Skip to content

Soft Scrambled Eggs with Fresh Ricotta & Chives (and an E award!)

April 9, 2008

Another ricotta dish! Are you ready?

This one comes from the April issue of Bon Appetit. What’s interesting to me is that I stir chives into scrambled eggs quite often, but never thought to add a little creamy ricotta — more often I do goat cheese, but the ricotta is a great addition. A lovely spring morning breakfast…and spring it was this past weekend when I made these eggs (we really did have “eggs on sunday!”) The temperature got up to a balmy 59 degrees. Yahoo! All you tropical climate-dwellers, don’t laugh: after a long winter in upstate New York, 59 degrees F feels like t-shirt and shorts weather. Almost.

The nice warmer weather has lasted for the past few days, too, which makes me feel like kicking up my heels and dancing a little jig outside. The birds are singing, the light is different, tulip bulbs are peeking up out of the ground, and I don’t have to wear fleece pants and a wool hat when I go outside for a walk. That alone is reason to celebrate!

And if that wasn’t enough, I had the nicest surprise yesterday: Chriesi from Almond Corner awarded me an “Excellent” award! Wow!! Thanks, Chriesi! You made my day. I’m just so (pleasantly) surprised that people seem to read and like what I write about, and I’m continually amazed at how supportive the food blogging community is. I’m having a blast!

Off to dance my little spring jig. 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________

Soft Scrambled Eggs with Fresh Ricotta and Chives

From Bon Appetit, April 2008

Ingredients
4 large eggs (preferably organic)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh chives
1/4 tsp coarse salt
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 cup fresh ricotta cheese

Directions
Whisk eggs, chopped chives, and salt together in bowl.

Heat the butter over medium heat in a medium nonstick skillet. When it’s melted and the foam has subsided, add the eggs. Stir with a silicone spatula until the eggs are almost cooked but still runny in parts, tilting the skillet and stirring with the spatula to allow the uncooked eggs to flow underneath. This takes about 2 minutes. When the eggs are almost set, add the ricotta and stir gently until incorporated (but you can still see some little clumps.)

Divide the scrambled eggs between 2 plates.

Serves 2.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    April 9, 2008 7:55 am

    Yum! I usually opt for omelets over scrambled eggs, but with fresh ricotta and chives I could be persuaded … And they’re so pretty!

  2. April 9, 2008 8:30 am

    i hear you loud and clear. i walked out of the office yesterday and thought, “man, it’s hot out here.” turns out it was 55 degrees.
    i am SO ready for spring. 🙂

  3. April 9, 2008 8:43 am

    That homemade ricotta is certainly a wonderful ingredient. And what a delicious way to use it!

  4. April 9, 2008 1:52 pm

    I just love scrambled eggs, so versatile. And you’re tempting me again with that ricotta! Congratulations on the award!

  5. April 9, 2008 6:04 pm

    Oh, I love creamy scrambled eggs. I did something similar not too long ago with cream cheese in place of the ricotta. Yum!

  6. carolina permalink
    April 9, 2008 6:20 pm

    looks yummy and congrats on your “E”!!

  7. April 9, 2008 9:06 pm

    Nice combo…eggs and ricotta…yum! Congrats on the award. Definitely deserved!

  8. Lynne permalink
    April 9, 2008 9:13 pm

    The eggs look delicious and now I will definitely have to make some ricotta! Congratulations on your award! You have a wonderful blog!

  9. April 10, 2008 6:56 am

    Oh man, now I wish I had some for breakfast right now. I’m starving!

    I know what you mean about “spring” weather, hehe. Pretty good today already–it’s 7:54 am and we’re at 49 already! It’s like a heatwave! 😉

    Oh, and congrats on your Excellence Award! woohoo!!!

  10. April 10, 2008 9:21 am

    Welcome;) I love your blog!
    Mmm these eggs look yummy!

  11. April 10, 2008 11:45 pm

    this is a great way to start your morning! nice recipe! and yes, you deserve the E award – you have a great blog!

Leave a comment