Skip to content

Creamy, Crunchy Avocado Melt

June 11, 2008

In general, I’m not too big on sandwiches. Well — let me qualify that. I’m not too big on deli-meat sandwiches. I suppose years of taking turkey sandwiches on whole wheat bread to lunch finally took its toll. Every so often, though, I’ll get a craving to make a sandwich with different vegetables, maybe an herb spread, melted cheese always works, and some good, crusty bread. And the urge struck last week: all I could think about making an avocado melt. Why? I don’t know. I’d never even made this sandwich before, but all I could think of was how good creamy, luscious avocado paired with some good melted cheese and some crunchy vegetables for texture sounded.

So, when I went down to the Farmer’s Market on the weekend I picked up a cute little loaf of whole wheat bread (just enough for 4 thick slices), some radishes, a greenhouse cucumber and some pea sprouts. I already had the avocado waiting at home for me, along with some good Grafton Village maple-smoked cheddar. This is one of my favorite kids of cheeses — have you ever tried it? It’s delicious! On a side note, I just looked at the description on their web site:

“Our Maple Smoked Cheddar is bathed in the cool smoke from smoldering hard maple wood for four to six hours. What taste could be more typical of Vermont? The smoke is used to season, not to preserve. It adds a delicious nuance reminiscent of bacon…”

A-ha!! That last sentence is the key: that must be why I like it so much… 🙂

The sandwiches came together really quickly: I cut the slices of bread, laid them on a baking sheet, covered two of the slices with cheese, and popped the sheet pan under the broiler for a few minutes to toast up the bread and melt the cheese. When the cheese was nice and gooey, I topped it with sliced, buttery avocado; thin slices of radish, thin slices of cucumber, and the sprouts.

The verdict? MMMMM. Creamy, smoky, crunchy, lots of textures and good flavors mingling together. It would be a great sandwich served cold (i.e. don’t bother to melt the cheese) in a pita, too — I think I may try that next, especially if we have another heat wave!

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Creamy, Crunchy Avocado Melt

View printable recipe

Ingredients
4 thick slices of whole wheat or multigrain bread
1 avocado, peeled and sliced
2 radishes, thinly sliced
8 slices of cucumber
a small handful of your favorite kind of sprouts, or two slices of lettuce
maple-smoked cheddar, such as Grafton Village (or just regular smoked or non-smoked cheddar)

Directions
Preheat the broiler. Place the 4 slices of bread on a baking sheet, and top two of them with slices of the cheese.

Meanwhile, prep all your other ingredients so they’re ready to go.

Place the bread slices under the broiler for a few minutes, just until they’re lightly toasted and the cheese is melted. Remove the pan from the oven.

On top of the melted cheese, layer the avocado slices, radish slices, cucumber slices, and sprouts (or lettuce.) Season with salt and pepper. Top with the remaining slices of toasted bread, and serve.

Serves 2.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2008 7:13 am

    This sounds tasty. It is strange how much I don’t eat sandwiches anymore, they are just not common here, so I have gotten out of the habit.

  2. June 11, 2008 9:58 am

    Are you in the middle of that heat wave? This looks just plain delicious. Especially the radishes combined w/ the avocado. I’ve never thought to put radishes on a sandwich before but it just sounds great!

  3. June 11, 2008 1:58 pm

    Nice! Perfect for a heatwave.

  4. June 11, 2008 2:47 pm

    Since I started making that toast spread with the olive oil and red pepper flakes I have become OBSESSED with avocado. I would love to have this for dinner tonight. Unfortunately that would involve going to the store and I veto that wholeheartedly due to oppressive heat and really wanting to just go home and lay on the couch with the Tivo remote and the central air swirling around me 😉

  5. June 11, 2008 3:53 pm

    Love Avacado ~ sandwich looks wonderful. We were out the other day and had avacado rolls that were deep fried and excellent.

    Sharona May

  6. June 11, 2008 5:41 pm

    Ahh, it’s so hot out and that looks SO DELICIOUSLY PERFECT.

  7. June 11, 2008 7:27 pm

    Where I live, there used to be a place called Beggar’s Banquet and they had hot veggie sandwich that reminds me very much of what you made. I have been missing it a lot and now I think I am going to the market for some supplies. 😉

  8. June 11, 2008 8:07 pm

    The texture of that sandwich looks perfect! Avocados and cucumbers are some of my favorite things to put in a sandwich. 🙂

  9. janetching permalink
    June 12, 2008 2:42 am

    Looks yummy. I am not veggie but sometimes don’t feel like meat, this is certainly a nice variation.

  10. June 23, 2008 12:05 pm

    Nice idea to melt the cheese and then add veggies. It’s never occurred to me to combine the two, but this looks great.

  11. June 27, 2008 7:45 pm

    This sandwich looks delicious. Creamy from cheese and avocados, crunch and bite from the radish, earthy and nutty from the bread.

    Love this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment