are the *best* I’ve ever had: topped with a heavenly mixture of creamy ricotta, grated parmigiano-reggiano, mixed herbs (I’ve been using chives and parsley), lemon zest and some crushed red pepper for a tiny little kick.

The recipe is based on one I found in Jamie’s Italy, which I just added to my collection the other week. I really love Jamie Oliver and his style of cooking, and this cookbook looks to be one I’ll wear out — the book already has a fringe of post-it flags marking “to try” recipes sticking out of the top.

I’ve used his basic formula but increased the quantities a bit for a 10-ounce package of mushrooms, which is what I usually buy in the store. I use brown cremini or baby portobello mushrooms usually as a rule, and have been using parsley and chives as those are the herbs I have around. The original recipe calls for oregano, which I’ll use once ours starts growing again over the summer (basil would be quite good in these, too.)

After you toss the mushrooms with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper, you set them on a baking sheet and pile on the ricotta-herb mixture. You can see the flecks of herbs, lemon zest (I used a Meyer lemon, which is why it’s orange-y), and crushed chili…mmm.

Fifteen minutes later, they’re oozy and creamy and ready to pop in your mouth. We had these as part of our lunch yesterday, and B had to stop me from taking the whole tray of them. 😉

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Ricotta & Herb Stuffed Mushrooms

Adapted from Jamie’s Italy

Ingredients
10 ounces brown mushrooms — such as crimini or baby portobello — brushed off and stems removed
a little olive oil, coarse salt & freshly ground black pepper
1 cup ricotta (homemade or, if using storebought, organic whole milk ricotta such as Organic Valley)
a good handful of grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese, plus extra for sprinkling on top
about 2 tablespoons chopped fresh herbs — such as parsley, chives, oregano or basil
a dash of crushed red pepper (or 1 small chili pepper, crumbled)
zest of 1 lemon

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Remove the stems of the mushrooms. Toss the mushroom caps with a little olive oil, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Turn them out onto a large baking sheet and flip them so they’re gill side up.

In a small bowl, combine the ricotta, crushed red pepper, lemon zest, and a good pinch of coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper. Stir well to combine, then stir in the grated parmigiano-reggiano and herbs. Taste, and adjust the salt & pepper if needed.

Using a spoon (or your fingers), carefully divide the ricotta mixture among the mushroom caps. Sprinkle them with a little additional grated parmigiano-reggiano, and slide the sheet into the oven. Bake for 15 minutes, until golden.

Serves 2.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 3:41 pm

    These look fantastic. I have been thinking about making cheese for months and just havent gotten around to it. I think I will do it this weekend – even if I don’t, I do have some storebought in the fridge I could use for this. Thanks

  2. Lynne permalink
    April 7, 2008 5:10 pm

    These look absolutely amazing and so easy to do! Thanks for a great idea for using ricotta. Your pictures are gorgeous and make things look so delicious!!

  3. April 7, 2008 6:46 pm

    I love stuffed mushrooms, too, and I usually stuff them with whatever is available in my fridge, but with the cheese as a necessary ingredient:) ricotta recipe sounds delicious too. worth a try. thanks for sharing! viva mushrooms:)

  4. April 7, 2008 6:56 pm

    Sounds great. I have some mushrooms but they are supposedly for something else. But who knows, I may be swayed…

  5. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    April 7, 2008 8:37 pm

    Beautiful! I thought I had already found the best stuffed mushrooms ever, but I (like Gretchen) could be swayed! You are doing a very good job of convincing me that I should develop a homemade-ricotta-making hobby too.

  6. April 8, 2008 4:09 am

    Hi Amy!
    I have awarded you with the E award! Check out my post, and click on the award to get the badge! 🙂

  7. April 8, 2008 7:29 am

    These look absolutely delicious! Portabella mushrooms are by far my favourite mushroom, they are so versatile, and good for you. Thanks for the great recipe!

  8. April 8, 2008 9:41 am

    You are killing me! I love mushrooms and again with the homemade cheese! These look so delicious! Oh, and I am so jealous about that book, I’ve been eyeing it for some time now! 🙂

  9. April 8, 2008 10:27 am

    I do a variety of stuffed mushrooms, but I don’t think I’ve ever stuffed them with ricotta. Great idea!

  10. April 8, 2008 12:43 pm

    I have that cookbook and I’ve never made anything from it. I sort of just like to look at Jamie Oliver…Those mushrooms would last all of 5 minutes in my house though. Ricotta is a great cheese choice since it’s relatively thick. I always have a hard time with my stuffed mushrooms being very wet when they come out of the oven i.e sitting in a pool of water. Any thoughts on how I remedy that? It’s not like it stops me from eating them or anything 😉

  11. April 8, 2008 7:17 pm

    Oh God, I love stuffed mushrooms! I just have to try these. Hopefully the filling would actually make it to the mushrooms. I can sit there and eat it right out of the bowl, hehe.

  12. carla permalink
    May 6, 2008 11:39 am

    Fabulous! I just made these, and they are not soupy at all… actually, I’m eating them as we speak! I also made a few with red pepper, rosemary and thyme and they turned out great as well. A keeper.

  13. June 15, 2010 1:55 am

    Ricotta is one of my favorite cheeses. I make a ricotta stuffed very small baby peppers but never tried stuffing mushrooms. They look like you just want to pop one into your mouth. Thanks for the recipe.

  14. Janinne permalink
    July 30, 2011 7:28 am

    I’ve done these also and they’re a fantastic starter. I used large portobello mushrooms and just served them on a bed of lightly dressed rocket. TIP: chop up one of the large mushrooms (or any spare small ones you have around) and saute them in a little butter, add a touch of s&p, then add this into the ricotta mixture. This subtly enhances the flavour of mushrooms throughout the dish. Yum! 🙂

  15. Janinne permalink
    July 30, 2011 7:30 am

    p.s One large portobello mushroom is more than enough per person for a starter, these are quite rich! 🙂

Leave a comment