Skip to content

Raspberry Chocolate Tea Scones

February 12, 2011

During high school and on my trips home during college, my Mom and I would often visit a cafe in town for coffee and scones. They had great sandwiches and other food, but we always gravitated to the scones — I actually think it was probably my first exposure to scones, and from then on I’ve been hooked. Their blueberry and raspberry scones were really amazing; light and biscuit-like, using fresh fruit instead of dried, they are still the scone that I aspire to when I bake them for us (we’re currently doing “Sunday Scones” to satisfy our cravings.)

But scones with fresh fruit are a tricky goal: the fruit’s juiciness can increase the moisture content enough to render any plump scone to which you aspire into a spreading, flat pancake. (I’m speaking from experience here; can you tell?) Drier fruits like apples and pears seem to do well, but the few times I’ve experimented with fresh blueberries, the results have looked and tasted more like squashed muffins than the flaky, biscuit-y scones I imagined.

So as I was brainstorming recipes to make for Valentine’s Day breakfast, I kept thinking about doing a scone with splashes of red or pink. I’ve already done a scone with dried cherries, but what I really wanted was a raspberry scone. And I started thinking — what if I chopped up frozen raspberries? The smaller bits of fruit might not give the big pockets of wetness that were my nemesis in prior versions. I had a bag of plump ruby fruits from my friend Emily’s raspberry patch, picked this fall, waiting to be put to good use in our chest freezer. Because raspberries and chocolate go so well together, I couldn’t resist throwing in some mini chocolate chips (though I think I might have liked them even more with chunks chopped from a bittersweet bar.)

As they baked, I held my breath and stared into the oven window, waiting for the inevitable meltdown and squish. But no! These were just as I had imagined! So tender, flaky, with little pops of raspberry and smooth melted chocolate. Don’t you love getting a kitchen “win?”

I call them “tea scones” because they’re a bit smaller than the large wedges you see in some coffeeshops – more dainty, delicate, and perfect alongside a cup of tea (or coffee.) The recipe makes 12 smaller scones, and you can easily freeze them on a sheet pan after cutting into wedges, for baking at a future date — like, Valentine’s Day morning!

And that’s just what I did — we have a batch ready and waiting in the freezer to bake on Monday morning, and another batch ready to bake the next time my Mom visits, for a trip down memory lane.

__________________________________________________________________

Raspberry Chocolate Tea Scones

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and chopped into small pieces
1 cup miniature chocolate chips or finely chopped chocolate
1 cup frozen raspberries, chopped (keep frozen until you’re ready to add them to the dough)
3/4 cup heavy cream
1 egg, separated
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment or a silicone baking mat.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and sugar. Add the chopped cold butter and rub with your fingers into the flour until the bits of butter are roughly the size of peas. Stir in the chocolate chips/chunks.

Separate the egg; reserve the white for later use (you’ll use it to brush on the tops of the scones before baking.) In a separate bowl or liquid measuring cup, whisk together the cream, egg yolk, and vanilla extract.

Add the chopped frozen raspberries to the flour mixture. Pour in the cream, and using light, quick strokes, stir with a fork until just moistened (there may still be some flour on the bottom of the bowl.) Use your hands to gather the dough into a ball and knead it lightly a few times, just to gather it together. Don’t worry if there’s still a little flour remaining on the bottom of the bowl.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface and divide into two balls. Gently flatten each ball into a 1-inch high disk, and cut each disk into 6 wedges (for 12 scones total.) Place on baking sheet and brush the tops with the reserved egg white; sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for about 12-15 minutes or until the tops are golden brown and scones are cooked through.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 9:33 pm

    Mmm, I wish I could bake these tonight and have them first thing in the morning for breakfast. I guess it’s too late but I could plan ahead for next weekend. Wonderful flavors!

  2. Luke permalink
    February 12, 2011 10:38 pm

    These look SO GOOD. I want to make them.

  3. February 12, 2011 11:41 pm

    These look so delicious and beautiful!

  4. Sherry permalink
    February 13, 2011 9:27 am

    These look so yummy Amy! Perfect for a Valentine’s Day morning treat!
    Welcome back – we love to see what’s cooking in your kitchen.

  5. Mom permalink
    February 13, 2011 10:25 am

    These are so beautiful, Amy! I have wonderful memories of those outings together and looking forward to little Miss A. coming with us soon! Can’t wait to share some of these with you over a cup of tea. Love, Mom

  6. Emily permalink
    February 13, 2011 1:26 pm

    Yay! Something to do with the gazillion bags of frozen raspberries in our freezer! These look insanely good.

  7. Jackson permalink
    February 13, 2011 1:49 pm

    Yum, this looks like the perfect treat for a Sunday afternoon. Thanks!

  8. Betsy permalink
    February 13, 2011 8:00 pm

    Yum! You make delicious scones Amy! Curtis and I were just saying we hope to come out for a visit this summer 🙂

    • February 14, 2011 8:39 am

      Yay, and a big YES! We’ll have a batch of scones with your name on it, and maybe little E can try one too! 😉

  9. February 13, 2011 8:45 pm

    Lovely idea! These look amazing. Scones are such a fun way to make breakfast feel fancy. 🙂

  10. February 13, 2011 11:07 pm

    These scones are a work of art. The rich red, the deepness of the chocolate.

    I am smitten for one or two of these scones! Yum!

  11. February 14, 2011 12:01 pm

    Super-poof scones are my weakness, and I love the festive combination of raspberry and chocolate here. I baked a batch of blueberry-crystallized ginger scones last week, though they weren’t quite as tall. I think that calls for rectification — more scones ASAP!

    Cheers and thanks for the great recipe,

    *Heather*

  12. February 14, 2011 10:38 pm

    Your scones are perfect! Love the combination of raspberry and chocolate. Beautifully done – can’t wait to try these!

  13. February 15, 2011 12:58 am

    The tea scones really looked so nice and delicious. I definitely love this one. Thanks for sharing.

  14. February 18, 2011 1:34 pm

    I’ve never had the fortune to run across a scone like you describe… usually they’re heavy and sort of paste like, but these sound delicious!

  15. February 22, 2011 10:51 am

    Gorgeous! For awhile my mother was obsessed with some raspberry white chocolate scones she would get at a chain coffee shop in the midwest. She found a recipe to make them at home and baked them quite often. I loved the idea of fresh raspberries in a scone (as hers’ used them as well) but the white chocolate was always a bit too sweet for me, this sounds like a much better substitute!

  16. Angie permalink
    October 6, 2012 11:51 pm

    I just made these – delicious! And not too sweet either.

  17. Maddi permalink
    February 21, 2014 1:58 pm

    Every time I make these my oven decides to pump up the heat to 550 degrees mid baking…. So I can’t say I’ve ever had the chance to taste their real beauty.

  18. Emily permalink
    July 14, 2014 9:08 am

    I made these scones for a bridal shower this weekend and they were a hit! So moist, and the raspberry-chocolate combination gave them a nice, slight sweetness that wasn’t too much. During preparation, the dough was sticky and hard to handle, but nothing a little flour on the hands couldn’t fix. Amazing recipe! Thank you 🙂

  19. Teresa permalink
    August 17, 2014 12:54 am

    Just made these and they were wonderful! SO Yummy!

Leave a comment