Skip to content

The Root Vegetable Chronicles: one of the ugliest vegetables around (but still tasty!)

February 3, 2009

Riddle me this, dear readers:

sides_panroastedsalsify_5

What vegetable looks like a parsnip that was hit with an ugly stick?

sides_panroastedsalsify_6

Or like a dirty gnarly root that would be found next to “eye of newt” on a fairy tale witch’s shelf? (Note that it’s also called “goatsbeard,” which in my mind makes it all the more suitable for this kind of scenario)

sides_panroastedsalsify_1

And has flesh that, when peeled or cut into, turns from creamy white to dark brown almost immediately when exposed to air? (again, I say: makes it quite apropos for the above scenario)

sides_panroastedsalsify_7

And tastes, some people say, like oysters (???) but in reality, tastes slightly more similar to artichokes?

sides_panroastedsalsify_2

If you answered salsify (or as I have the urge to call it everytime I say it aloud, SAL-si-feeeeee!!), then – ding ding ding ding! – you’re RIGHT! Gold stars all around.

sides_panroastedsalsify_3

Salsify comes in two kinds; the hairy, off-white root that looks like a hairy version of a parsnip, and the smoother black kind. I wonder how many people pass salsify by because they have no idea what it is, or how to cook it? I wouldn’t have known before I was confronted with a bunch of salsify roots in our share. But it’s fun, isn’t it – trying new foods and learning to cook something new?

sides_panroastedsalsify_4

We had some of the salsify roasted, which is always good, but then I was looking for a new way to cook the rest. A quick google search turned up this recipe, from Craft chef Damon Wise. As I mentioned above, the flesh does quickly discolor when you peel the root, so it’s helpful to have a bowl of acidulated water nearby that you can put the cut pieces to prevent them from turning brown. I had some fresh parsley that’s been overwintering in a pot in our garage, so I used that to toss with the batons after they’d browned off in the pan. All in all, it was a delicious dish that I will definitely repeat again. I have a soft spot in my heart for gnarly, knobby, ugly-duckling vegetables. 🙂

__________________________________________________________

Pan-Roasted Salsify

Adapted from this recipe

view printable recipe

Ingredients
4 large or 8 small/thin salsify roots
Juice from 1 lemon
1 teaspoon black peppercorns
1 bay leaf
1–2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
A sprinkling of chopped parsley or thyme

Directions
Peel the salsify roots and place them in a shallow pan with water to cover, lemon juice, black pepper, bay leaf, and salt to taste. Bring to a simmer and cook until tender (about 20-30 minutes, simmering, based on the thickness of the roots.)

Remove the salsify roots from the liquid and let cool slightly, then cut into small pieces (I cut mine into 2-inch batons.)

Heat some olive oil in a saute pan over medium heat until hot, then add the salsify pieces along with a sprinkle of coarse salt and a grinding or two of fresh black pepper. Cook until golden brown, then toss in the chopped fresh thyme at the end.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 6:55 am

    Am I allowed to say I think it got hit not once, but *twice* with the ugly stick? I wouldn’t want to upset the salsify too much. : )

    Love this idea for the week, Amy. Both today’s and yesterday’s recipes have looked wonderful. Can’t wait to see what you’ve got lined up for the rest of the week!

  2. February 3, 2009 5:56 pm

    ooh, i’ve never seen or tried salsify, but now my eyes will be peeled 🙂

  3. February 3, 2009 9:45 pm

    I’m really loving all of these root vegetable posts!!!

  4. February 3, 2009 11:37 pm

    I’ve never had salsify… I’ve got to start seeking out new veggies to try.

  5. February 4, 2009 7:36 pm

    Never had it either. Just roasted parsnips for the first time and loved them and yes, it was great trying a new vegetable. This one will be next.

    Thanks for the laughs and for the tip about having a bowl of water to put the pieces in.

  6. Gail Patricia Molson permalink
    August 21, 2011 8:19 pm

    OMG I have been looking for Salsify for so many years….
    My Dad used to grow it 60 years ago when I was a child….
    I cannot get the seeds here in Australia… I think it is a forgotten vegetable…
    Thank you for your article…. took me back a few years…
    Regards
    Gail

  7. November 28, 2011 2:03 pm

    Thanks for the post, used your method for some scorzonera last night! It was lovely.

  8. December 1, 2011 3:44 pm

    That is the funniest discription of salsify I have ever seen. Parsnips hit with an ugly stick. They are a little hairy, aren’t they? haha

  9. Patricia Clark permalink
    November 13, 2012 10:19 am

    My Mother always made salsify just like scalloped corn . Her Mother came from England.I love salsify that way but will try your recipe.

Leave a comment