Skip to content

Roasted Delicata Squash Stuffed with White Beans, Greens & Sage

October 15, 2008

Recently, we went to a “Harvest Dinner,” an event organized by Edible Finger Lakes, pairing local farmers with local winemakers and local chefs to create a menu and meal that celebrated the bounty from our area during the growing season. One of these Harvest Dinners occurred each month during the summer and fall, each featuring a different farm/winery/chef combination. As it so happened, the farms in our CSA were being featured in the early October Harvest Dinner! We couldn’t pass up the opportunity to go — it promised to be a wonderful meal, and we were excited about supporting our CSA farmers and celebrating all the great local food resources we have available in our area. Plus, it was for a great cause  — proceeds from the dinner went to support Healthy Food for All, a program that partners with our local farms to provide subsidized shares to low income families.

I couldn’t resist sharing some pictures from the event with you here, as well as a recipe that I was inspired to create after the dinner: roasted delicata squash filled with a garlicky mixture of creamy white beans and sauteed greens, accented with autumn-y sage, dusted with a crispy topping of breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese.It was so, so delicious!

The Harvest Dinner was held in the main barn at Stick and Stone Farm; the large barn was filled with round tables topped with white linen, china, and a few plump butternut squashes and bouquets of wildflowers. What a great contrast between elegant dining and the rustic farm setting.

rustic and elegant – and absolutely lovely.

info board inside the barn: 1 share = 1 grocery bag of goodness.

Menus had been printed up for the event. Our courses were as follows:

  • First Course: hand-crafted pork sausage with homemade red wine mustard and pickled eggplant, ramps, fennel & chanterelle mushrooms
  • Second Course: Black, navy and red bean soup finished with arugula and sumac-scented yogurt.
  • Third Course: Roasted delicata squash filled with warm root vegetables and green beans, served with a red wine & beet puree, AND spit-roasted lamb & braised goat, served with a red wine & wild mushroom sauce, roasted potatoes, and honey-braised fall greens
  • Fourth Course: Star anise infused white wine candied apple, quince paste, and Watercress smoked NYS cheddar

All the courses were paired with a different wine from Silver Thread Winery. My favorites were the Off-Dry Reisling (paired with the first course) and the Blackbird (Cab Franc/Sauvignon Blend, paired with the third course). We liked these two so much that we’ve since bought some of our own to enjoy…mmm.

the menu (I squealed with delight as I read through it.)

Chefs from Watercress plating the first courses outside the barn.

first course: smoky, homemade pork sausage with red wine mustard and pickled vegetables

Chaw Chang, one of the farmers at Stick and Stone Farm, welcomes everyone

owner of Silverthread Winery speaks

the best bean soup I think I’ve ever eaten

After the second course, the sun had set and sadly, I had no light left to get any good pictures of the remaining courses. Our main course of roasted delicata squash, stuffed with root vegetables, was good (the red wine & beet puree it was served with was *amazing*) — and it got me thinking. Delicata squash, with its long, oblong shape, is a great candidate for stuffing, but I wanted to try making a stuffing for them that would be alternately creamy and a little crunchy; one that had a bit more protein in it for a nice vegetarian main dish (I am still de-toxing just slightly from all the meat we ate during my week at the CIA. Not that all that meat was a bad thing, it was just….a lot.) And so this dish was born: the squash halves are roasted while you make the filling of white beans, greens, garlic and sage, then it’s just matter of filling the roasted squash halves, topping them with some breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese, giving them a little drizzle of olive oil and heating them through in the oven.

halved, scooped out, seasoned, and ready to bake

garlicky navy beans & baby greens

pretty purple & green sage from our garden.

sunny yellow halves, tender and tasty

into the oven, my pretties

creamy, crusty and delicious.

love those dark green striations against the pale yellow skin of the squash

I served the squash halves on top of a bed of braised savoy cabbage from our garden that I had cooked with a some shallots and a little cream, butter, and a touch of grated nutmeg. I had also roasted some beets from our garden, and tossed those before serving with a balsamic glaze. And for dessert: apple crisp! It was just one of those dinners that is the epitome of fall. <Sigh>…don’t you love this season?

a lovely fall meal.

Oh, and one last thing — Edible Finger Lakes is a great magazine with articles about our local food resources and events. It’s not unique to our area: check out the Edible Communities web site to find out if there’s a magazine for the region you call home!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Roasted Delicata Squash Stuffed with White Beans, Greens & Sage

an Eggs on Sunday original

view printable recipe

Ingredients
2 delicata squash, halved and seeds scooped out (you can save them and roast them for snacking!)
1 large garlic clove, minced
extra-virgin olive oil
1 15-oz can small white beans (such as navy beans), drained and rinsed
about 4 large handfuls greens – baby spinach, chopped chard, chopped collards, etc. – washed and spun dry
1 tablespoon minced fresh sage leaves
1/2 cup fresh breadcrumbs
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place the squash halves (cut side up) on a sheet pan or in a baking dish. Drizzle the surfaces with some olive oil, and season with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. Bake in the oven until the flesh is tender when pierced with a knife or fork, about 1 hour. Remove the squash halves from the oven and set aside.

Meanwhile, make your filling: heat a little extra-virgin olive oil (about 1-2 Tbsp) in a saute pan over medium heat until hot, then add the minced garlic and saute for about 30 seconds, until fragrant. Add the greens and saute until wilted. Now add your drained, rinsed white beans and continue cooking the mixture until the beans are heated through. Stir in the chopped fresh sage, season to taste with coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper, and set aside to cool slightly.

Now you’ll fill the squash halves: first, preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. In a small bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs and grated parmesan cheese. When the bean and green mixture has cooled slightly, stir half of the breadcrumb mixture into it — this will help bind the filling together slightly. Divide this filling mixture between the cooked squash halves, mounding it in each.*

Sprinkle the remaining breadcrumb and cheese mixture over the top of the filled squash halves. Drizzle some olive oil over the top of each squash half. Return the pan to the oven and bake the squash halves until the topping is golden, about another 15 minutes or so (check a little bit before so the topping doesn’t burn.

Serves 4.

*If you have any filling mixture left over, it makes a great lunch dish: spread it in an individual gratin dish, top with another dusting of breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese, drizzle some olive oil over the top, and bake in a 425 degree F oven until the topping is golden. It’s great by itself or spooned onto some crusty bread – yum!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 7:44 pm

    Wow! I totally miss the Finger Lakes so much. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  2. October 15, 2008 8:05 pm

    *drool* i’m so jealous, this looks like an AWESOME event!!! great recipe too! u know i have a delicata hiding in my kitchen trying to wait until i am able to get use it… 😉

  3. October 15, 2008 8:19 pm

    That squash looks excellent, and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing!

  4. October 16, 2008 5:55 am

    You have been a part of some really cool activities lately!! The event looks wonderful, what a great menu. I just roasted my first squash of the season last night – your delicata looks great and I am looking forward to trying the stuffing!

  5. October 16, 2008 6:52 am

    I was just introduced to delicata squash recently. It’s so tasty! Your recipe sounds delicious.

  6. October 16, 2008 8:52 am

    This looks great! I’m sure I’ll receive some squash from my CSA soon. I’ll have to try your recipe, as I’ve never stuffed squash before. The dinner you went to looks like it was a lot of fun too. Great post.

  7. October 16, 2008 11:25 am

    Wow! What an incredible dinner. I’m not sure why, but I’m most intrigued by the red wine mustard. And your squash creation sounds delicious. I’ll have to give that a try.

  8. Betsy permalink
    October 16, 2008 1:29 pm

    Your squash recipe looks delicious – and healthy! I’ll have to try it soon.

  9. October 16, 2008 1:57 pm

    What a brilliant looking event and such fabulous food.

  10. runningwithfood permalink
    October 16, 2008 4:36 pm

    My goodness – your squash recipe sounds fabulous! What a fantastic event!!

  11. carolina permalink
    October 16, 2008 7:52 pm

    Amy, stupendous post…autumn is definitely my favorite season as well here in the suburbs of philadelphia…GO PHILLIES!!! that dinner must have been sooo incredible!! my family has been making homemade pork sausage, among so many other things, since I was a little girl and i think this dish would make a perfect complement, especially if the sausage is cooked outside over a hardwood fire!
    my husband jokes that i must not have ever been allowed outside as a youngster since my family was busy growing and home-making just about all we ate but it was fun (honest!)and now i have the immeasurable wealth of a lifetime of tradition and great food to share with my own family and friends! good food is a legacy that definitely benefits sharing…i really appreciate your blog and look forward to your new posts!

  12. October 19, 2008 1:42 pm

    What an absolutely wonderful event! I love the idea of focusing on all of those local products and producers and really forging a connection between them and their supporters. Your squash looks great, as well. I was recently inspired to try a stuffed squash of my own, which I’ll hopefully attempt in the next few days. Stuffed veggies are the best, aren’t they? Yum!

  13. October 19, 2008 10:45 pm

    those look great!

    our dinner tonight was stuffed roast squash – in our case I used sweet dumpling squash, same coloring as your delicata but more of a round shape. the stuffing was rice with pecans, raisins, apples, onions, carrots, and savory baked tofu, with cinnamon and oregano seasoning.

  14. biz319 permalink
    October 20, 2008 2:32 pm

    Oh my goodness – I have always wanted to attend some kind of event like this, but usually its sold out by the time I find one somewhat near my house.

    The cost is another – the ones by me are about $150 per person. Is the one you attended as expensive.

    Thanks for such a great recipe! Sadly, I will be the only person in my family to eat it, but it would make for a delicious lunch!

    First time at your site, looking forward to checking out the rest!

  15. October 21, 2008 10:09 am

    I absolutely love fall squashes in any way. Your dish looks wonderful and it looked like a perfect fall event. I am jealous of those that live up North in the fall, so gorgeous!

  16. theladymel permalink
    October 21, 2008 10:14 am

    Oh my god–I cannot wait to try that dish! I might actually take off work a bit early this week to make it. Mmm… LOVE your site, dear!! It’s always mouthwatering and inspiring!

  17. Meredith permalink
    October 21, 2008 3:11 pm

    This squash looks amazing!!!

  18. October 22, 2008 8:52 pm

    Lauren – oh, are you from the area? We love it here! It’s a very special place…

    ttfn300 – it was a really fun event! Hope you enjoy this recipe if you decide to use your delicata squash for it..

    Marianne – thanks!

    sue bette – I know; we’ve been so lucky lately to have such fun events lined up! 😉

    Tiffany, Christina – thanks!

    Kristin – thanks; the red wine mustard intrigued me too, and it was really delicious. Such a beautiful deep burgundy color, too. I may see if I can figure out a way to make it someday…it would be great spread on a sandwich, too.

    Betsy – thanks 🙂

    sylvie, runningwithfood – thanks!

    carolina – thanks so much for your sweet comment! I actually aspire to a life similar to what it sounds like your family did – growing and making a lot of our own food. It sounds like fun! And, homemade pork sausage sounds pretty heavenly. 🙂 So glad you liked the post.

    Andrea – yes! I love stuffed squash. 🙂

    Edward – your squash sounds delicious!

    biz319 – no, fortunately, this dinner wasn’t that expensive.

    Kim – I agree; fall squash is one of my favorites, too!

    theladymel – thanks! So glad you enjoy my blog. 🙂 Hope you enjoyed the squash!

    Meredith – thanks!

  19. Marcos permalink
    November 19, 2008 11:41 pm

    All the ingredients look to create a tasty treat. Would love to try this as part of our Thanksgiving feast this year, but I am having difficulty thinking about how to portion this up so guests can sample it instead of taking half of an entire squash. Do the finished squash “boats” slice nicely so they could be arranged on a serving platter? I’ve never used delicata squash, is the skin edible or is it too tough? Perhaps this could be transformed into a casserole/gratin of some kind? Any ideas?

  20. Joanne permalink
    November 22, 2008 1:47 pm

    Delicata squash skin is edible and can be peeled with a vegetable peeler… Let your imagination design peel toppings on a root veggie medley of parsnips and beets, and maybe a few cubed squash pieces too, baked in a foil dish on the bbq if you’re enjoying outdoor dining still. Or if you simply love to bbq despite the elements, that whole food goodness remains within your grasp. An acquaintance has told me that he purees the delicata skin and all in small quantities and his kids enjoy their ‘soup’. I’ve not tried to slice this particular type once cooked but assume that if you catch it before its final tender stage,slice it then and finish baking, it could still be presented in the least fuss manner. Any opportunity to experiment ahead?!!

  21. September 26, 2009 6:24 pm

    Tried your recipe tonight for the squash and it was great!! Thanks so much 🙂

  22. October 13, 2009 8:35 pm

    I used your recipe as a “base” recipe tonight… my stuffing ended up with navy beans, kidney beans, bread crumbs, sage, spinach, and ground lamb; I then covered it with some leftover crumbs, Romano, and Parmesan.

    I served it with pasta made with a sauce of cream, Parmesan, Romano, drippings from the lamb, cayenne pepper, and paprika.

    My family was moaning. Crazy good – thanks for getting me started!

  23. October 18, 2009 6:52 am

    I picked up some Delicata squash at the local market and then proceeded to discovery your lovely blog when searching for recipes!

    I substituted Manchego for the Parmesan – as we were out – and it worked out very well as a secondary to roasted pork loin porchetta. We were discussing adding sausage and serving the squash as a main for this week.

    Cheers

    Alex

  24. Meghan permalink
    November 3, 2009 7:57 pm

    I did the same — picked up a delicata and swiss chard at the farmer’s market last weekend, searched the web for some recipes, and stumbled upon yours. I made it tonight and I’m absolutely in love! It was fantastic and I can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow night. Thanks for the great recipe.

  25. November 9, 2009 12:08 pm

    I made this recipe last night using the delicata squash and spinach we received in our first Winter CSA box. I was thinking that I would be making this for my husband and myself only and my kids would do their usual moaning and groaning when I put “eek” vegetables in front of them. Well, I was surprised and delighted when both of them (5 & 2) ate up all the squash I gave them and asked for more. Thanks for a great recipe and for sharing the photos of the harvest dinner – looked like a lovey event.

  26. November 16, 2009 11:31 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration! I am so glad I didn’t have to eat my squash with only salt pepper and oil. 🙂 If you care to see a twist on the stuffing using canned salmon, head over to the Food for Foodies blog.

  27. November 30, 2009 8:49 pm

    Hi, I’ve made this twice for delighted guest. I seem to need much more olive oil than recommended so it isn’t dry but otherwise I love the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  28. May 8, 2010 1:53 pm

    Marvelous post.

  29. Pamela permalink
    September 14, 2010 6:35 pm

    I made this for my lunch bunch at work today, and it was awesome. My first time with delicata squash, but it won’t be my last. Thanks for the recipe!

  30. Kellie permalink
    October 10, 2010 2:58 pm

    The wonders of our modern world! I google delicata squash + white beans and the next thing you know, I’m whipping up one of the best suppers I’ve ever made thanks to your recipe. Turned out so well thanks to our CSA-fresh ingredients, I had to take a picture before eating. Thanks!

  31. November 6, 2011 5:42 pm

    I’m making this right now using runner cannellini beans from Rancho Gordo. I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Leave a comment