Skip to content

Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Bars (+ 3 other Halloween treats!!)

October 27, 2008

I like many aspects of Halloween – dressing up, candy, memories of trick-or-treating in the crisp fall air, pumpkin carving! – but I don’t particularly enjoy the “scary” aspect of it. I’ve never been a fan of horror movies, and I have permanent bad memories of trick-or-treating at one house on the street where I grew up…the owners piped scary music out the windows and would hide and jump out to scare unsuspecting little trick-or-treaters. Bad!

But I *do* love Halloween goodies! And today, I have not only one super delicious recipe, but three additional recipes (click on the links or pictures) brought to you by three of my favorite food bloggers – Kristin from The Kitchen Sink, Sue Bette from Feelgood Eats, and Tiffany from The Garden Apartment!

Kristin’s Pumpkin Cookies

Tiffany’s Bewitched Apples

Sue’s Butternut Squash Cupcakes

Hubba hubba! I’d like a plate with each of those right now!

I’m going to try making each of those recipes, but in the meantime, I have some of these pumpkin bars to snack on. They’re a must-make recipe for me every fall, and they’re a hit with everyone that tries them. The original recipe was from the Moosewood Book of Desserts, made with walnuts…and while I do make a raisin and walnut variation, my favorite way to eat these is with dark chocolate chunks. I happen to think that pumpkin and chocolate is an oft-overlooked but unbelievably delicious combination. Don’t you agree?

Be sure to trick-or-treat at Kristin’s, Sue’s and Tiffany’s blogs for more Halloween goodies!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Bars

Adapted from Moosewood Book of Desserts

View printable recipe

Ingredients
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup cooked pumpkin puree
1 cup all-purpose unbleached white flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
4 ounces bittersweet/dark chocolate, chopped into chunks

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter an 8×8-inch baking pan and dust it with flour.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flour through allspice) and set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and brown sugar until creamy and light. Add the egg and vanilla extract, and mix until incorporated. Turn down the speed, add the pumpkin puree, and continue mixing until well distributed. Add the dry ingredients gradually, on low speed, stirring until just combined. Add the chocolate chunks and mix on low speed just until they’re distributed throughout the batter.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan, smooth the top, and bake for about 40 minutes. Cool before cutting.

Makes 9 generously-sized squares.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2008 8:19 pm

    Trick-or-Treat! These bars look delicious. I have a feeling your fall staple is about to become one of my new fall staples too …

  2. October 27, 2008 9:12 pm

    Mmmm, I could go for those bars, easily. I looooove pumpkin (and chocolate will mean Jeremy will try them too). Thanks for the recipe!

  3. October 27, 2008 9:15 pm

    These look delicious- yummy! Happy Halloween!

  4. October 27, 2008 9:33 pm

    yes yes, pumpkin and chocolate is amazing!!! i just made some pumpkin cookies with pb-choc chips that were all too tasty 🙂

  5. October 28, 2008 4:47 am

    Love the Moosewood series – great cookbooks that always leave a little room for improvisation.
    I am a pumpkin fan and have to agree that it is a great pairing with chocolate. Love the pics!

  6. October 28, 2008 7:41 am

    I have this huge pumpkin I’m going to roast. Now I know what to make with some of the puree! Looks fabulous!

  7. October 28, 2008 9:57 am

    Amy, you kill me! Maybe I’ll try these with a gluten-free flour mix. I have a party to go to this Friday night, and I’m sure the hosts are worried about having something I can eat. I’ll call them and say I’m bringing it. 🙂

  8. October 28, 2008 11:53 pm

    i just came across your blog and love it! these bars look amazing!!

  9. Carrie permalink
    October 30, 2008 6:46 am

    Hi Amy-
    Got snow? 🙂
    Nick requests this combo this time of year. I’ll have to find some time to make them. I like that they are bars, much faster than cookies! My mom made them for her kiddos at school and they were a hit.
    Carrie

  10. October 31, 2008 10:39 am

    I do agree that chocolate and pumpkin really love one another. These look amazingly good, and I haven’t made any bars in ages. They’re on the list!

  11. catms916 permalink
    October 31, 2008 1:49 pm

    Pumpkin choco-chip?? Oh how I wish I could grab that right out of the internet and eat it!!!

  12. November 9, 2008 10:02 am

    Kristin, Jen, Tiffany – thanks, and hope you all enjoy the recipe! 🙂

    ttfn300 – ooh, that sounds like a delicious combo.

    sue bette – agreed; I’ve used the Moosewood recipes as a jumping off point for many adaptations…they’re great inspiration for vegetarian dishes!

    LyB – yum! What a treat to have a great big pumpkin to roast. Hope you made some yummy things with your puree!

    Alison – awesome! Hope this worked out for you using the GF baking mix.

    ash – thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Carrie – yay! so glad your mom liked them, and hope you guys do too!

    Andrea – enjoy!

    catms916 – don’t you wish blogs had “taste-vision?”

  13. November 11, 2008 9:34 pm

    If you have not made these yet you are lame……this is a fabulous recipe. I did alter the ingredients just a tad bit as I was looking to make them as sugar free as possible for my mom who is diabetic. Changed the brown sugar to splenda and sugar free maple syrup. Used 1/2 oat flour and 1/2 whole wheat and used chips instead of chunks…….Scrumptious!

  14. Nancy permalink
    October 11, 2009 7:18 am

    Have you eaten at the Moosewood restaurant? I went to college near there in the late 70’s and the food was fabulous! Wished I still lived near Ithaca for that.

  15. November 13, 2010 9:24 am

    What a wonderful sounding recipe! Have you ever tried doubling the recipe and baking it in a larger pan? Suggestions? (because I just don’t think 9 is enough!)

    • November 13, 2010 9:31 am

      Marlene: yes, I’ve doubled it and baked in a 9×13 pan…the bars are a little thicker so just adjust baking time accordingly!

Leave a comment