Skip to content

Things that make me happy, part 1: Pork Belly

November 15, 2008

Look what I picked up at the farmer’s market today:

misc_porkbelly_1

misc_porkbelly_2

PORK BELLY.

misc_porkbelly_3

Mmmm.

misc_porkbelly_5

So I’m kind of excited. I’ve never bought a pork belly for my very own before, but after reading over and over again what a great, succulent, flavorful cut of meat it is, I jumped at the chance to pick up 1 1/2 pounds of it from The Piggery.

misc_porkbelly_4

Look at all that gorgeous fat. I swoon at the sight of it. I don’t think B has the same degree of love as I do for fatty (which equates in my mind to delicious, tender and flavorful) cuts of meat, but man, fat is just so good. The fat in the pork belly will render out and transform the layers of meat around it into something unctuous and utterly delicious.

Have any of you used pork belly before? If so, got any suggestions? Some thoughts mulling around in my head…carbonara, with some homemade fettuccine. Maybe Ruhlman’s simple cured and confited pork belly (because anything confited is delicious.) Sounds like braising is a good way to go. Spiced and slow roasted? I would love to try making my own bacon, but will not be doing that for lack of a smoker. Maybe one day.

Decisions, decisions! What would you do with a nice slab of pork belly?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    November 15, 2008 1:06 pm

    Make bacon! I can offer no advice on how, but it would be amazing!

  2. Pdot permalink
    November 15, 2008 11:23 pm

    Here is what to do with Pork Belly..
    http://caseyellis.com/blog/2008/10/dennis-learys-the-sentinel.html

  3. November 16, 2008 6:54 am

    Can’t wait to hear about the experiment – my vote goes for Ruhlmans confit!

  4. November 16, 2008 7:43 am

    I can’t wait to see what you do. I too have never cooked with pork belly, and when I do Ruhlmans confit gets my vote.

  5. November 16, 2008 8:37 am

    Good luck! Can’t wait to see what you do with it. It looks great.

  6. November 16, 2008 6:31 pm

    A restaurant in Minneapolis – Manny’s – has apple smoked bacon as an appetizer. They serve it in 1″ thick strips, so around 8X wider than typical store-bought bacon. Delicious.

  7. November 16, 2008 9:08 pm

    I have absolutely no suggestions. But I cannot wait to see what you do …

  8. alexisthetiny permalink
    November 17, 2008 7:16 am

    Its so beautiful. I may be biased but I think an Asian style cooking method is best. Chez Pim has an absolutely divine recipe for caramelised pork belly. My great aunt has another divine recipe for braised pork belly in five spice soy broth. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  9. November 17, 2008 4:54 pm

    Ooh – how exciting. Yum Scrum in MY (not the piggy’s) tum…

    Please do report on what you do with it, as I might trot(ter – sorry sorry, couldn’t resist) down to my butchers to try out Pork Belly for myself. Does it count as a cheap cut of meat or has it got expensive these days? I’m well into my theme of frugal food as I’m living on an extraordinarily tight budget…but I wondered if it might fit under the ‘unusual therefore cheap’ cuts of meat. Let me know if you can!

    Will keep an eye. Keep up the happy thoughts!!

    xxx

  10. November 17, 2008 7:56 pm

    Alex – yes, that’s on my brain…I’m going to do a little more investigation!

    Pdot – yum, that sounds like a confit prep – just what I”m thinking of doing!

    sue bette, Kim – confit it’s going to be; stay tuned!

    Christina – thanks!

    Ed – that sounds delicious.

    Kristin – stay tuned!

    alexisthetiny – yes, I saw her recipe and I’ve decided I’m going to buy another slab and try her Five-Spice Braised Pork Belly…it sounds amazing!

    nibblescribbler – I think it is considered one of the less expensive cuts, but mine was not particularly cheap – that could have been because I bought it from a small, artisan producer that only works in small volumes. I don’t mind paying a little more to support some of our local farmers here – you should definitely check with your butcher though; it might not be particularly expensive for you!

  11. November 17, 2008 8:48 pm

    OMG! I’ve never cooked with pork belly before (although I am a huuuuuge fan of it). I’m honestly afraid to learn to cook it because then I think I’ll cook it all the time and die of fatty happiness😉 Mmmmmmm.

  12. November 17, 2008 9:08 pm

    Jen – I know; I’m already getting ahead of myself and thinking of what I’ll do with the NEXT pork belly I buy. Die of fatty happiness, indeed.🙂

  13. November 17, 2008 11:09 pm

    Oooh. . . lucky you. I can’t wait to hear what you do with it!

  14. Corrine permalink
    November 25, 2008 8:35 pm

    You can cut it up into 1-inch cubes, boil in water with garlic and salt, then drain and put under the broiler until it gets crispy and crunchy on the outside. Serve with vinegar, garlic, and bird’s eye chili (if you like hot) as dipping sauce. Yum🙂

Leave a Reply

