Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Cookie-Topped Brownies (yes, you read that right)

June 6, 2008

How would you answer this question, my fellow dessert lovers?

If you had to choose between a chocolate chip cookie and a brownie, what would you choose?

  1. Chocolate chip cookie, all the way.
  2. Do not underestimate the power of the Dark Side: dark, fudgy brownies, that is.
  3. Why choose? If two desserts are good by themselves, they are (almost always) better when combined together, right????*

If you answered (3), then — ding ding ding! — you’re RIGHT! At least as far as this dessert goes. 🙂 These doubly-decadent bars are another case of Dorie outdoing herself in BFMHTY: dark chocolatey brownies topped with a layer of chocolate chip cookie. How could they not be good??!?

It was my brother’s birthday yesterday (happy birthday, bro!) and I packaged some of these up to send to him along with some other gifts…knowing how much he loves both chocolate chip cookies and brownies, I was hoping it would be dessert overload (in a good way) for him!

*I think this principle really does apply, at least when chocolate is involved. I can’t at the moment think of any dessert that wouldn’t be good paired with chocolate…can you??

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Chocolate Chip Cookie-Topped Brownies

Printable Recipe

From Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan, where they are called “Chipster-Topped Brownies.”

These end up being pretty thick in the pan, and I found I needed to keep watching them as they got close to being done, so that I didn’t overbake them (I actually think I did overbake them just a bit.) And, as with most brownies, these are really so much easier to cut into clean squares when they’re cold, so if you can restrain yourself, it helps to let them cool down on a rack, then finish chilling in the fridge before you cut into them.

Ingredients

For the brownie layer
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, cut into chunks
1 2/3 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

For the cookie layer
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 sticks (12 tbsp) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cups (packed) light brown sugar
2/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or 1 cup storebought chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 9×13 inch baking pan with aluminum foil or parchment (use enough so that it comes up and over the sides), and butter the foil/parchment.

To make the brownie batter, melt both chocolates and the butter together in a bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water, stirring occasionally. Melt and stir just until the mixture is shiny and smooth, then remove the bowl from the heat and set aside.

Meanwhile, beat the sugar and eggs together in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or using a hand mixer) on medium high speed for about 2 minutes, until pale, thick and creamy. Beat in the salt and vanilla, then reduce the speed to low and mix in the melted chocolate and butter, mixing just until incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and then add the flour, mixing on low speed just until it disappears into the batter. Turn off the mixer and fold in the chopped walnuts by hand with a spatula, then scrape the batter out into the prepared pan and smooth the top with a spatula. Set aside.

To make the cookie dough, first whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl, and set aside. Wash the bowl of your stand mixer (that you used to make the brownie batter), and then beat the butter and both sugars together using the paddle attachment on medium-high speed until smooth and creamy, about 3 minutes. One at a time, add the egg and the egg yolk, beating for 1 minute after each addition. Beat in the vanilla, then reduce the speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing only until they disappear into the batter. Still on low, mix in the chopped chocolate.

Drop the cookie dough by spoonfuls onto the brownie batter, then use a spatula to gently smooth out the cookie dough layer evenly over the batter.

Bake for 50-55 minutes, until the cookie top is deep golden brown and a sharp knife inserted into the pan comes out with only faint streaks of moist chocolate.

Transfer the pan to a cooling rack to cool, then when you’re ready to cut them, just lift them out using the foil/parchment that you lined the pan with. It’s easiest to cut these when they’re cool/cold, if you can wait that long. 🙂

Makes 24 bars.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2008 5:43 am

    They look delicous, and you are such a nice sister. I forgot you weren’t doing the pizza thing, which I so enjoyed. But you made up for it with this decadant dessert. Yum!

  2. June 6, 2008 7:53 am

    I love the package you sent your brother, very cute, and thoughtful. And I agree 100%, what dessert wouldn’t be good with even more chocolate, and butter, and sugar… 😉

  3. June 6, 2008 10:01 am

    Oh my gosh. I want a gift like that! And no, there’s nothing in this world that couldn’t be made better with chocolate. Not one thing.

  4. June 6, 2008 10:23 am

    Do you know that I’ve purposely stayed away from this recipe because it is utterly dangerous to my health!!! Combining the two greatest things in the world?! Oh my. That is just asking for trouble.

  5. June 6, 2008 4:23 pm

    I loved these bars when I made them, I just couldn’t stop eating them!

  6. June 8, 2008 12:14 am

    I’ll have to make these. Looks delicious.

  7. June 8, 2008 8:23 am

    What a yummy idea. I personally like chocolate chip cookie dough more than the cookies themselves 🙂

  8. Jaishree permalink
    June 10, 2008 8:02 am

    I loved these brownies-i am quite the brownie obssessed baker but these were so gooood!

  9. June 16, 2008 8:02 am

    Wow. I can see your blog will be a dangerous place for me to visit. I’ve already made the strawberry stracciatella ice cream and I’ve always wanted to make a bar cookie with brownie and ccc. And too funny – I made little strawberry shortcakes last night but before seeing your post about the shortcakes with chocolate chunks or I might have been tempted to try that too. Great blog and lovely photos. 🙂

  10. June 16, 2008 8:35 am

    These were awesome. Exactly what you would expect from a chocolate chip topped brownie. Chocolate Heaven. Thanks so much for the recipe. I posted the recipe on my blog. Thanks for the blog as well. I’m a regular reader and I really enjoy it.

  11. Daralyn permalink
    July 19, 2008 6:01 pm

    I just happend to find your blog… and soooo glad I did! I can’t wait to make this recipe… I too love the idea of combining brownies and chocolate chip cookies. (Also LOVE the combo of chocolate and coffee.)
    Question… love the way your photographs turn out of the food you make… what kind of camera do you have? (Any tips?)
    Thanks… keep blogging.

  12. Amy permalink
    October 17, 2008 1:32 pm

    wow! made these last night and all i can say is ‘wow’. surely a decadent treat, but the perfect blend of chocolate and cookie and i’m trying to figure out how it took so long for someone to think of this! genius, and not too hard or labor intensive!

  13. jen permalink
    November 20, 2008 7:02 pm

    I Love, Love Love this recipe, i thought it was so clever. I brought them to a party and everyoine thought i was genius… Until i went to the supermarket the other day and saw that they already came up with this, i was so dissapointed! Homemade is always better though!

  14. Andrea permalink
    March 3, 2009 7:35 pm

    I made these last night & it was alot of fun, I was so excited to see how they were going to turn out for me. They turned out AMAZING. I for sure saved this & will make them often 🙂
    Thanks!
    -Andrea

  15. Paige permalink
    September 9, 2009 6:13 am

    I loved the idea of these two delicious desserts in one. Everyone absolutely loved them for the barbecue I made them for. However, I was dissappointed in how they looked, it looked like a brownie. It wasn’t like the picture and the top was cracking. Any advice on what to do next time and how I can smooth over the chocolate chip cookie dough without making a mess?

    • September 9, 2009 8:04 am

      Paige – try wetting a spatula before smoothing the drops of cookie dough over the brownie batter; gentle coaxing and a wet spatula do the trick for me.

  16. cheri permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:11 pm

    I have been making these for the past 5 yrs for christmas. My family loves them. But my recipe is tweaked just a little.

  17. December 23, 2010 4:02 pm

    Not to burst anyones bubble but, I was in public deciding wether i wanted brownies or cookies and then i stumbled apon a cookie-brownie. I have not figured out the whole recpie but I think I like it better if you mix bot batters together instead of layers. They were delisiose

  18. October 19, 2011 5:48 pm

    I’ve tried to make these twice now, and both times, they look absolutely amazing! But, when I take them out of the oven, the cookie dough beneath the golden browned crust is liquid. Any suggestions on where I’m going wrong?

  19. November 24, 2011 2:53 pm

    Very cute! Someone was passing them out during a homecoming king and queen campaign and they were delicious! I think I’ll make these for my best friend. Her grandmother just died so I hope these will make her feel better!

  20. ashley permalink
    February 6, 2013 9:36 pm

    OMG THOSE LOOK SO DELICIOUS!! I WONDER ID I COULD MAKE THOSE USING BOXED BROWNIE MIX..??? IM SO SCARED OF BURNING THE CHOCOLATE

Leave a comment