Skip to content

Sharing the Share: CSA Week #2 (plus, Garlic Scape Pesto!)

June 19, 2008

It’s Week #2 of our CSA share! Some of the things we got in the share this week are similar to last week — we’re still in the throes of cool-weather greens here in Central NY — but there were some new treats, too. To my delight, we got *another* pint of those gorgeous ruby-red strawberries…I just read a lovely blog post the other day talking about how we should seize the joys this short-lived strawberry season brings, and apply that attitude to all aspects of our lives:

…make strawberry eating a symbolic, spiritual act with every berry you pop in your mouth. Take full advantage of whatever life offers on your plate today, from crunchy late spring pea pods to fresh strawberry pina coladas, from an e-mail from an old friend to a creative late-night energy burst. Live, eat and love in the here and now…”

Well said.

And you can bet I already know what I’m doing to make the most of those berries (more to come on that.)

So, after the jump, the rundown of what the share included this week, and some ideas I’m mulling over:

  • Arugula
  • Asian Braising Mix – I’ve been using this in salads, sauteing it with some garlic and olive oil, and tonight I’ll be sauteing some up and making a frittata out of it with some parmigiano-reggiano cheese folded into the eggs
  • Scallions
  • Haikuri Turnips – I. Love. These. Turnips. They’re so delightfully crisp and mild; we really enjoyed them this past week, both raw in the radish and turnip salad as well as simply roasted with olive oil, coarse salt and pepper.
  • Strawberries (yay!)
  • Romaine Lettuce — do you know I’ve never tried making my own caesar salad dressing? Considering how much I adore a good caesar salad, I think this pretty, crisp head of romaine is occasion to do that.
  • Curly Kale — I want to make sandwich I saw on Culinate yesterday, of garlicky greens, sharp cheddar, and a fried egg. Me oh my. My mouth is watering.
  • Garlic Scapes — again, I say, yay! I look forward to the arrival of these every year, as much for their mild garlic flavor as for their wacky, curlicue shape. Garlic scapes are the flower stalk of the garlic bulb; they come up a few weeks before the garlic is harvested. You can use scapes just like you would garlic; their flavor is milder, so you get the nice garlic taste without some of the bite.

In the past I’ve just used chopped up scapes in sautes, mainly, but this year I thought I’d try making garlic scape pesto! This one’s for all you garlic-lovers out there. This pesto is delightfully garlicky without being too overpowering; I add a bit of lemon juice for a little acid to brighten up the taste a bit. Toss it with pasta, spoon over fish, spread onto pizza, freeze some for the gray days of winter!

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Garlic Scape Pesto

Ingredients
1 cup chopped garlic scapes
1/3 cup walnuts
juice of 1 lemon
1/2 cup parmigiano-reggiano cheese, grated
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
coarse salt and pepper, to taste

Directions
Blend everything but the olive oil, salt and pepper in a food processor or blender. Slowly drizzle in the oil with the motor running, and blend until emulsified and smooth. Add a little more oil if you like yours a little looser, but I found this amount to be just right for me. Taste and add coarse salt and pepper as needed.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink permalink
    June 19, 2008 7:38 pm

    As soon as I clicked through to the jump, the first thing I said was, “Garlic Scapes!” That is some seriously gorgeous pesto. Can’t wait to see what you do with the rest of the bounty.

  2. June 20, 2008 12:11 am

    I just picked up 2 bags of scapes at my farmers’ market and this looks like a great use for them.

  3. June 20, 2008 2:03 pm

    I love garlic scapes! We haven’t gotten them yet this year. When we do get them, we get a TON, so I think I will try your pesto.
    Thanks!

  4. Colleen permalink
    June 21, 2008 7:26 am

    This looks so good! I’m headed to the farmer’s market today…hopefully I find garlic scapes!

  5. June 22, 2008 6:27 am

    I totally wish we had this in St. Lawrence County – but I have yet to find anything. I can’t even get to a farmer’s market around here unless I drive two hours to Syracuse. Its so frustrating.

  6. June 22, 2008 10:29 pm

    I think I missed out on the scapes around here this year… though I am going to the St Lawrence Market on Friday so with luck I’ll find some there and BUY THEM ALL MUHAHAHA…. *reverts to sanity* sorry about that… yeah, garlic!

  7. June 23, 2008 9:05 pm

    Thanks Kristin!

    Laura – it’s a great way to use up some scapes when you’re all “scaped” out…

    Liz, Colleen – enjoy!

    HoneyB – sorry to hear that; have you looked on http://localharvest.org to see if there’s anything around you?

    Sarah – yay garlic is right! Hope you found some.

  8. June 27, 2008 9:58 pm

    just want to add that i’m really enjoying your blog! so much fun stuff. we are big organic gardeners, too, so i can relate to your excitement! oh my other blog is http://dancingelephantstudio.com, if you ever feel like visiting.

  9. July 4, 2008 8:44 am

    The Mrs made some garlic scape pesto too. She used pignoli instead of walnuts.

    http://goodmorninggloucester.wordpress.com/2008/06/27/the-mrs-makes-garlic-scape-pesto/

    http://goodmorninggloucester.wordpress.com/

  10. July 8, 2009 10:15 am

    Just discovered your blog and plan on reading more! If you’ve got more scapes left, you might want to try out my recipe for Mushroom Scape Pesto, and I’ve also got a few other scape recipes up on the site. Yum! (And, please, send my love to Central NY. I went to school up there.)

  11. Tamara permalink
    June 29, 2010 9:31 pm

    I’m not a nerd- just a farmer! Scapes are not the first shoot to come out of the ground. They are the flower stalk the garlic bulb sends up a few weeks before it is harvested. Only hardneck garlic gets them. They can be cut to make a bigger bulb or left to die back to make a bulb that will store longer. I prefer the former. When garlic pops out of the ground in early spring after planting in fall, it comes with thin leaves like leeks have. You can eat some of these, called garlic “greens”. Then if you wait a few weeks and pull a few plants when they are still real young and small those are called “green garlic” (similar to “spring onions” and “new potatoes”- picked when growing). Then the scapes come up when the bulbs are almost mature. Then in mid summer the bulbs reach maturity, start to dry and die, and are pulled and dried for storage.

  12. Chrissy permalink
    July 19, 2011 10:04 am

    I just made the pesto with the garlic scapes that I received in last night’s produce pack (same as CSA). It’s delish!! I’m making a pasta salad with it. BBQ’ing tonight 🙂 Your CSA is a bit ahead of ours – no zucchini yet 😦

Leave a comment