Skip to content

Strawberry Stracciatella Ice Cream

June 4, 2008

During my freshman year in college, I had a friend who was adamant that chocolate and fruit should not mix in ice-cream based desserts. Crazy, I know. And so just to tease this person, when we would get dessert in the dining hall I would often make myself a sundae with chocolate ice cream and strawberry sauce, or strawberry ice cream with chocolate sauce, and revel in every bit of chocolatey, fruity deliciousness. Everyone knows chocolate and strawberry in any form is a perfect combination, right? Right.

I planned to make strawberry ice cream earlier this week with some of the gorgeous and sweet organic strawberries stacked up in my fridge. Specifically, I was going to try the strawberry sour cream ice cream from The Perfect Scoop.

Halfway through making the recipe, I realized that the sour cream I thought I had on the top shelf of my fridge was – surprise! – not there. Whoops. Lucky for me I keep a supply of at least 3 containers of Fage yogurt in the fridge at all times, and I figured the tang of the yogurt would be kind of similar to the tang of sour cream.

The idea to add the stracciatella — which is basically melted chocolate, drizzled into the ice cream at the very last minute while it’s churning so it creates streaks and chips and flakes of chocolate — was a last minute light-bulb moment, and yum yum, it turned out to be quite tasty. When the melted chocolate hits the cold ice cream, it solidifies, and if you keep drizzling it slowly and mixing as you go, the end result is a thoroughly chocolate-studded and streaked ice cream. You get some bits of chocolate in every bite.

Besides the chips and chunks and streaks of chocolate, the strawberry flavor is clean and sweet…and the color! Pretty, brilliant bubble-gum pink. Gorgeous and tasty!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Strawberry Stracciatella Ice Cream

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

Ingredients
1 pound strawberries
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon kirsch or vodka (optional)
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

5 ounces chocolate, melted

Directions

Wash and slice the strawberries. Place them in a large bowl with the sugar and kirsch or vodka (if using.) Give them a stir until the sugar begins to dissolve, then let them sit at room temperature for 1 hour, giving them an occasional gentle stir.

After they’ve macerated for 1 hour, place them in the bowl of a food processor or blender with the accumulated juices. Add the heavy cream, yogurt and lemon juice. Blend until smooth, about 1 minute. Chill this mixture in the fridge for at least 1 hour.

Churn the mixture in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions. When the ice cream is getting close to being done, melt the chocolate either via double boiler method or in the microwave (I used the microwave, melting the chocolate in a Pyrex liquid measuring cup in 30 second intervals on 50% power, stirring after each time.) When the ice cream is just about finished churning, while the motor is still running, slowly drizzle the melted chocolate into the ice cream in a thin stream. Try not to hit the machine’s paddle. I found it easiest to drizzle a little chocolate in, then use a spoon to swirl it around while it’s churning. If you find the chocolate begins to clump up, you can drizzle it in layers when you pack the ice cream into its storage container, swirling it with a spoon as you go.

Transfer the churned ice cream to a storage container, and freeze.

Makes about 1 1/4 quarts.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    June 4, 2008 6:02 am

    So, let’s see. Yogurt? Strawberries? Chocolate? Ice Cream? I am sold. Looks delicious!

  2. June 4, 2008 7:38 am

    I love the idea of using yogurt. And those speckles of chocolate are insanely good!

  3. June 4, 2008 8:25 am

    This looks amazing! May I ask what kind of ice cream maker you use? I was dying for ice cream last night but didn’t want to buy the pasteurized dairy kind in the store. I started researching different ice cream maker models, but it’s hard to decide! Do I *really* have to spend $300 for a good one? If so, I’ll save up, but I want to be sure it’s necessary. Are you happy with yours? Pros? Cons? Thank you!

  4. June 4, 2008 9:14 am

    You’re really making me miss my ice cream maker!

  5. June 4, 2008 9:24 am

    Chocolate and strawberries definitely have their place in ice cream. Your pics prove it! Looks delicious!

  6. June 4, 2008 7:47 pm

    Looks good and strawberry is my favorite. I just got David’s book and an ice cream maker. I am so getting into trouble with this one. But it is worth it.

  7. June 4, 2008 9:11 pm

    That sounds wonderful! My ice cream machine has been on overdrive lately and this will be one more recipe to add to my try pile!

  8. June 5, 2008 12:26 am

    You’re making me jealous! I wish I had some of that in my freezer right about now…it looks delicious!

  9. June 5, 2008 1:27 am

    That looks absolutely gorgeous. Strawberries and chocolate most definitely go together 🙂 Love the idea of drizzling melted chocolate into it!

  10. June 5, 2008 7:30 am

    Kristin – it’s a great combination of ingredients!

    Thanks, Patricia!

    Alison – I use the Cuisinart ice cream maker, which is usually around $50. It works just fine for us — the only drawback is you have to store the freezing bowl in the freezer for at least 24 hours (I usually err on the side of 48 hours) before it’s ready to use; if you store it in the freezer like we do, it’s not that big of a deal. And, you can buy additional bowls so you can make back-to-back batches. Would I like one of those super-duper fancy ice cream makers? Sure 🙂 — but for now, the Cuisinart really works just fine.

    croquecamille – I don’t know what I’d do without one…

    Thanks, LyB!

    Kim – wow, like Christmas in June! Enjoy both — I’m sure you’ll put them to good use this summer!

    brilynn — enjoy! 🙂

    Thanks, My Sweet & Saucy!

    Laura –thanks!

  11. June 5, 2008 9:22 pm

    Strawberry and chocolate ice cream sounds great!

  12. pennythoughts permalink
    June 5, 2008 10:59 pm

    Thanks for responding, Amy! I’m so glad to know that you can make good ice cream with a relatively inexpensive machine. I was so encouraged, in fact, that I went out and bought an ice cream maker this very evening. After much wringing of hands, I decided on the Kitchen Aid mixer attachment over the Cuisinart. The prices were fairly close, and this will be easier for me to store. Since I’ll keep the bowl in the freezer all the time, I won’t have another piece of equipment to store somewhere like I would with the Cuisinart. I’ve got my fingers crossed, hoping everything turns out alright this weekend when I give it a little spin. 🙂

  13. keepingnote permalink
    June 6, 2008 1:46 am

    I’ve always wanted to try to make Ice cream and it’s be fun to get creative to make your own. (btw great combination of flavors you chose!) I’m bookmarking this blog!

Leave a comment