Skip to content

Strawberry Cinnamon Sugar Muffins

April 13, 2008

I’m slowly emerging out of lemon territory now that berries are starting to show up in our market. Organic strawberries are finally arriving (yay!!) and it’s so nice to have a new fruit to play with in the kitchen (the Ithaca Farmer’s market started last weekend, and while I am thrilled to have it back, selection at the moment includes potatoes, more root vegetables, and some herbs. Delicious, no doubt, but nothing muffin-worthy fruit-wise yet.) When I saw the strawberries, I knew that I would make these muffins — they’ve been a long time coming.

I’ve been thinking about them ever since I posted about the oatmeal cinnamon breakfast bread, and waxed poetic about how my mom used to make all kinds of muffins growing up. It got me to thinking: of all the kinds that she made, one of my favorites was a strawberry muffin that had cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. It only made one or two appearances; pumpkin and zucchini were more our standbys (and that was fine by me) — but I haven’t ever forgotten those strawberry muffins. The way the strawberries just melted in your mouth, and the gentle crunchy tickle of the cinnamon sugar on top…they are a great taste memory of mine. I was telling B about them the other day and decided I’d try to recreate them for us, and for my mom too.

I used the basic muffin recipe in the Joy of Cooking, tweaking it to use buttermilk for the liquid, adding some cinnamon to the batter, and using half white whole wheat flour (I know, I know, I just can’t resist that substitution sometimes!) I also rubbed the zest of a lemon into the sugar, just because I love lemon and strawberry together.

After folding in some diced strawberries, I used my dough scoop to fill my cheery little silicone muffin cups…these were a gift from a friend, and every time I see them I think to myself “I really need to make muffins/cupcakes more often.” Nothing like a little color in the morning to wake you up before you’ve had your coffee!

After sprinkling a little cinnamon sugar on top, into the oven they went.

And about 20 minutes later, we had beautifully puffed, tasty strawberry cinnamon sugar muffins. I sent this recipe along to my mom, so I hope she enjoys them as much as we did!

And — you probably won’t be surprised to see this — I spooned some lemon curd on mine. 🙂

I’m also sending these muffins (well, not literally) over to Michelle for this month’s Snackshots event — the theme is muffins! Yum!

________________________________________________________________________________

Strawberry Cinnamon Sugar Muffins

If you don’t have buttermilk, you can use milk or yogurt. If you’re using milk, omit the baking soda (keep the baking soda if you’re using yogurt.)

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour (can substitute up to 1 cup white whole wheat flour, or whole grain pastry flour)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2/3 cup sugar
zest of 1 lemon
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 cup diced strawberries

cinnamon sugar, for sprinkling on top

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a muffin tin with paper liners or silicone muffin cups.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ground nutmeg, and ground cinnamon.

In a separate large bowl, use your fingers to rub together the lemon zest and sugar until the sugar is moistened and fragrant. Add the eggs, buttermilk and vanilla and whisk together until blended. Add the melted butter and whisk until thoroughly combined.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and fold together with a rubber spatula. Add the diced strawberries and fold in, just until distributed.

Spoon the muffin batter into the muffin cups. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top of each, then bake for 15-18 minutes, until the tops are golden brown and spring back when lightly pressed with your finger.

Makes 12 muffins.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2008 9:37 am

    Having a cornmeal muffin while reading this. Want to share?
    Looks like a good recipe, and I have tons of strawberries around. Thanks-

  2. April 13, 2008 10:26 am

    Ok, we just finished crepes for Sunday breakfast, which is always a treat for me…but now I feel ripped off! I want one of those, now! And oh. my. gosh. I NEED those muffin cups. Neeeed them.

  3. Lynne permalink
    April 13, 2008 10:30 am

    These look so pretty and I just love the cinnamon sugar topping! I love your idea of incorporating whole grains into the recipe. This would be delicious anytime of day!

  4. April 13, 2008 11:58 am

    I was just thinking of making some muffins this week, so I’ll have to keep the event in mind.

    These look YUMMY. And I love the bright muffin cups!

  5. April 13, 2008 2:19 pm

    LOVE it. I’m always on a quest for more interesting flavors in muffins (so tired of the usual blueberry, apple, etc). This sounds wonderful, and I too, love lemon zest and strawberry together. In fact, try a nice healthy dollop of your lemon curd on top of diced strawberries, strawberry pie or strawberry yogurt. Delish.

  6. Carrie permalink
    April 13, 2008 2:41 pm

    Just made these for afternoon snack with the lemon curd! YUM. Nick loves lemon, so he’s in heaven! I love your blog… wish I had your time. I do some of your recipes here and there… you test it for me, so I know it is good! Until I have time for my own, I will live through your blog! Many of your thoughts are swirling in my head also… like the lovely fruit tarts! Keep it coming, so you keep my cooking thoughts going, while I attempt to raise two kids (soon) and keep a hand in the kitchen also! HA!
    BTW- I have trouble with my silicone muffin liners releasing… you? Do you spray them at all?

  7. bakingblonde permalink
    April 13, 2008 4:58 pm

    Those look so yummy! I love strawberries!

  8. April 13, 2008 5:25 pm

    Yummm, these look delicious. I think I might make some tonight after my roast comes out of the oven.

  9. April 13, 2008 9:18 pm

    Wonderful!

  10. April 14, 2008 9:27 am

    I’m really digging those bright silicone muffin cups! I assume they’re working well for you. I had some silicone bakeware but eventually it stopped being non-stick so I tossed it 😦

    Nice muffins!

  11. April 14, 2008 9:59 am

    I love the addition of lemon zest to these, what a great compliment to the strawberries! I bet they were delicious!

  12. April 14, 2008 1:42 pm

    These look incredible… I bet the lemon curd addition just made them perfect!!

  13. April 15, 2008 9:14 am

    you have left a favorite of mine (lemons) to go to another one (cinnamon) 🙂
    These are yummy muffins!

  14. April in CT permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:27 pm

    I made a version of these tonight and they’re so yummy. I didn’t have any lemon zest so I left that out & used half whole wheat flour in mine. I was in such a hurry to get them into the oven I forgot the cinnamon sugar for the top!! They’re quite tasty as is though and will be good for breakfast in the morning. Thanks!

  15. May 8, 2008 8:22 am

    I’ve never had fresh fruit in muffins, but these look irresistable. Thanks for participating in SnackShots and don’t forget to check out the roundup!

  16. melissa permalink
    June 16, 2008 4:13 pm

    just made them!! they are really yum!..subsituted the buttermilk for vanilla yogurt, and about a 1/2 ts of vanilla extract. (using what i have in the house!)

    Thanks for the recipe!

  17. June 18, 2008 6:07 pm

    These were really good! I followed the recipe exactly – it was easy and much tastier than anything out of a box. Your pictures also inspired me to finally get silicone muffin cups. My batter made 16 muffins, not 12, so I just pulled out 4 of the cups and baked the alongside the pan.

  18. April 10, 2009 10:05 pm

    These sound delicious! I love the rainbow colored muffin wrappers! I will be bookmarking this to make soon!

    Thanks for sharing!

  19. Ruth permalink
    April 14, 2009 10:22 am

    Thanks so much for this recipe. They were delicious!!

  20. cynthia permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:34 pm

    i just wanted to share that i made the recipe with blueberries and they came out DELICIOUS! i’m making them again tonight w/strawberries and i can’t wait! thank you for sharing 🙂

  21. May 17, 2009 8:56 pm

    Great recipe! I made them today (without the spices, and with orange instead of lemon, because we’d just OD’d on cinnamon) and they came out perfectly. Thanks so much!

  22. Ryan McLeod permalink
    June 3, 2009 6:15 pm

    Just made these! Doubled the recipe and used way to many strawberries 😛
    Thanks!

Leave a comment