Skip to content

BBA #2: Artos, or Greek Celebration Bread

May 25, 2009
tags: ,

bba_artos_11

I’m only a few weeks into this bread-baking adventure, and already I can honestly say: I love baking bread. I love the meditative process of kneading, I love seeing sponges bubble and come alive, I love watching the transformation of dough as it proofs, I love the smell of freshly baking bread in my oven, and I love eating it. I think this Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge is going to forever convert me to a home bread baker…and that, I quite think, is a good thing!

This past week I tackled Artos, which is the general name for any number of Greek celebration breads, served at various holidays and festivals. Reinhart lists a number of variations of the bread, including Christopsomos (with dried fruit and nuts, traditionally baked at Christmas), and Lambropsomo, with dried fruit, almonds and hard-cooked eggs (traditionally made at Easter.) Even though I normally love bread with dried fruit and nuts, this week I was just in the mood for the basic Greek celebration bread, which is an enriched, eggy bread spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves, and sweetened with honey. Sounds pretty delicious, doesn’t it? And it was. Here’s how it unfolded:

Traditional artos traditionally starts with what’s called a barm, a type of sourdough starter. I don’t yet have any starter living in my fridge (sourdough breads will come sometime this fall!), so I chose to use the alternate starting method of a poolish. A poolish is basically a wet sponge, thick like pancake batter, that you start the day before you plan to bake your loaf. The pre-fermenting action you get with a poolish improves the flavor and structure of the final finished bread.

poolish, starting to bubble

bba_artos_1

After my poolish had fermented at room temperature and sat in the refrigerator overnight, I was ready to start the artos dough. Because the dough was enriched with milk, olive oil and eggs, it was soft and supple and really easy to knead.

smooth and flecked with spices

bba_artos_2

After I let the dough go through its rise, it was time to shape it. Reinhart suggests shaping it into a traditional boule (or round), but I was itching to do something a little more interesting. Since it was a soft, eggy dough I thought it would lend itself well to braiding — so I did a simple 3-strand braid.

just like braiding pigtails…kind of.

bba_artos_3

After my braid was done, I set it out to proof. These pictures below show before (left) and after (right)…I guess you can’t see it as clearly as I could in person, but this dough had oomph. By the time it was done proofing and ready to go in the oven, it filled up my entire half sheet pan!

before (L) and after (R) proofing: bulging at the seams

bba_artos_proofing

Here’s my artos, fresh out of the oven. It honestly is, I think, the biggest loaf of bread I’ve ever baked! And, it smelled absolutely heavenly…my whole house filled with the aroma of warm spices and the sweet smell of yeast.

don’t mess with this loaf! It’s a big one.

bba_artos_6

I used the traditional glaze for the loaf, which is a mixture of warmed up water, sugar and honey. After I brushed the glaze on, I sprinkled it with sesame seeds, which stuck nicely to the glistening loaf. The glaze soaked a little into the surface of the bread, creating a nice sweet crust.

bba_artos_7

bba_artos_8

After waiting the recommended hour before slicing into it (and bending over the loaf and deeply inhaling every 10 minutes during that hour), I cut a thick slab and devoured it. It was wonderful: a tender, tender crumb, delicious yeasty flavor, sweet and aromatic with spices.

bba_artos_9

When the holidays roll around, I think I’ll make this again and use the variation with the dried fruit and nuts — it would be a wonderful holiday bread, and quite a nice hostess gift!

bba_artos_10

We munched on it, slathered with butter, all week and then this past weekend, the last few slices were perfect for French toast. As I said in the beginning of this post, I think I could get used to this!

bba_artos_12

Previous BBA bread: Anadama Bread
Up next: Bagels (!)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2009 8:13 pm

    Your Artos braid looks beautiful! We really enjoyed the flavor of the bread, too.

  2. May 25, 2009 8:26 pm

    I love that you shaped this in a braid. It’s beautiful, and it looks like your bread turned out splendidly. Good luck on the bagels!

  3. May 25, 2009 9:22 pm

    That is one lovely loaf of bread. There is nothing better than the smell of freshly baked bread in your kitchen 🙂

  4. May 26, 2009 6:14 am

    BEAUTIFUL. I’ve got to give braids a try.
    Super job,
    Susie

  5. May 26, 2009 8:24 am

    How beautiful! I’m happy to see bagels are coming up. In Seattle, we are woefully short of good bagels.

  6. May 26, 2009 9:07 am

    This look so good! Wonder if I could use it one week as a variation on challah?

  7. May 26, 2009 3:03 pm

    That loaf is HUGE. What a lovely bread!

  8. sallybr permalink
    May 26, 2009 6:17 pm

    When I bake this bread again, I will have to braid it, it really looks wonderful that way!

  9. May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

    Wow, that’s just gorgeous! I really did love how much oomph this bread had, and love the simplicity of yours. Perfect for french toast!

  10. May 26, 2009 8:05 pm

    I just stumbled on this website the other day and subscribed to it. Loved the rhubarb muffins. Where is the recipe for this bread?

  11. May 27, 2009 6:59 am

    Andrea – thanks!

    Appoggiatura – thanks! The bagels will be an adventure.

    Marianne – I couldn’t agree more!

    Susie – thanks! The 3-strand braid is really quite easy.

    The Leftoverist – really? That’s too bad…well, at least you make up for it with great coffee, right?

    Jendeis – I think you definitely could; it reminded me of a slightly sweeter, spiced challah. It’s a similar type of egg bread.

    whitney – I know! It was a monster. 🙂

    sallybr – thanks!

    Caitlin – yes, it made for a really delicious french toast…soft and eggy. Yum!

    Deborah – glad you liked the muffins. Regarding recipes, since there are 200 of us in the BBA Challenge group, cooking and posting every recipe in Peter Reinhart’s Book, we decided that all of us publishing all of his recipes could be a bit of a copyright issue. If you follow along and find you’re interested in a number of the breads posted, I would highly recommend picking up the book, especially if you’re interested in bread baking.

  12. May 27, 2009 10:21 am

    This looks truly phenomenal. I love the idea of braiding this bread! I am so so jealous of the BBA challenge you’re doing. When I’m not moving across the country I will definitely have to embark on my own.

    • May 27, 2009 11:40 am

      Justin – Thanks – I hope you do! You’re right; cross-country moving and once-a-week bread baking probably wouldn’t mix. Just consider these blog posts previews of the book, then!

      • May 27, 2009 4:57 pm

        Oh, that’s the awful thing, I HAVE the book! It’s just taunting me from the shelf above our oven everytime I go into the kitchen! In protest, I’m trying out your pizza dough recipe from a couple posts back. It’s not NOT bread.

  13. May 29, 2009 7:03 pm

    Mmm, this bread looks delicious! That glaze just makes it shine so beautifully. I’m so glad that you’re loving bread baking. I’m certainly loving reading about your bread baking adventures! Great job!

Leave a comment